tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DAN MELCHIOR - Filthy frozen River Rag

DAN MELCHIOR

Filthy frozen River Rag

MusicCD


[60/100]   

Stolen Body
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Originally from London, now part of the U.S.A.'s fragmented society, Melchoir has deemed himself fit enough to be the curator of his own bizarre imagination. Filthy Frozen River Rag is a disjointed ragbag of acoustically-charged tunes that sound like demos, outtakes and snippets but are in fact finished articles. There's whiskey-soaked blues, found-sound psychosis and twisted folkadelia that smacks of way too many barbiturates, bourbon and bruised egos, enveloped in busker chic and mis-timed tape-player operation.

If William Burroughs had tried to emulate Bert Jansch, he might have come up with this freaked-out twenty-eight track compendium of fractured short-form songs. There's an element of Darren Hayman about all of this - spontaneity abounds and track-titles confound but there's a purpose about all of this that only Melchoir could best elaborate on. Terse and Taciturn, Says The Engineer, It's a Hard Life at Sea and Noel Edmond's Wife are as disturbing as they are compelling, the nearest to song structure as you're likely to get here.

The fact that this man has previously knocked out 35 albums and counting - THIRTY-FIVE - suggests that his quest isn't entirely over - why stop at 36? Mock Mock Tudor exudes humour and a somewhat sarcastic delivery, City Lights sounds like Ty Segall trapped his fuzzbox in a dustbin and channelled it through a megaphone while Two Dogs is an unwell sinister little strumalong that proclaims "the sky is pouring down syrup". And you thought the Cardiacs were a pint short of a piss-up.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design