tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

05/03/2014 : DANIEL CALPARSORO - The Chase

DANIEL CALPARSORO

The Chase

Movie
Action

[59/100]   

Paradiso
05/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

By mentioning Spanish cinema, some automatically start thinking of difficult, but excellent, arthouse. But sometimes you tend to forget that they make other movies there as well. A good example as such is The Chase. A movie that is released in Spain under the title Combustion and deals about illegal streetracing. Illegal streetracing you say? Don't say this is a Spanish version from the Fast & Furious-franchise, not? Yes indeed, that's the perfect way how to describe this picture. Nonetheless, it probably won't surprise anyone that The Chase never reaches the quality of its American twin brother.

As it's mostly the case with movies like these, the story itself isn't important at all. The only thing fans from pictures as such want are images from beautiful women, and of course fast cars!

Young Mikel (Álex González) wants to marry his fiancée Julia (Maria Castro) who has inherited from her parents a jewel store. That's the ideal prey for the thief gang that is lead by Navas (Alberto Ammann). Navas always uses his beautiful girlfriend Ari (Adriana Ugarte) as bait. Once the victim falls for Ari, Navas robs them. But this time it's totally different as Ari falls in love with the victim.

Indeed the kind of script that's been written in a short time. You are always wondering how naïve some people can be, but we have to admit it: they surely do exist! Otherwise we can understand it completely that someone falls for the beauty of Adriana Ugarte. But good, with gorgeous women and speeding cars alone, you don't have a good picture yet! It's obvious that director Daniel Calparsoro got his inspiration from all those Luc Besson-movies. There's nothing wrong with that, but The Chase is too much a copy and the acting is simply to weak.

Anyway, those who only want handsome women and cars will probably be delighted to see The Chase, others better avoid.

 The Chase is released on Paradiso on DVD.

 

Didier BECU
05/03/2014


NL

Wie het over Spaanse cinema heeft, denkt natuurlijk in de eerste plaats aan moeilijke (excellente) arthouse. Nochtans vind je in het Zuiden ook lichtere films, alleen gebeurt het maar zelden dat deze producties ook tot bij ons komen. Een mooi voorbeeld daarvan is The Chase, een prent die in zijn thuisland als Combustion is uitgebracht en over illegale straatraces handelt. Illegale straatraces, zegt u? Toch geen Spaanse variant op die verfoeide Fast & Furious-franchise? Jawel, dat is inderdaad de ideale manier om deze film te omschrijven. En neen, het zal niemand verbazen dat deze Spaanse kloon er in geen enkele seconde in slaagt om zijn grote Amerikaanse broer naar de kroon te steken, of wat dacht je?

Zoals dat wel vaker het geval is bij dit soort films is het verhaal van ondergeschikt belang. Het enige waar het hem in The Chase om draait is dat er geregeld mooie meiden en vooral snelle wagens in beeld moeten komen.

De jonge Mikel (Álex González) staat op trouwen met zijn verloofde Julia (Maria Castro) die van haar ouders een juwelierszaak heeft geërfd. Dat is de ideale prooi voor de dievenbende die onder leiding staat van Navas (Alberto Ammann). Navas gebruikt altijd zijn mooie liefje Ari (Adriana Ugarte) als lokaas. Eens het slachtoffer voor de brunette valt, slaan Navas en zijn trawanten toe. Alleen wil het deze keer niet zo goed lukken, want Ari wordt verliefd.

Een scenario waarover men inderdaad maar weinig over heeft nagedacht. Je vraagt je voortdurend af of er zo’n naïeve mensen als in dit verhaal bestaan (ja dus). Anderzijds begrijpen we maar al te goed dat het moeilijk is om neen te zeggen tegen een schoonheid als Adriana Ugarte. Maar goed, met mooie vrouwen en snelle auto’s alleen, maak je natuurlijk nog geen geslaagde film. Het is overduidelijk dat regisseur Daniel Calparsoro zijn inspiratie uit de vele Luc Besson-vehikels haalt. Op zich is daar niks mis mee, alleen oogt The Chase net iets te veel als een kopie en zijn de vertolkingen veel te zwak.

Wie evenwel verzot is op snelle wagens en bij actrices vooral schoonheid zoekt zal zich beslist anderhalf uur kunnen amuseren met deze macho-onzin.

 The Chase is uitgebracht op Paradiso, en dit op dvd.

Didier BECU
05/03/2014


05/03/2014 : DANIEL CALPARSORO - The Chase 05/03/2014 : DANIEL CALPARSORO - The Chase 05/03/2014 : DANIEL CALPARSORO - The Chase 05/03/2014 : DANIEL CALPARSORO - The Chase 05/03/2014 : DANIEL CALPARSORO - The Chase 05/03/2014 : DANIEL CALPARSORO - The Chase 05/03/2014 : DANIEL CALPARSORO - The Chase 05/03/2014 : DANIEL CALPARSORO - The Chase 05/03/2014 : DANIEL CALPARSORO - The Chase 05/03/2014 : DANIEL CALPARSORO - The Chase 05/03/2014 : DANIEL CALPARSORO - The Chase

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel