tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

27/12/2015 : DARK X-MAS 2015 - Waregem, Expo (26/12/2015)

DARK X-MAS 2015

Waregem, Expo (26/12/2015)

Concert
27/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Waregem is in Belgium, just like Leipzig in Germany, the cradle of goth. Anyone who lost his heart to a black planet, one day ended up in the city that most Belgians associate with horse races. When driving during the Christmas weekend after all these years ( 23 to be exact ) to the city where everything started, many gothic fans had a strange feel. The Invitation Organization organized in Waregem Expo a festival with a unique concept : to invite seven band that formed the basis of the goth past and ask them to play a set of old material. Admittedly , it felt at times like a trip in a time machine, but with lots of quality and fun.

Someone always has the misfortune to be the first, and Saturday that happened with Der Prager Handgriff from North Rhine- Westphalia. Some festival visitors still are en route or just haven’t found the way that leads to the stage. Too bad for them, as despite the low sound volume , the duo showed with skill that they are one of the best acts of the Neue Deutsche Harte scene. The beats definitely should be louder, but the energy was there. Afterwards Stefan Schärer joked that now his job is done, he finally could start his holiday (a winter trip without snow). Granted, in der Natur!

The second act was The Breath Of Life. Even if they earn more respect, they can say with pride that they are Belgium’s most important darkwave band. The difference between then and now is enormous. What started out as a nice wave band with a heavenly voice (Isabelle Dekeyser), has finally become the best Belgian band in its genre. The guitars, the violin, the drums and Isabelle's voice echoed with force. No, they were not the most danceable act of the day, but by far the most beautiful one. And those sound problems were away as well!

Sometimes a music fan has to forget the wrong things. Many concertgoers still remember the performance of The Eternal Afflict during Necropolis five years ago. Memorable is not exactly the word to use, but that was different at Dark Xmas. They may have only one hit (San Diego), but thanks to an unstoppable energy The Eternal Afflict managed to be the surprise of the festival. No-one expected it.

Tastes can differ, and that is why we choose to write something about the atmosphere, rather than reviewing the bands. I personally thought that the better bands were more in the middle of the festival. The most professional group of the festival surely was Plastic Noise Experience. Claus Kruse also dug in the past, and performed some songs from tapes (in days when tape releases were quite common). Plastic Noise Experience played a tight set, and they were without doubt the EBM highlight of the evening

.In our series in which we ask artists to name the records that changed their lives, it is impressive to see what impact Claus Larsen of Leather Strip has. It took a while before Claus and Kurt had the venue under their spell, but with every song you could feel the adrenaline rising. Finally, the audience was dragged into an ultimate dance party, and with classics like Strap Me Down, Adrenaline Rush or Japanese Bodies that couldn’t be different!

The last two acts of the evening were bands that defined the goth history with their visual shows. These days everybody talks about Grausame Tochter, but Umbra Et Imago were actually the first band that brought erotica on stage. There’s surely some exciting things to see, but many forget that Umbra Et Imago is also an excellent goth rock band that paved the way for Rammstein with albums like Mea Culpa. Umbra Et Imago was, along with The Breath Of Life, the only guitar band on the festival. Occasionally you could hear a false not and we hope that one day Rock Me Amadeus will be skipped from the set, but ​​the German sadomasochists performed a wonderful set with classics like Gothic Erotic or Kleine Schwester. You have to love it, but if you do, then you’re addicted!

The party ended with the group for whom it all started in Waregem : Das Ich. A few years ago front man Stefan Ackermann became so ill that it seemed like the curtain has fallen for the Bayreuth band. Stefan healed and Bruno Kramm could persuade him to continue the Das Ich adventure. Yesterday, it became clear that Stefan is the soul of the band. If Das Ich is a circus with Kramm as a clown , then Stefan Ackermann is the magician with the voice.

Soon you see on our pages the photos by Xavier.

Didier BECU
27/12/2015


NL

Wat Leipzig voor de Duitse gothscène betekent, is Waregem voor België. Iedereen die zijn hart heeft verpand aan de zwarte plunje, belandde ooit wel in de stad die voor de meeste landgenoten verbonden blijft met paardenkoersen. Het voelde voor menig gothicfan dan ook wat vreemd aan om tijdens het kerstweekend na al die jaren (23 om precies te zijn) naar het vroegere gothmekka te gaan. The Invitation Organization organiseerde in de Waregemse Expo een festival met een heel eigen concept: zeven groepen uitnodigen die aan de basis van weleer lagen en hun een set laten spelen met louter oud materiaal. Toegegeven, het voelde bij moment meer aan als een trip met een tijdmachine , maar dat kon noch de kwaliteit noch de pret drukken.

Iemand heeft altijd wel de pech om de eerste te zijn, en dat overkwam zaterdag Der Prager Handgriff uit Noordrijn-Westfalen. Sommige festivalbezoekers zijn nog onderweg of hebben nog niet meteen de weg naar het podium gevonden. Jammer voor hun, ondanks het te stille geluid, toonde het duo met verve aan dat ze één van de beste acts uit de Neue Deutsche Härte zijn. De beats mochten beslist wat luider, maar de energie was er. Na afloop grapte Stefan Schärer dat nu zijn taak erop zit, hij eindelijk op reis kon vertrekken (wintersport zonder sneeuw). We gunnen het hem van harte, in der Natur!

De tweede act was The Breath Of Life. Ook al verdienen ze meer respect, kan deze formatie er prat op gaan dat ze de darkwavetrots van België zijn. Het verschil tussen vroeger en nu is gigantisch groot. Wat ooit begon als een leuk wavebandje met een magistrale zangeres (Isabelle Dekeyser) is na decennia uitgegroeid tot de beste Belgische band in zijn genre. De gitaren, de viool, de drums en Isabelles stem weergalmden met kracht in de Expo. Neen, ze waren niet de meest dansbare act van de dag, wel met stip de allermooiste. En plots werd dat geluid zeer goed!

Soms moet je als muziekfan ook de foute dingen vergeten. Menig concertbezoeker herinnerde zich het optreden van The Eternal Afflict tijdens Necropolis vijf jaar geleden. Memorabel is niet bepaald het te gebruiken woord, maar dat was het gisteren tijdens Dark Xmas wel. Ze hebben misschien maar één hit (San Diego), maar dankzij een niet te stoppen energie slaagde The Eternal Afflict erin om de verrassing van het festival te worden. Geen mens die het had verwacht.

Smaken verschillen, en het is daarom dat we voor een sfeerverslag kiezen. Zelf vond ik dat de kwaliteit meer in het midden van het festival lag. De prijs voor meest professionele groep ging ongetwijfeld naar Plastic Noise Experience. Ook Claus Kruse greep met plezier terug naar het verleden, zelfs naar nummers uit tapes (toen tapereleases nog heel gewoon waren). Plastic Noise Experience speelde een strakke set, en was zonder twijfel het EBM-hoogtepunt van de avond.

In onze reeks waarin wij artiesten vragen naar de platen die hun leven hebben veranderd is het indrukwekkend om te zien welke invloed Claus Larsen met Leather Strip uitoefent. Samen met zijn wederhelft Kurt, duurde het een tijdje vooraleer Claus de zaal in zijn ban kreeg, maar bij ieder nummer voelde je zo de adrenaline stijgen. Ten slotte werd de hele zaal meegesleurd in het dansfestijn, en met klassiekers als Strap Me Down, Adrenaline Rush of Japanese Bodies kan dat ook niet anders!

De twee laatste acts van de avond waren bands die de gothgeschiedenis hebben bepaald door hun visuele shows. Tegenwoordig heeft iedereen het over Grausame Tochter, maar eigenlijk waren het Umbra Et Imago die als eerste erotica op het podium brachten. Het zorgt wel voor het nodige kijkplezier, maar menig muziekfan vergeet daardoor toch dat Umbra Et Imago in de eerste plaats een uitmuntende gothrockband is die met platen als Mea Culpa de weg voor Rammstein heeft geëffend. Umbra Et Imago was, samen met The Breath Of Life, de enige gitaarband. Af en toe was er wel eens een vals nootje te bespeuren of mag men Rock Me Amadeus zonder twijfel uit de set bannen, toch zorgden de Duitse sadomasochisten voor een heerlijke set met klassiekers als Gothic Erotic of Kleine Schwester. Je moet ervan houden, zoveel is waar…

Het feestje werd afgesloten met de groep voor wie het in Waregem allemaal begon: Das Ich. Een paar jaar geleden raakte frontman Stefan Ackermann zo ziek, dat het leek alsof het doek definitief over de band was gevallen. Stefan genas en Bruno Kramm kon hem overhalen om het Das Ich-avontuur verder te zetten. Gisteren werd het ook zonneklaar dat Stefan de ziel is van de band en de beweegbare keyboards niet meer dan een gimmick. Als Das Ich dan toch een circus is met Kramm als clown, dan is Stefan Ackermann de tovenaar met de stem.

Binnenkort kun je op onze pagina’s de foto’s van Xavier bewonderen.

Didier BECU
27/12/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death