tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/05/2012 : DARKMEN - Living On Borrowed Time

DARKMEN

Living On Borrowed Time

MusicCD
EBM

[86/100]   

EK Product
30/05/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

Korg Kommandos on the move for EBM, heartbeat 242, ready and willing to fight …

 

“Stahlwerk I” does a great job at opening the Old School EBM festivities on “Living On Borrowed Time”. After listening to this fantastic instrumental intro, you’ll realize that Darkmen will be causing a massive storm over grey Ronse (Belgium), and I’m quite sure, eventually Europe. Hard labor and electronic machinery are skillfully melted into 16 hard-hitting songs and Franky’s voice is a perfect match for the destructive beats and industrial sounds omnipresent on this album. Darkmen is convincingly claiming its rightful place in EBM-country, entering the warzone with confidence and determination! Hate, violence and pain are the prevailing themes of their music and if they would ever feel like explaining this to us, we’re quite interested in doing an interview with them!

 

Darkmen is definitely influenced by the likes of Nitzer Ebb, DAF, Front 242 and e.g. Autodafeh … This being said I think they are doing a great job at creating their own unique, tight and ultra-brutal sound and they offer electronic body music of superior quality! The Italian-Belgian connection delivers once more! Keep up the magnificent work EK Product! When I think about it, it’s actually kind of funny. An Italian label (Napoli) scoring a direct hit with a band from Ronse/Renaix (Belgium).

 

Some last listening advice: VOLUME is of ABSOLUTE ESSENCE and LET YOUR BODY BURN! I love this album, I really do …

Didier PIETERS
30/05/2012


NL

Korg Kommandos op de bres voor EBM, strijdvaardig, paraat en bereid tot geweld, hartslag 242 bpm!

 

De fantastische instrumentale intro “Stahlwerk I”, opent de debatten in een eerder industriële setting. Daarna gaan we volop de Old School EBM toer op, 15 tracks lang, storm over het grauwe Ronse en het omringende Europa ... De stem van Franky past nagenoeg perfect bij de destructieve beats en industriële klanken van dienst. Met de arbeidsethiek van Darkmen is alvast niets mis: Franky en Thomas leveren 16 staalharde werkstukken, gewalst en gelast met onmiskenbaar vakmanschap … De Darkmen zijn donker, klaar voor de strijd en vastberaden om hun rechtmatige stek in EBM-land op te eisen. Haat, geweld en pijn zijn de prevalerende thema’s op deze “Living On Borrowed Time” en daarover willen we Franky en Thomas best wel eens interviewen. Ook het geflirt met communistische (?) symbolen lijkt me interessante stof voor discussie.

 

Een rondje namen noemen? Nitzer Ebb, DAF, Front, Autodafeh4.0.. Het kan allemaal. Darkmen komt uiteraard niet uit het absolute niets … Dit gezegd zijnde vind ik dat ze op “Living On Borrowed Time” een sterke, bijzonder strakke en ultra-brutale eigen sound neerzetten: Körpermusik van überkwaliteit. De Belgisch-Italiaanse connectie draait op volle toeren en Darkmen toont zich een waardig EK product. Een Italiaans label (Napels) dat een voltreffer scoort met een groep uit … Ronse. Best wel grappig als je er over nadenkt!

 

Nog een streepje advies met het oog op een verrijkende luisterervaring: VOLUME IS OF ABSOLUTE ESSENCE! Play ULTRA LOUD. BIMFEST, beware: The Darkmen are coming of allee, dat hopen we in elk geval!

Didier PIETERS
30/05/2012


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)