tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/05/2012 : DARKMEN - Living On Borrowed Time

DARKMEN

Living On Borrowed Time

MusicCD
EBM

[86/100]   

EK Product
30/05/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

Korg Kommandos on the move for EBM, heartbeat 242, ready and willing to fight …

 

“Stahlwerk I” does a great job at opening the Old School EBM festivities on “Living On Borrowed Time”. After listening to this fantastic instrumental intro, you’ll realize that Darkmen will be causing a massive storm over grey Ronse (Belgium), and I’m quite sure, eventually Europe. Hard labor and electronic machinery are skillfully melted into 16 hard-hitting songs and Franky’s voice is a perfect match for the destructive beats and industrial sounds omnipresent on this album. Darkmen is convincingly claiming its rightful place in EBM-country, entering the warzone with confidence and determination! Hate, violence and pain are the prevailing themes of their music and if they would ever feel like explaining this to us, we’re quite interested in doing an interview with them!

 

Darkmen is definitely influenced by the likes of Nitzer Ebb, DAF, Front 242 and e.g. Autodafeh … This being said I think they are doing a great job at creating their own unique, tight and ultra-brutal sound and they offer electronic body music of superior quality! The Italian-Belgian connection delivers once more! Keep up the magnificent work EK Product! When I think about it, it’s actually kind of funny. An Italian label (Napoli) scoring a direct hit with a band from Ronse/Renaix (Belgium).

 

Some last listening advice: VOLUME is of ABSOLUTE ESSENCE and LET YOUR BODY BURN! I love this album, I really do …

Didier PIETERS
30/05/2012


NL

Korg Kommandos op de bres voor EBM, strijdvaardig, paraat en bereid tot geweld, hartslag 242 bpm!

 

De fantastische instrumentale intro “Stahlwerk I”, opent de debatten in een eerder industriële setting. Daarna gaan we volop de Old School EBM toer op, 15 tracks lang, storm over het grauwe Ronse en het omringende Europa ... De stem van Franky past nagenoeg perfect bij de destructieve beats en industriële klanken van dienst. Met de arbeidsethiek van Darkmen is alvast niets mis: Franky en Thomas leveren 16 staalharde werkstukken, gewalst en gelast met onmiskenbaar vakmanschap … De Darkmen zijn donker, klaar voor de strijd en vastberaden om hun rechtmatige stek in EBM-land op te eisen. Haat, geweld en pijn zijn de prevalerende thema’s op deze “Living On Borrowed Time” en daarover willen we Franky en Thomas best wel eens interviewen. Ook het geflirt met communistische (?) symbolen lijkt me interessante stof voor discussie.

 

Een rondje namen noemen? Nitzer Ebb, DAF, Front, Autodafeh4.0.. Het kan allemaal. Darkmen komt uiteraard niet uit het absolute niets … Dit gezegd zijnde vind ik dat ze op “Living On Borrowed Time” een sterke, bijzonder strakke en ultra-brutale eigen sound neerzetten: Körpermusik van überkwaliteit. De Belgisch-Italiaanse connectie draait op volle toeren en Darkmen toont zich een waardig EK product. Een Italiaans label (Napels) dat een voltreffer scoort met een groep uit … Ronse. Best wel grappig als je er over nadenkt!

 

Nog een streepje advies met het oog op een verrijkende luisterervaring: VOLUME IS OF ABSOLUTE ESSENCE! Play ULTRA LOUD. BIMFEST, beware: The Darkmen are coming of allee, dat hopen we in elk geval!

Didier PIETERS
30/05/2012


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes