tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/05/2012 : DARKMEN - Living On Borrowed Time

DARKMEN

Living On Borrowed Time

MusicCD
EBM

[86/100]   

EK Product
30/05/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

Korg Kommandos on the move for EBM, heartbeat 242, ready and willing to fight …

 

“Stahlwerk I” does a great job at opening the Old School EBM festivities on “Living On Borrowed Time”. After listening to this fantastic instrumental intro, you’ll realize that Darkmen will be causing a massive storm over grey Ronse (Belgium), and I’m quite sure, eventually Europe. Hard labor and electronic machinery are skillfully melted into 16 hard-hitting songs and Franky’s voice is a perfect match for the destructive beats and industrial sounds omnipresent on this album. Darkmen is convincingly claiming its rightful place in EBM-country, entering the warzone with confidence and determination! Hate, violence and pain are the prevailing themes of their music and if they would ever feel like explaining this to us, we’re quite interested in doing an interview with them!

 

Darkmen is definitely influenced by the likes of Nitzer Ebb, DAF, Front 242 and e.g. Autodafeh … This being said I think they are doing a great job at creating their own unique, tight and ultra-brutal sound and they offer electronic body music of superior quality! The Italian-Belgian connection delivers once more! Keep up the magnificent work EK Product! When I think about it, it’s actually kind of funny. An Italian label (Napoli) scoring a direct hit with a band from Ronse/Renaix (Belgium).

 

Some last listening advice: VOLUME is of ABSOLUTE ESSENCE and LET YOUR BODY BURN! I love this album, I really do …

Didier PIETERS
30/05/2012


NL

Korg Kommandos op de bres voor EBM, strijdvaardig, paraat en bereid tot geweld, hartslag 242 bpm!

 

De fantastische instrumentale intro “Stahlwerk I”, opent de debatten in een eerder industriële setting. Daarna gaan we volop de Old School EBM toer op, 15 tracks lang, storm over het grauwe Ronse en het omringende Europa ... De stem van Franky past nagenoeg perfect bij de destructieve beats en industriële klanken van dienst. Met de arbeidsethiek van Darkmen is alvast niets mis: Franky en Thomas leveren 16 staalharde werkstukken, gewalst en gelast met onmiskenbaar vakmanschap … De Darkmen zijn donker, klaar voor de strijd en vastberaden om hun rechtmatige stek in EBM-land op te eisen. Haat, geweld en pijn zijn de prevalerende thema’s op deze “Living On Borrowed Time” en daarover willen we Franky en Thomas best wel eens interviewen. Ook het geflirt met communistische (?) symbolen lijkt me interessante stof voor discussie.

 

Een rondje namen noemen? Nitzer Ebb, DAF, Front, Autodafeh4.0.. Het kan allemaal. Darkmen komt uiteraard niet uit het absolute niets … Dit gezegd zijnde vind ik dat ze op “Living On Borrowed Time” een sterke, bijzonder strakke en ultra-brutale eigen sound neerzetten: Körpermusik van überkwaliteit. De Belgisch-Italiaanse connectie draait op volle toeren en Darkmen toont zich een waardig EK product. Een Italiaans label (Napels) dat een voltreffer scoort met een groep uit … Ronse. Best wel grappig als je er over nadenkt!

 

Nog een streepje advies met het oog op een verrijkende luisterervaring: VOLUME IS OF ABSOLUTE ESSENCE! Play ULTRA LOUD. BIMFEST, beware: The Darkmen are coming of allee, dat hopen we in elk geval!

Didier PIETERS
30/05/2012


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
43 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks