tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/05/2012 : DARKMEN - Living On Borrowed Time

DARKMEN

Living On Borrowed Time

MusicCD
EBM

[86/100]   

EK Product
30/05/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

Korg Kommandos on the move for EBM, heartbeat 242, ready and willing to fight …

 

“Stahlwerk I” does a great job at opening the Old School EBM festivities on “Living On Borrowed Time”. After listening to this fantastic instrumental intro, you’ll realize that Darkmen will be causing a massive storm over grey Ronse (Belgium), and I’m quite sure, eventually Europe. Hard labor and electronic machinery are skillfully melted into 16 hard-hitting songs and Franky’s voice is a perfect match for the destructive beats and industrial sounds omnipresent on this album. Darkmen is convincingly claiming its rightful place in EBM-country, entering the warzone with confidence and determination! Hate, violence and pain are the prevailing themes of their music and if they would ever feel like explaining this to us, we’re quite interested in doing an interview with them!

 

Darkmen is definitely influenced by the likes of Nitzer Ebb, DAF, Front 242 and e.g. Autodafeh … This being said I think they are doing a great job at creating their own unique, tight and ultra-brutal sound and they offer electronic body music of superior quality! The Italian-Belgian connection delivers once more! Keep up the magnificent work EK Product! When I think about it, it’s actually kind of funny. An Italian label (Napoli) scoring a direct hit with a band from Ronse/Renaix (Belgium).

 

Some last listening advice: VOLUME is of ABSOLUTE ESSENCE and LET YOUR BODY BURN! I love this album, I really do …

Didier PIETERS
30/05/2012


NL

Korg Kommandos op de bres voor EBM, strijdvaardig, paraat en bereid tot geweld, hartslag 242 bpm!

 

De fantastische instrumentale intro “Stahlwerk I”, opent de debatten in een eerder industriële setting. Daarna gaan we volop de Old School EBM toer op, 15 tracks lang, storm over het grauwe Ronse en het omringende Europa ... De stem van Franky past nagenoeg perfect bij de destructieve beats en industriële klanken van dienst. Met de arbeidsethiek van Darkmen is alvast niets mis: Franky en Thomas leveren 16 staalharde werkstukken, gewalst en gelast met onmiskenbaar vakmanschap … De Darkmen zijn donker, klaar voor de strijd en vastberaden om hun rechtmatige stek in EBM-land op te eisen. Haat, geweld en pijn zijn de prevalerende thema’s op deze “Living On Borrowed Time” en daarover willen we Franky en Thomas best wel eens interviewen. Ook het geflirt met communistische (?) symbolen lijkt me interessante stof voor discussie.

 

Een rondje namen noemen? Nitzer Ebb, DAF, Front, Autodafeh4.0.. Het kan allemaal. Darkmen komt uiteraard niet uit het absolute niets … Dit gezegd zijnde vind ik dat ze op “Living On Borrowed Time” een sterke, bijzonder strakke en ultra-brutale eigen sound neerzetten: Körpermusik van überkwaliteit. De Belgisch-Italiaanse connectie draait op volle toeren en Darkmen toont zich een waardig EK product. Een Italiaans label (Napels) dat een voltreffer scoort met een groep uit … Ronse. Best wel grappig als je er over nadenkt!

 

Nog een streepje advies met het oog op een verrijkende luisterervaring: VOLUME IS OF ABSOLUTE ESSENCE! Play ULTRA LOUD. BIMFEST, beware: The Darkmen are coming of allee, dat hopen we in elk geval!

Didier PIETERS
30/05/2012


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein