tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DAS PROJEKT - Les Belles Infidèles

DAS PROJEKT

Les Belles Infidèles

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[78/100]   

Pisces
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course, we know it for a while: South America is the home for dark music since many years. Because of the success of Hocico you find a lot of aggrotech bands there, but also quality goth rock. Despite its German name, Das Projekt is Brazilian and one of the pioneer bands in the genre over there. Popular in Brazil, but also in the rest of the world a lot of goth rock fans pledged their hearts to these Brazilians. The history began in 1991 with the release of the tape Sinners From The Hollow Valley. Afterwards many releases appeared, and they ended up on several tribute albums (from The Cure to Johnny Cash), and in 2011 they signed to Pisces Records.

Les Belles Infidèles is the latest CD by this quintet. The central theme is the woman in all her guises: the beauty, romance, the danger... in short, everything that you can expect from the female species.

Musically, we hear a goth rock CD with a sublime quality. The first thing you hear is that Marcelo Kpta’s baritone voice is reminiscent of Carl McCoy, but that’s the sole comparison with any other known goth rock band. With the use of sublime keyboards, the Brazilians make their own goth sound that impresses from the first to the last second.

The more the CD evolves, the more you think of the old Sisters Of Mercy sound, that's true. But is that a disadvantage? Not if that results in twelve sublime songs, topped with an amazing cover of Monday Monday by The Mamas & The Papas.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

We weten het natuurlijk al een tijdje: Zuid-Amerika is sinds een paar jaar meer en meer de thuishaven voor degelijke donkere muziek. Door het succes van Hocico tref je daar heel wat aggrotech-bands aan, hoewel men daar ook oerdegelijke gothrock maakt. Ondanks de Duitse naam is Das Projekt op en top Braziliaans en één van de bands die het langst in het genre meedraait. Populair in eigen land, maar ook buiten de landsgrenzen hebben heel wat gothrockfans hun hart aan deze Brazilianen verpand. De geschiedenis begon in 1991 met het uitbrengen van de tape Sinners From The Hollow Valley. Nadien verschenen er heel wat releases, of kwam hun materiaal op een tributealbum terecht (van The Cure tot Johnny Cash), en in 2011 tekenden ze op Pisces Records.

Les Belles Infidèles is de laatste cd die van dit vijftal verscheen. Het centrale thema op dit werk is de vrouw in al haar gedaantes: de schoonheid, de romantiek, het gevaar...kortom, alles wat je ook maar over het “zwakke” geslacht kan verzinnen.

Muzikaal vertaalt dat zich in een keigoede gothrock-cd. De baritonstem van Marcelo Kpta doet je in het begin wel wat aan Carl McCoy denken, maar daar stopt meteen ook iedere vergelijking met andere gothrockbands. Deze Brazilianen zetten immers (o.a. door sublieme keyboards) een eigen geluid neer dat van de eerste tot de laatste seconde imponeert.

Hoe verder de cd evolueert, hoe meer je aan het oude Sisters Of Mercy-geluid denkt, dat is waar. Maar is dit een nadeel? Niet als dat in twaalf degelijke (tot sublieme) songs resulteert, met daarbovenop een geweldige cover van Monday Monday van The Mamas & The Papas.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders