tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DAS PROJEKT - Les Belles Infidèles

DAS PROJEKT

Les Belles Infidèles

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[78/100]   

Pisces
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course, we know it for a while: South America is the home for dark music since many years. Because of the success of Hocico you find a lot of aggrotech bands there, but also quality goth rock. Despite its German name, Das Projekt is Brazilian and one of the pioneer bands in the genre over there. Popular in Brazil, but also in the rest of the world a lot of goth rock fans pledged their hearts to these Brazilians. The history began in 1991 with the release of the tape Sinners From The Hollow Valley. Afterwards many releases appeared, and they ended up on several tribute albums (from The Cure to Johnny Cash), and in 2011 they signed to Pisces Records.

Les Belles Infidèles is the latest CD by this quintet. The central theme is the woman in all her guises: the beauty, romance, the danger... in short, everything that you can expect from the female species.

Musically, we hear a goth rock CD with a sublime quality. The first thing you hear is that Marcelo Kpta’s baritone voice is reminiscent of Carl McCoy, but that’s the sole comparison with any other known goth rock band. With the use of sublime keyboards, the Brazilians make their own goth sound that impresses from the first to the last second.

The more the CD evolves, the more you think of the old Sisters Of Mercy sound, that's true. But is that a disadvantage? Not if that results in twelve sublime songs, topped with an amazing cover of Monday Monday by The Mamas & The Papas.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

We weten het natuurlijk al een tijdje: Zuid-Amerika is sinds een paar jaar meer en meer de thuishaven voor degelijke donkere muziek. Door het succes van Hocico tref je daar heel wat aggrotech-bands aan, hoewel men daar ook oerdegelijke gothrock maakt. Ondanks de Duitse naam is Das Projekt op en top Braziliaans en één van de bands die het langst in het genre meedraait. Populair in eigen land, maar ook buiten de landsgrenzen hebben heel wat gothrockfans hun hart aan deze Brazilianen verpand. De geschiedenis begon in 1991 met het uitbrengen van de tape Sinners From The Hollow Valley. Nadien verschenen er heel wat releases, of kwam hun materiaal op een tributealbum terecht (van The Cure tot Johnny Cash), en in 2011 tekenden ze op Pisces Records.

Les Belles Infidèles is de laatste cd die van dit vijftal verscheen. Het centrale thema op dit werk is de vrouw in al haar gedaantes: de schoonheid, de romantiek, het gevaar...kortom, alles wat je ook maar over het “zwakke” geslacht kan verzinnen.

Muzikaal vertaalt dat zich in een keigoede gothrock-cd. De baritonstem van Marcelo Kpta doet je in het begin wel wat aan Carl McCoy denken, maar daar stopt meteen ook iedere vergelijking met andere gothrockbands. Deze Brazilianen zetten immers (o.a. door sublieme keyboards) een eigen geluid neer dat van de eerste tot de laatste seconde imponeert.

Hoe verder de cd evolueert, hoe meer je aan het oude Sisters Of Mercy-geluid denkt, dat is waar. Maar is dit een nadeel? Niet als dat in twaalf degelijke (tot sublieme) songs resulteert, met daarbovenop een geweldige cover van Monday Monday van The Mamas & The Papas.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
78 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
Dark-Electro Project THRILLSVILLE Draws Upon Psychological Horror With 'Creeps In The House' Single
07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty