tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge

DAVID DOBKIN

The Judge

Movie
Drama

[81/100]   

Warner Home Video
17/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Opinions about a film were rarely as sharply divided as in the case of The judge. Some thought the movie was too mellow, while other reviewers acclaimed this drama. If you want to know, we choose the latest side, even though the film didn’t turn out to be the smashing blockbuster everyone was awaiting. It didn't win an Oscar, although Robert Duvall definitely deserved one as the ultra-conservative and unsympathetic judge Joseph Palmer. But it was director David Dobkin who surprised us most, as we never thought that the creator of Wedding Crashers and Shanghai Knights (or even worse: Fred Claus and The Change-Up) came up with classy traditional cinema, that is reminiscent to the best of Clint Eastwood. Because no, The Judge isn’t innovative for one second, but this well constructed and prestigious court drama has all the ingredients for good cinema.

Of course The Judge is also a bit a Robert Downey Jr.-movie. Thanks to Iron Man and Sherlock Holmes, he has a bank account that would make every immortal faint, but you can’t deny that the actor is trapped in a self-spun web of superheroes. The actor who began his career in the Brat Pack and had to conquer a drug addiction, has indeed made lots of quality films, but for the general public he will always be Iron Man. Funny enough, his character lawyer Hank Palmer is quite similar to the one of Tony Stark. Palmer also lives in wealth and obtains huge sums of criminal money, so he can almost afford everything. In short, Palmer has made it! During a process, he gets a phone call about the death of his mother. The lawyer leaves for to the small village of Clarinville, where hemeets with his father, with whom he has not spoken for years. Palmer wants to go back to Chicago as quickly as possible, but his father is involved in a fatal traffic accident. And yes, who can better defend him than his own son, but Palmer refuses.

A possible downside for some film fans is the 150 minutes-length of the movie. That is indeed quite long, although you do not notice that for one second. Both the direction and the photography by Janusz Kaminski (Saving Private Ryan and Shindler's List) are classic, but remain overwhelmingly beautiful. The performances are of a very high standard, with Robert Downey Jr. and the indestructible Robert Duvall at their best. And for the guys: you never saw Gossip Girl star Leighton Meester look as horny as in The Judge. Out now on DVD and Blu-ray through Warner.

Didier BECU
17/03/2015


NL

Zelden waren de meningen over een film zo sterk verdeeld als in het geval van The Judge. Sommigen vonden de aanpak te oubollig, terwijl andere recensenten dit gerechtsdrama (terecht) ophemelden. Uiteindelijk bleek de film niet de beloofde bioscoopkraker te zijn en zelfs niet de gedoodverfde Oscar-slokop, hoewel we de oude Robert Duvall als de oerconservatieve en vooral de weinig sympathieke rechter Joseph Palmer een beeldje hadden gegund. Zelfs regisseur David Dobkin mocht meer worden gelauwerd, al was het maar omdat we nooit hadden verwacht dat de maker van Wedding Crashers en godbetert Shanghai Knights (en zelfs nog erger: Fred Claus en The Change-Up) traditionele cinema zou kunnen maken die doet denken aan het beste van Clint Eastwood. Want neen, vernieuwend kun je The Judge geen seconde noemen, wel bezit dit klassiek opgebouwde en prestigieuze gerechtsdrama alle ingrediënten die goede cinema nodig heeft.

Natuurlijk is The Judge ook een beetje de film van Robert Downey Jr. geworden. Dankzij Iron Man of Sherlock Holmes heeft hij een bankrekening die een sterveling doet duizelen, artistiek kun je er niet omheen dat de acteur gevangen zit in zijn zelf gesponnen web van superhelden. De acteur, die zijn carrière in de Brat Pack begon en nadien door zijn drugverslaving in de goot terechtkwam, heeft een resem kwaliteitsfilms gedraaid, toch blijft hij voor het grote publiek gewoon Iron Man. Grappig genoeg ligt zijn personage advocaat Hank Palmer niet zo bijster ver uit de buurt van Tony Stark. Ook Palmer is verwaand en krijgt van steenrijke criminelen gigantische bedragen in de hand gestopt waardoor hij zich zowat alles kan permitteren. Kortom, Palmer heeft het gemaakt! Tijdens een proces krijgt hij een telefoontje waarin hem wordt gemeld dat zijn moeder is overleden. De jurist vertrekt holderdebolder naar het boerengat Clarinville. Hij treft er zijn vader aan met wie hij jarenlang niet heeft gesproken. Palmer wil zo snel mogelijk terug naar Chicago, maar zijn vader raakt betrokken bij een dodelijk ongeluk. En tja, wie kan hem beter verdedigen dan zijn eigen zoon, maar die weigert.

Een eventueel minpunt voor sommigen is dat de film met 150 minuten vrij lang is, ofschoon je dat geen seconde merkt. Zowel de regie als de fotografie van Janusz Kaminski (Saving Private Ryan en Schindler’s List) is klassiek, maar blijft overweldigend mooi. De vertolkingen zijn van zeer hoog niveau, met voorop Robert Downey Jr. en de onverwoestbare Robert Duvall. En voor de snoepers: nog nooit zag je Gossip Girl-ster Leighton Meester zo geil kijken als in The Judge. Verplicht Hollywoodvoer en nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Warner.

Didier BECU
17/03/2015


17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down