tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge

DAVID DOBKIN

The Judge

Movie
Drama

[81/100]   

Warner Home Video
17/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Opinions about a film were rarely as sharply divided as in the case of The judge. Some thought the movie was too mellow, while other reviewers acclaimed this drama. If you want to know, we choose the latest side, even though the film didn’t turn out to be the smashing blockbuster everyone was awaiting. It didn't win an Oscar, although Robert Duvall definitely deserved one as the ultra-conservative and unsympathetic judge Joseph Palmer. But it was director David Dobkin who surprised us most, as we never thought that the creator of Wedding Crashers and Shanghai Knights (or even worse: Fred Claus and The Change-Up) came up with classy traditional cinema, that is reminiscent to the best of Clint Eastwood. Because no, The Judge isn’t innovative for one second, but this well constructed and prestigious court drama has all the ingredients for good cinema.

Of course The Judge is also a bit a Robert Downey Jr.-movie. Thanks to Iron Man and Sherlock Holmes, he has a bank account that would make every immortal faint, but you can’t deny that the actor is trapped in a self-spun web of superheroes. The actor who began his career in the Brat Pack and had to conquer a drug addiction, has indeed made lots of quality films, but for the general public he will always be Iron Man. Funny enough, his character lawyer Hank Palmer is quite similar to the one of Tony Stark. Palmer also lives in wealth and obtains huge sums of criminal money, so he can almost afford everything. In short, Palmer has made it! During a process, he gets a phone call about the death of his mother. The lawyer leaves for to the small village of Clarinville, where hemeets with his father, with whom he has not spoken for years. Palmer wants to go back to Chicago as quickly as possible, but his father is involved in a fatal traffic accident. And yes, who can better defend him than his own son, but Palmer refuses.

A possible downside for some film fans is the 150 minutes-length of the movie. That is indeed quite long, although you do not notice that for one second. Both the direction and the photography by Janusz Kaminski (Saving Private Ryan and Shindler's List) are classic, but remain overwhelmingly beautiful. The performances are of a very high standard, with Robert Downey Jr. and the indestructible Robert Duvall at their best. And for the guys: you never saw Gossip Girl star Leighton Meester look as horny as in The Judge. Out now on DVD and Blu-ray through Warner.

Didier BECU
17/03/2015


NL

Zelden waren de meningen over een film zo sterk verdeeld als in het geval van The Judge. Sommigen vonden de aanpak te oubollig, terwijl andere recensenten dit gerechtsdrama (terecht) ophemelden. Uiteindelijk bleek de film niet de beloofde bioscoopkraker te zijn en zelfs niet de gedoodverfde Oscar-slokop, hoewel we de oude Robert Duvall als de oerconservatieve en vooral de weinig sympathieke rechter Joseph Palmer een beeldje hadden gegund. Zelfs regisseur David Dobkin mocht meer worden gelauwerd, al was het maar omdat we nooit hadden verwacht dat de maker van Wedding Crashers en godbetert Shanghai Knights (en zelfs nog erger: Fred Claus en The Change-Up) traditionele cinema zou kunnen maken die doet denken aan het beste van Clint Eastwood. Want neen, vernieuwend kun je The Judge geen seconde noemen, wel bezit dit klassiek opgebouwde en prestigieuze gerechtsdrama alle ingrediënten die goede cinema nodig heeft.

Natuurlijk is The Judge ook een beetje de film van Robert Downey Jr. geworden. Dankzij Iron Man of Sherlock Holmes heeft hij een bankrekening die een sterveling doet duizelen, artistiek kun je er niet omheen dat de acteur gevangen zit in zijn zelf gesponnen web van superhelden. De acteur, die zijn carrière in de Brat Pack begon en nadien door zijn drugverslaving in de goot terechtkwam, heeft een resem kwaliteitsfilms gedraaid, toch blijft hij voor het grote publiek gewoon Iron Man. Grappig genoeg ligt zijn personage advocaat Hank Palmer niet zo bijster ver uit de buurt van Tony Stark. Ook Palmer is verwaand en krijgt van steenrijke criminelen gigantische bedragen in de hand gestopt waardoor hij zich zowat alles kan permitteren. Kortom, Palmer heeft het gemaakt! Tijdens een proces krijgt hij een telefoontje waarin hem wordt gemeld dat zijn moeder is overleden. De jurist vertrekt holderdebolder naar het boerengat Clarinville. Hij treft er zijn vader aan met wie hij jarenlang niet heeft gesproken. Palmer wil zo snel mogelijk terug naar Chicago, maar zijn vader raakt betrokken bij een dodelijk ongeluk. En tja, wie kan hem beter verdedigen dan zijn eigen zoon, maar die weigert.

Een eventueel minpunt voor sommigen is dat de film met 150 minuten vrij lang is, ofschoon je dat geen seconde merkt. Zowel de regie als de fotografie van Janusz Kaminski (Saving Private Ryan en Schindler’s List) is klassiek, maar blijft overweldigend mooi. De vertolkingen zijn van zeer hoog niveau, met voorop Robert Downey Jr. en de onverwoestbare Robert Duvall. En voor de snoepers: nog nooit zag je Gossip Girl-ster Leighton Meester zo geil kijken als in The Judge. Verplicht Hollywoodvoer en nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Warner.

Didier BECU
17/03/2015


17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge 17/03/2015 : DAVID DOBKIN - The Judge

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel