tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : DAVID GILMOUR - Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)

DAVID GILMOUR

Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)

Concert
Rock 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

After the passing of Richard Wright (2008), and the final Pink Floyd album The Endless River (2014), the british iconic progressive rock band officially seized to exist. And although Roger Waters and David Gilmour are more or less back on speaking terms, it's very unlikely to expect another Pink Floyd Tour, with both Waters and Gilmour, with other original member Nick Mason, nor in any other setting. But Both Waters and Gilmour are regulary touring and playing the Pink Floyd catalogue and that's the closest you'll get to a Pink Floyd show. On wednesday 27th and thursday 28th of july this was such a moment: David Gilmour played two magical concerts on the market square of Tienen, just days before the city's annual rock festival Suikerrock. Peek-a-boo-magazine attended the gig on wednesday and was impressed.

The guitar and voice of Pink Floyd took the audience on a wonderful journey through Pink Floyd music, mostly concentrating on the Gilmour signature songs and a couple of songs from Rattle That Lock, Gilmour's latest studio album, were played. Not too many surprises in the setlist concerning the Pink Floyd songs, and comparable to the Floyd shows in the nineties, (Gilmour, Richard Wright and Nick Mason). If you want to hear Animals (1977) in it's entirerety then attending a Roger Waters show is an option. But this was Gilmour's evening so the focus was on albums such as The Dark Side of the Moon (1972) and I Wish You Were Here (1975) and the post-Waters albums.

Gilmour was backed by a really strong band. An extra mention of the ladies and gentlemen vocalists who took The Great Gig In the Sky (The Dark Side of the Moon, 1972) to a new level, is in it's place: wow! And there's of course that typical and wonderful guitarsound of mister Gilmour.

Throughout all of the evening the sound was crystal clear. One could hear some 'grain' on David's voice, but Gilmour sang very good and he'll always be the better singer in the Floyd camp, sorry Roger!

Amongst the absolute highlights of the show was an inspired On An Island, the title track of Gilmour's previous studio album, the earlier mentioned The Great Gig in The Sky, a really good Fat Old Sun (Atom Heart Mother, 1970), a truly touching High Hopes (The Division Bell, 1994), the absolute fantastic One of These Days (Meddle, 1971), including pumping bass and the sample of the infamous vocal line by Nick Mason: One of these days I'm going to cut you into little pieces.

The audience was spoilt with majestic renditions of Shine On Your Crazy Diamond (Parts I-V) (Wish You Were Here, 1975), Time (The Dark Side of the Moon, 1972) and Sorrow (A Momentary Lapse Of Reason, 1987) and the ultimate ballad that is Wish You Were Here (Wish You Were Here, 1975). Gilmour and band played a manical Run Like Hell and an excellent Comfortably Numb (both from The Wall, 1979) that was saved for the grande finale.

Biggest surprise of the evening for yours truly was the extremely jazzy and very catchy The Girl In the Yellow Dress (Rattle That Lock, 2015) which sounds like nothing we would expect from Floyd nor Gilmour. But it sounded rather good. Gilmour and jazz? Why Not! Another surprise and maybe THE hightlight of the set was In Any Tongue (Rattle That Lock, 2015), the goosebumps moment of the night, also due to the meaning of it's content, being so approriate and very up to date, sadly. Of course there were also goosebumps when I Wish You Were Here was played. But due to different reasons.

Of course Money (The Dark Side of the Moon, 1972) was played and sung along massively. Unfortunately no Us And Them (The Dark Side of the Moon, 1972) nor Astronomy Domine (The Piper at the Gates of Dawn, 1969), but Gilmour played these on thursday's show.

From the new songs I was pleasantly surprised by The Girl in the Yellow Dress and In Any Tongue and also Faces of Stone and title track Rattle That Lock are worth exploring. Both A Boat Lies Waiting, an ode to the late Richard Wright, and The Blue sounded too mellow to my ears, but hey, you can't have it all, can you?

Having said that: Gilmour brought us a splendid show with over two hours of magic, backed with an excellent band. This and any Roger Waters show, or some of the better Floyd tributes around, will be the closest we'll get to a Pink Floyd show nowadays, let's enjoy that to the full.

Setlist:
5 A.M. / Rattle That Lock / Faces of Stone / What Do You Want From Me (Pink Floyd) / The Blue / The Great Gig in the Sky (Pink Floyd) / A Boat Lies Waiting / Wish You Were Here (Pink Floyd) / Money (Pink Floyd) / In Any Tongue / High Hopes (Pink Floyd) / One of These Days (Pink Floyd) / Shine On You Crazy Diamond Pts. I-V (Pink Floyd) / Fat Old Sun (Pink Floyd) / Coming Back To Life (Pink Floyd) / On An Island / The Girl In the Yellow Dress / Today / Sorrow (Pink Floyd) / Run Like Hell (Pink Floyd)

Encore:
Time (Pink Floyd) / Breathe – reprise (Pink Floyd) / Comfortably Numb (Pink Floyd).

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Een Pink Floyd-optreden zullen we wellicht nooit meer meemaken; na het heengaan van Richard Wright hield de band officieel op te bestaan en het water tussen Roger Waters en David Gilmour is nog steeds te diep. Beide tenoren touren wel regelmatig met eigen werk én een gulle greep uit het Pink Floyd-oeuvre. Exact dit scenario ontspon zich op woensdag 27 en donderdag 28 juli 2016 toen gitaarheld en Pink Floyd-icoon David Gilmour twee magische concerten ten beste gaf in Tienen. Waarom de Suikerstad? Joost mag het weten, David allicht ook. Maar de fans vonden de weg. Peek-A-Boo-Magazine woonde de eerste concertavond bij en is nog onder de indruk. We hoorden gelijksoortige verhalen over donderdagavond.

Gitaarheld en Pink Floyd-icoon Gilmour pakte de Tiense Grote Markt zonder enige moeite in met grootse muziek en pure magie. Met een handvol songs van het jongste album Rattle That Lock en natuurlijk veel Pink Floyd-materiaal, met name de songs met de Gilmourhandtekening of wat had je gedacht. Gelijksoortige songkeuzes als tijdens de laatste Pink Floydtournees in de jaren negentig toen Waters al lang weg was en Gilmour de plak zwaaide (Pink Floyd bestond toen uit Gilmour, Nick Mason en Richard Wright). Voor een integrale uitvoering van pakweg Animals (1977), waarvoor Gilmour slechts aan één song meeschreef, is de hoop op Roger Waters gevestigd. Maar goed, dit was Gilmours avond. En wat een avond...

Dat hemelse gitaarspel van de man, oooh! En wat een sterke backingband, met extra vermelding van de dames en heer vocalisten, die in een magistraal The Great Gig In The Sky (The Dark Side of the Moon, 1972) op de voorgrond traden, wat een stemmen.

Het geluid was loepzuiver, de hele avond. Dat er soms wat 'korrel' op Davids stem zit, hoorde je ook, maar hij was verder gewoon goed bij stem en het blijft toch de betere zanger in het Floydkamp (sorry, Roger!). Bij de absolute hoogtepunten, naast The Great Gig in The Sky, vermeld ik graag een sterk On an Island (van het vorige Gilmour-album met dezelfde titel), een erg sterk Fat Old Sun (Atom Heart Mother, 1970) dat anno 2016 nog bijzonder jeugdig klinkt, een beklijvend High Hopes (The Division Bell, 1994), het geweldige instrumentale One of these Days (Meddle, 1971) met pompende bas en inbegrip van een sample van die ene zinssnede van Nick Mason: One of these days I'm going to cut you into little pieces, een fenomenaal en majestueus Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts I-V) (Wish You Were Here, 1975), Time (The Dark Side of the Moon, 1972), een ijzersterk Sorrow (A Momentary Lapse of Reason, 1987) dé ultieme ballad Wish You Were Here (Wish You Were Here, 1975), een manisch Run Like Hell (The Wall, 1979) en een uitmuntend Comfortably Numb (The Wall, 1979) dat voor de grande finale opgespaard was.

Het uiterst jazzy The Girl in the Yellow Dress was voor mij dé verrassing en ontdekking van de avond: heel ver weg van de Pink Floyd- of de bekende Gilmoursound, maar verfrissend en heel catchy. Gilmour en jazz, waarom niet: smaakt naar meer. Top! En dan was er het heel erg pakkende en helaas zeer actuele In Any Tongue (van het nieuwe album) dat voor een krop in de keel en hét kippenvelmoment van de avond zorgde, al had ik dat bij Wish You Were Here ook, maar dan om heel andere redenen.

Van de nieuwe songs onthoud ik behalve The Girl in the Yellow Dress en In Any Tongue, voorts ook Faces of Stone en de aardig wegrockende titeltrack Rattle That Lock.

Ja, Money (The Dark Side of The Moon, 1972) werd ook gespeeld natuurlijk, met een geweldige gitaarpartij en het werd uiteraard massaal meegezongen... Nee, géén Another Brick in the Wall, maar dat miste ik niet echt. Jammer dat we geen Us And Them (The Dark Side of The Moon, 1972) kregen, wél aanwezig daags nadien op het tweede concert, net als Astronomy Domine (The Piper at the Gates of Dawn, 1969) trouwens!

Persoonlijk vond ik The Blue (Ratle That Lock, 2015) teveel richtingloos gekabbel en A Boat Lies Waiting (Rattle That Lock, 2015), opgedragen aan de in 2008 overleden Richard Wright, grensde aan overmatige meligheid. Maar ik wil het legende Gilmour zeker vergeven. Hij gaf ons een spetterende show van een goede tweeënhalf uur en bracht een uitstekende backingband mee!

Pink Floyd heb ik helaas nooit live gezien, wel Roger Waters en nu ook David Gilmour. Beide kemphanen citeren elk op hun manier uit de Floyd-catalogus en doen dat met brio. Weinig kans dus ze ooit nog eens samen op een podium zien, maar zeg nooit 'nooit'. Al speelt ook de factor: 'de tijd tikt'...

Setlist:

5 A.M. / Rattle That Lock / Faces of Stone / What Do You Want From Me (Pink Floyd) / The Blue / The Great Gig in the Sky (Pink Floyd) / A Boat Lies Waiting / Wish You Were Here (Pink Floyd) / Money (Pink Floyd) / In Any Tongue / High Hopes (Pink Floyd) / One of These Days (Pink Floyd) / Shine On You Crazy Diamond Pts. I-V (Pink Floyd) / Fat Old Sun (Pink Floyd) / Coming Back To Life (Pink Floyd) / On An Island / The Girl In the Yellow Dress / Today / Sorrow (Pink Floyd) / Run Like Hell (Pink Floyd)

Encore:
Time (Pink Floyd) / Breathe – reprise (Pink Floyd) / Comfortably Numb (Pink Floyd).

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)
04
11
SEESAYLE
Stamina

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
11
11
THE MISSION
De Casino
11
11
DEPARTMENT S
De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance
15
11
THE TEA PARTY
Temptation
14
11
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
14
11
NO MORE
Suicide Commando (Official 1981 video & version)
13
11
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer