tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

17/10/2014 : DAVID LAMBERT - Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

DAVID LAMBERT

Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
DramaGay
Filmfest Gent
17/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

This year’s edition of FilmFest Ghent features ten Belgian movies. Of course all spotlights are aimed to the remake from The Loft by Erik Van Looy as opener (and according to jury member Bret Easton Ellis the dumbest picture he has ever seen), but we like to concentrate ourselves to what’s happening in the south of Belgium. Not everyone will be happy with this statement, but the best movies are made in Wallony. Social dramas that upset the viewer because they’re so real, hard stories that happen on the corner of every street. David Lambert is such a movie maker. After his debut Hors les Murs, it became clear that he was a cinematographer to follow and his newest movie Je Suis A Toi is just the confirmation of that!

You can compare his style with the one from the Dardenne-brothers, even if he adds more (explicit) sex. According to him that’s because sex is just like our daily bread: it comes every day on the table. Je Suis A Toi tells the sad story about the young escort boy Lucas (Nahuel Pérez Biscayart) from Buenos Aires. During one of his chats, the Belgian baker Henry (Jean-Michel Balthazar) invites him to search his luck in the little village from Hermalle. Lucas gets a job in the bakery, but he’s forced to share the bed with his boss. This silly plan never seems to work, and Lucas even falls in love with the beautiful widow Audrey (Monia Chokri) who works in the shop.

A very heavy subject to deal with, but Lambert makes it lighter by adding now and then a joke. Of course you don’t feel well afterwards, but it’s a part of the society we’re living in. Maybe, Deux Jours, Une Nuit is indeed the best Belgian movie from this year, but I wonder if those who say this already have seen Je Suis A Toi. Splendid.

Didier BECU
17/10/2014


NL

Dit jaar zijn er zo waar tien Belgische titels opgenomen in de programmering van het Filmfestival van Gent. Natuurlijk is The Loft van Erik Van Looy als openingsfilm de publiekstrekker (en volgens juryvoorzitter Bret Easton Ellis het domste wat hij ooit heeft gezien), maar wij verdiepen ons toch liever in het zuiden van ons Belgenlandje. Want tja, ook al zullen sommige flamiganten er niet mee kunnen lachen is het toch zo dat de beste Belgische cinema in Wallonië wordt gemaakt. Niet het relaas over bier zuipende amateurvoetballers, maar sociale drama’s die de kijker een uppercut van jewelste bezorgen. David Lambert is zo’n filmmaker. Na zijn debuut Hors les Murs werd het al gauw duidelijk dat deze Waal een cineast was waarmee rekening moest worden gehouden en dat wordt met zijn nieuwste Je Suis A Toi nogmaals bewezen.

Je zou zijn stijl het best met die van de Dardenne-broers kunnen vergelijken, alleen komt er bij Lambert wat meer (expliciete) seks bij kijken. Naar eigen zeggen, gewoon omdat dat dit zoiets is als ons brood: het komt elke dag op tafel. Je Suis A Toi vertelt het trieste verhaal van de jonge prostituee Lucas (Nahuel Pérez Biscayart) die in Buenos Aires als escortjongen werkt. Tijdens een van zijn chats overtuigt de Belgische bakker Henry (Jean-Michel Balthazar) hem om zijn geluk in het Waalse dorpje Hermalle te komen zoeken. Hij krijgt een baantje in de bakkerij, alleen moet hij wel het bed delen met zijn baas. Vanaf het begin lijkt alles er op dat dit dwaze plan geen kans van slagen heeft, bovendien wordt de jonge Argentijn verliefd op het knappe winkelhulpje Audrey (Monia Chokri).

Een loodzwaar onderwerp, maar de steen op de maag wordt wat lichter omdat Lambert geregeld wat grapjes tussen het drama steekt. Je Suis A Toi biedt een heldere (maar tegelijkertijd ook keiharde) blik op de maatschappij. Het voelt helemaal niet lekker aan, maar je weet dat dergelijke kleine drama’s zich op de hoek van elke straat afspelen. Tja, misschien is Deux Jours, Une Nuit wel de Belgische film van het jaar, maar zouden de mensen die dat beweren Je Suis A Toi reeds hebben gezien?

Didier BECU
17/10/2014


17/10/2014 : DAVID LAMBERT - Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 17/10/2014 : DAVID LAMBERT - Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 17/10/2014 : DAVID LAMBERT - Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 17/10/2014 : DAVID LAMBERT - Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 17/10/2014 : DAVID LAMBERT - Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 17/10/2014 : DAVID LAMBERT - Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 17/10/2014 : DAVID LAMBERT - Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 17/10/2014 : DAVID LAMBERT - Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 17/10/2014 : DAVID LAMBERT - Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 17/10/2014 : DAVID LAMBERT - Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life