tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai

DAVID LEAN

The Bridge On The River Kwai

MovieMovie classics
War Movie

[83/100]   

SONY SPHE
15/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Bridge On The River Kwai is a classic, no doubt, a title that always pops up in those dreadful lists of conservative critics who like to brag with the best films ever. And yet, whatever you may might be thinking, you have to see this David Lean epic at least once in your life.

The film lasts almost three hours and all in all very little happens, although it never bores. That has everything to do with the cinematic genius of David Lean, who said farewell to Engeland with this fictional war story. Thanks to Kwai, he could make Lawrence Of Arabia five years later, seen by many as the best film of all time. Even though the film won seven Oscars, the beginning was anything but easy. The story is based on the French book Le Pont de la Rivière Kwai by Pierre Boulle. Sam Spiegel called it the wet dream of every Hollywood producer. Lean however disliked the script and insisted that it was completely rewritten. And how would the public respond to a film without beautiful women, because Kwai merely is about psychological warfare between two officers. Eventually there were a few local actresses dragged in (imagine !) to carry the artillery. Another problem were the actors. No one knew Alec Guinness (indeed Ben Obi-Wan Kenobi from Star Wars) and his opponent Hayakawa was a forgotten star of the Asian silent film-area who did not speak English. Eventually they invented a role for an American: William Holden, who got one million dollars (a record at that time) and could retire the rest of his days in Africa. And then the British army refused to participate because it felt that Hollywood shameless exploited the suffering of British war prisoners during the construction of the Burma Railway (Railway of Death).

But so what? The Bridge Over The River Kwai was one of the greatest war classics ever, although there is little fighting in it. Unlike today's cinema, all is slowly filmed in this epic and the eye can quietly admire the majestic landscapes (in CinemaScope, of course!). And no, we haven’t forgotten the chorus of Colonel Bogey!

You should see The Bridge over the River Kwai at least once in your life and even more than that!

Didier BECU
15/01/2015


NL

 

The Bridge On The River Kwai is een klassieker die niet stuk te krijgen is; een titel die steevast opduikt in de gevreesde conservatieve lijstjes van critici die graag met de beste films pochen. En toch, wat je er ook mag van denken, moet je dit epos van David Lean toch minstens één keer in je leven hebben gezien.

De film duurt bijna drie uur en al bij al gebeurt er bitter weinig, ofschoon er geen moment sprake is van verveling. Dat heeft natuurlijk alles te maken met het cinematografisch genie van David Lean, die met dit fictieve oorlogsverhaal Engeland definitief vaarwel zegde. Het was de film die er voor zorgde dat hij vijf jaar later Lawrence Of Arabia kon maken, volgens velen de beste film aller tijden. Ook al sleepte The Bridge On The River Kwai zeven Oscars binnen, toch was het begin allesbehalve gemakkelijk. Het verhaal dat gebaseerd is op het Franse boek Le Pont de la Rivière Kwaï van Pierre Boulle, was volgens Sam Spiegel inderdaad de natte droom van iedere Hollywoodproducent, toch vond Lean niks aan het script en stond hij erop dat het volledig werd herschreven En hoe zou het publiek reageren op een film zonder vrouwelijk schoon, want eigenlijk draait het louter om een psychologische oorlog tussen twee oorlogsofficieren? Uiteindelijk werden er een paar lokale actrices bij gesleept die (stel je voor!) de artilleriestukken mochten helpen dragen. Een ander probleem vormden de acteurs. Geen kat had ooit van Alec Guiness (Ben Obi-Wan Kenobi uit Star Wars dus) gehoord en zijn tegenspeler Sessue Hayakawa was niet meer dan een vergeten ster uit de Aziatische stomme film, die geen woord Engels sprak. Uiteindelijk bedacht men een rol voor een Amerikaan waardoor William Holden een miljoen dollar (een record toen) kreeg en de rest van zijn dagen in Afrika kon rentenieren. En dan was er nog het Britse leger dat weigerde om mee te werken omdat het vond dat Hollywood schaamteloos munt sloeg uit het lijden van de Britse krijgsgevangen die werden ingezet bij het bouwen van de Birmaspoorweg (de spoorweg des doods).

Zorgen om niets, want The Bridge Over The River Kwai werd één van de grootste oorlogsklassiekers die ooit is gedraaid ofschoon er maar weinig in gevochten wordt. In tegenstelling tot de huidige cinema is alles in dit epos ontzettend traag gefilmd waardoor het oog de tijd krijgt om de majestueuze landschappen (in Cinemascope natuurlijk!) te bewonderen. En neen, we zijn het refreintje van Colonolel Bogey (in Vlaanderen overbekend als de klassieker “Charel, ik heb uw gat gezien”) helemaal niet vergeten!

The Bridge Over The River Kwai moet je eenmaal zien in je leven en zelfs meer dan dat!

 

Didier BECU
15/01/2015


15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh