tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai

DAVID LEAN

The Bridge On The River Kwai

MovieMovie classics
War Movie

[83/100]   

SONY SPHE
15/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Bridge On The River Kwai is a classic, no doubt, a title that always pops up in those dreadful lists of conservative critics who like to brag with the best films ever. And yet, whatever you may might be thinking, you have to see this David Lean epic at least once in your life.

The film lasts almost three hours and all in all very little happens, although it never bores. That has everything to do with the cinematic genius of David Lean, who said farewell to Engeland with this fictional war story. Thanks to Kwai, he could make Lawrence Of Arabia five years later, seen by many as the best film of all time. Even though the film won seven Oscars, the beginning was anything but easy. The story is based on the French book Le Pont de la Rivière Kwai by Pierre Boulle. Sam Spiegel called it the wet dream of every Hollywood producer. Lean however disliked the script and insisted that it was completely rewritten. And how would the public respond to a film without beautiful women, because Kwai merely is about psychological warfare between two officers. Eventually there were a few local actresses dragged in (imagine !) to carry the artillery. Another problem were the actors. No one knew Alec Guinness (indeed Ben Obi-Wan Kenobi from Star Wars) and his opponent Hayakawa was a forgotten star of the Asian silent film-area who did not speak English. Eventually they invented a role for an American: William Holden, who got one million dollars (a record at that time) and could retire the rest of his days in Africa. And then the British army refused to participate because it felt that Hollywood shameless exploited the suffering of British war prisoners during the construction of the Burma Railway (Railway of Death).

But so what? The Bridge Over The River Kwai was one of the greatest war classics ever, although there is little fighting in it. Unlike today's cinema, all is slowly filmed in this epic and the eye can quietly admire the majestic landscapes (in CinemaScope, of course!). And no, we haven’t forgotten the chorus of Colonel Bogey!

You should see The Bridge over the River Kwai at least once in your life and even more than that!

Didier BECU
15/01/2015


NL

 

The Bridge On The River Kwai is een klassieker die niet stuk te krijgen is; een titel die steevast opduikt in de gevreesde conservatieve lijstjes van critici die graag met de beste films pochen. En toch, wat je er ook mag van denken, moet je dit epos van David Lean toch minstens één keer in je leven hebben gezien.

De film duurt bijna drie uur en al bij al gebeurt er bitter weinig, ofschoon er geen moment sprake is van verveling. Dat heeft natuurlijk alles te maken met het cinematografisch genie van David Lean, die met dit fictieve oorlogsverhaal Engeland definitief vaarwel zegde. Het was de film die er voor zorgde dat hij vijf jaar later Lawrence Of Arabia kon maken, volgens velen de beste film aller tijden. Ook al sleepte The Bridge On The River Kwai zeven Oscars binnen, toch was het begin allesbehalve gemakkelijk. Het verhaal dat gebaseerd is op het Franse boek Le Pont de la Rivière Kwaï van Pierre Boulle, was volgens Sam Spiegel inderdaad de natte droom van iedere Hollywoodproducent, toch vond Lean niks aan het script en stond hij erop dat het volledig werd herschreven En hoe zou het publiek reageren op een film zonder vrouwelijk schoon, want eigenlijk draait het louter om een psychologische oorlog tussen twee oorlogsofficieren? Uiteindelijk werden er een paar lokale actrices bij gesleept die (stel je voor!) de artilleriestukken mochten helpen dragen. Een ander probleem vormden de acteurs. Geen kat had ooit van Alec Guiness (Ben Obi-Wan Kenobi uit Star Wars dus) gehoord en zijn tegenspeler Sessue Hayakawa was niet meer dan een vergeten ster uit de Aziatische stomme film, die geen woord Engels sprak. Uiteindelijk bedacht men een rol voor een Amerikaan waardoor William Holden een miljoen dollar (een record toen) kreeg en de rest van zijn dagen in Afrika kon rentenieren. En dan was er nog het Britse leger dat weigerde om mee te werken omdat het vond dat Hollywood schaamteloos munt sloeg uit het lijden van de Britse krijgsgevangen die werden ingezet bij het bouwen van de Birmaspoorweg (de spoorweg des doods).

Zorgen om niets, want The Bridge Over The River Kwai werd één van de grootste oorlogsklassiekers die ooit is gedraaid ofschoon er maar weinig in gevochten wordt. In tegenstelling tot de huidige cinema is alles in dit epos ontzettend traag gefilmd waardoor het oog de tijd krijgt om de majestueuze landschappen (in Cinemascope natuurlijk!) te bewonderen. En neen, we zijn het refreintje van Colonolel Bogey (in Vlaanderen overbekend als de klassieker “Charel, ik heb uw gat gezien”) helemaal niet vergeten!

The Bridge Over The River Kwai moet je eenmaal zien in je leven en zelfs meer dan dat!

 

Didier BECU
15/01/2015


15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)