tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai

DAVID LEAN

The Bridge On The River Kwai

MovieMovie classics
War Movie

[83/100]   

SONY SPHE
15/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Bridge On The River Kwai is a classic, no doubt, a title that always pops up in those dreadful lists of conservative critics who like to brag with the best films ever. And yet, whatever you may might be thinking, you have to see this David Lean epic at least once in your life.

The film lasts almost three hours and all in all very little happens, although it never bores. That has everything to do with the cinematic genius of David Lean, who said farewell to Engeland with this fictional war story. Thanks to Kwai, he could make Lawrence Of Arabia five years later, seen by many as the best film of all time. Even though the film won seven Oscars, the beginning was anything but easy. The story is based on the French book Le Pont de la Rivière Kwai by Pierre Boulle. Sam Spiegel called it the wet dream of every Hollywood producer. Lean however disliked the script and insisted that it was completely rewritten. And how would the public respond to a film without beautiful women, because Kwai merely is about psychological warfare between two officers. Eventually there were a few local actresses dragged in (imagine !) to carry the artillery. Another problem were the actors. No one knew Alec Guinness (indeed Ben Obi-Wan Kenobi from Star Wars) and his opponent Hayakawa was a forgotten star of the Asian silent film-area who did not speak English. Eventually they invented a role for an American: William Holden, who got one million dollars (a record at that time) and could retire the rest of his days in Africa. And then the British army refused to participate because it felt that Hollywood shameless exploited the suffering of British war prisoners during the construction of the Burma Railway (Railway of Death).

But so what? The Bridge Over The River Kwai was one of the greatest war classics ever, although there is little fighting in it. Unlike today's cinema, all is slowly filmed in this epic and the eye can quietly admire the majestic landscapes (in CinemaScope, of course!). And no, we haven’t forgotten the chorus of Colonel Bogey!

You should see The Bridge over the River Kwai at least once in your life and even more than that!

Didier BECU
15/01/2015


NL

 

The Bridge On The River Kwai is een klassieker die niet stuk te krijgen is; een titel die steevast opduikt in de gevreesde conservatieve lijstjes van critici die graag met de beste films pochen. En toch, wat je er ook mag van denken, moet je dit epos van David Lean toch minstens één keer in je leven hebben gezien.

De film duurt bijna drie uur en al bij al gebeurt er bitter weinig, ofschoon er geen moment sprake is van verveling. Dat heeft natuurlijk alles te maken met het cinematografisch genie van David Lean, die met dit fictieve oorlogsverhaal Engeland definitief vaarwel zegde. Het was de film die er voor zorgde dat hij vijf jaar later Lawrence Of Arabia kon maken, volgens velen de beste film aller tijden. Ook al sleepte The Bridge On The River Kwai zeven Oscars binnen, toch was het begin allesbehalve gemakkelijk. Het verhaal dat gebaseerd is op het Franse boek Le Pont de la Rivière Kwaï van Pierre Boulle, was volgens Sam Spiegel inderdaad de natte droom van iedere Hollywoodproducent, toch vond Lean niks aan het script en stond hij erop dat het volledig werd herschreven En hoe zou het publiek reageren op een film zonder vrouwelijk schoon, want eigenlijk draait het louter om een psychologische oorlog tussen twee oorlogsofficieren? Uiteindelijk werden er een paar lokale actrices bij gesleept die (stel je voor!) de artilleriestukken mochten helpen dragen. Een ander probleem vormden de acteurs. Geen kat had ooit van Alec Guiness (Ben Obi-Wan Kenobi uit Star Wars dus) gehoord en zijn tegenspeler Sessue Hayakawa was niet meer dan een vergeten ster uit de Aziatische stomme film, die geen woord Engels sprak. Uiteindelijk bedacht men een rol voor een Amerikaan waardoor William Holden een miljoen dollar (een record toen) kreeg en de rest van zijn dagen in Afrika kon rentenieren. En dan was er nog het Britse leger dat weigerde om mee te werken omdat het vond dat Hollywood schaamteloos munt sloeg uit het lijden van de Britse krijgsgevangen die werden ingezet bij het bouwen van de Birmaspoorweg (de spoorweg des doods).

Zorgen om niets, want The Bridge Over The River Kwai werd één van de grootste oorlogsklassiekers die ooit is gedraaid ofschoon er maar weinig in gevochten wordt. In tegenstelling tot de huidige cinema is alles in dit epos ontzettend traag gefilmd waardoor het oog de tijd krijgt om de majestueuze landschappen (in Cinemascope natuurlijk!) te bewonderen. En neen, we zijn het refreintje van Colonolel Bogey (in Vlaanderen overbekend als de klassieker “Charel, ik heb uw gat gezien”) helemaal niet vergeten!

The Bridge Over The River Kwai moet je eenmaal zien in je leven en zelfs meer dan dat!

 

Didier BECU
15/01/2015


15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai 15/01/2015 : DAVID LEAN - The Bridge On The River Kwai

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation