tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

07/12/2012 : DAVID LYNCH - Eraserhead

DAVID LYNCH

Eraserhead

MovieCult movies


[84/100]   
07/12/2012, Didier BECU

EN

It's a nightmare for every reviewer to write something about David Lynch. The man is for sure a genius and one of the most remarkable persons in filmhistory, but still it's kind of impossible to write down what's going on. Everybody loved Lost Highway or the excellent Twin Peaks, but no one knew what it was all about and some say that even Lynch doesn't know it himself.

If you don't count his short movies The Amputee or The Grandmother, Eraserhead is Lynch first movie. This movie is being made during the years he was a student at the American Film Institute and the hardest part was to find money to complete the movie. It eventually lasted five years before it got screened in Los Angeles. Not that this was a succes as the legend says that back then only 25 people in the movietheatre were around. But still, there were moviefans who saw the genius in it. Especially Ben Barenholtz who made it possible that the film was on the screen for almost a year in San Francisco.

The big boom came when the videotape made its entrance on the filmmarket. In 1980 David Lynch was the beloved darling from the alternative press as he convinced them with The Elephant Man. Lots of filmfans were curious to know what his previous work was like and so lots of videocopies got sold these days.

Just like most of his movies, Eraserhead deals about deformed people. The weird Henry Spencer (Jack Nance) is in love with his girl Mary X (Charlotte Stewart) who invites him for a dinerparty at her parents. Henry is informed that Mary is pregnant and therefore the two need to get married. Once Mary gaves birth, she notes that "the child" is an awful monster. Believe us, words fail us to describe how it looks like, but it's one of the most shocking creatures ever filmed!

It wasn't that easy to get hold of a copy of this cultmovie but Filmfreaks have released in the Benelux this gem on both dvd and Blu-ray. The transfer is more than excellent as this is the restored version (in high definition) that is made by Lynch himself. There's also an interview from 90 minutes included.

The big star is without any doubt the photography from Lynch that has influenced many others, just look at Hurt by Nine Inch Nails for instance.

Didier BECU
07/12/2012


NL

De grootste nachtmerrie van iedere recensent is zonder twijfel het bespreken van een David Lynch-film. Iedereen is ervan overtuigd dat de Amerikaan een genie is, toch begreep niemand waar Lost Highway of de alom bejubelde televisiereeks Twin Peaks over ging. Kwatongen beweren wel eens dat Lynch het zelf niet eens weet. Wat ook de waarheid mag zijn, toch heeft Lynch een onuitwisbare stempel op de filmgeschiedenis gedrukt die vaak is geïmiteerd, maar zelden (of zelfs nooit) is geëvenaard.

Als je enkele kortfilms zoals The Amputee of The Grandmother niet meerekent dan is Eraserhead de eerste film van Lynch. De productie van de film duurde meer dan vijf jaar en het zag er naar uit dat de film nooit beëindigd zou worden, het budget was immers immens klein. Eraserhead werd gefilmd tijdens Lynchs studiejaren op het American Film Institute en mede door de financiële hulp van Jack Fisk en zijn vrouw Sissy Spacek kon de film in Los Angeles in 1977 in première gaan. Niet dat het een succes was, want de legende zegt dat er in de zaal welgeteld 25 mensen aanwezig waren. De meeste filmcritici boorden het debuut de grond in, maar sommige filmliefhebbers voelden zich wel aangesproken tot de bizarre stijl van Lynch. Sommige cinefielen vergeleken zijn werk met dat van Luis Buñuel (bekend van zijn collaboraties met Salvador Dali) en het was vooral Ben Barenholtz van Libra Films International die steevast in Lynchs talenten geloofde. Dankzij hem stond de film bijna een jaar lang op de bioscoopaffiche in San Francisco. De echte boom kwam echter door de komst van de videotapes. Met The Elephant Man was Lynch in 1980 de lieveling van de cinefiel geworden en talrijke filmfans wilden Eraserhead zien.

Jaren later wordt Eraserhead beschouwd als één van 's werelds meest interessante cultfilms. Het is nooit eenvoudig geweest om een dvd-kopietje van dit meesterwerk te vinden, maar nu is daar verandering in gebracht. In de Benelux heeft Filmfreaks deze klassieker zowel op dvd als Blu-ray uitgebracht. Meer zelfs, de versie die je op dit schijfje terugvindt is een volledig gerestaureerde versie.

Zoals de meeste van zijn films handelt ook Eraserhead over mismaakte mensen. De wereldvreemde Henry Spencer (Jack Nance) is verliefd op Mary X (Charlotte Stewart). Het meisje nodigt de vreemde snuiter uit voor een etentje bij haar ouders. Daar komt hij te weten dat hij zijn vriendinnetje heeft zwanger gemaakt en dat hij maar beter kan trouwen. Eens Mary is bevallen, lijkt de boorling een afgrijselijk monster te zijn. Je moet de beelden zien om te geloven, maar je kan er gif op innemen dat het monstertje één van de verschrikkelijkste creaturen uit de filmgeschiedenis is.

De ster van de film is zonder twijfel de briljante fotografie van Lynch die het voorbeeld werd voor talrijke andere cineasten (een mooi voorbeeld hiervan is zonder meer de videoclip Hurt van Nine Inch Nails). De wit-zwartbeelden zijn shot per shot prachtig. En wie er maar niet genoeg kan van krijgen, kan zich een anderhalf uur zoet houden met een interview met de grootmeester waarin hij de fans heel wat weetjes vertelt.

Didier BECU
07/12/2012


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel