tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up

DAVID MACKENZIE

Starred Up

Movie
CrimeDrama

[78/100]   

Homescreen
30/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We surely don’t wish it ever happens, but if you end up in a British jail and you hear that someone has been starred up, that means that he has been transferred from the youth prison to the adult section just because he was too violent to deal with.

This happens to the 19-year old Eric Love (Jack O'Connell), a brute you better don’t meet in the street. The young convict only understands the language of violence. Immediately after he arrives in the Glasgewian prison he sets his rules. He’s feared by guards, and when Eric freaks out, you can be sure that there will be blood on the floor! In the same building also resides his dad (Ben Mendelsohn), who informs him that he can always count on him if things turn bad because in jail no one behaves like a pussy. Despite his aggression, social worker Rupert Friend Oliver (Rupert Friend) believes there is hope for Eric.

Indeed, this insane story looks like it’s been penned down for another Sylvester Stallone action flick, but the script is written by Jonathan Asser who worked twelve years in prison himself and was inspired by true events. Director David Mackenzie who previously made Young Adam has come up with a brutal prison drama that at the end turns out a bit too mellow. You soon forget thatas the movie is saved by the excellent performance of Jack O'Connell. Mackenzie proceeded as if Starred Up was a documentary; he never chooses sides: the viewer is put between walls to make up his own mind. The young crook is in fact a criminal thug from whom you know that he has no future left. Our humanity requires us to give such people another chance, while the guards are just doing their job.

 Starred Up is now out via Homescreen on DVD.

 Technical specifications:

Cast: Jack O' Conell Ben Mendelsohn Rupert Friend
Director: David Mackenzie
Genre: Drama
Length: 106 minutes
Country: UK 2013

 

Didier BECU
30/10/2014


NL

We wensen het onze lezers niet toe, maar mocht je ooit in een Britse nor terechtkomen en je hoort dat iemand “starred up” is dan betekent dit dat het om een bajesklant uit de jeugdgevangenis gaat die zo gewelddadig is dat men hem gemakshalve naar een strafinrichting voor volwassenen heeft gestuurd.

Deze twijfelachtige eer overkomt de negentienjarige Eric Love (Jack O'Connell): een bruut wiens pad je maar beter niet kruist. De gedetineerde kent alleen maar de taal van de vuisten en meteen bij zijn aankomst laat hij verstaan dat je hem maar beter laat begaan. Eric is de schrik van de cipiers. Als de jonge kerel zijn kuren krijgt, mag je er zeker van zijn dat er rake, pijnlijke klappen vallen. De appel valt niet ver van de boom, want in diezelfde gevangenis zit ook zijn vader (Ben Mendelsohn) die zijn zoon de raad heeft om zich niet te laten kleineren. Ondanks zijn agressie is de maatschappelijke werker Rupert Friend Oliver (Rupert Friend) ervan overtuigd dat er hoop is voor Eric.

Het verhaal lijkt wel op een ontspoord Hollywoodscenario die men voor Sylvester Stallone heeft bedacht, maar is wel degelijk door Jonathan Asser geschreven die zelf twaalf jaar in de gevangenis werkte en zich liet inspireren door zijn ervaringen. Regisseur David Mackenzie die eerder in de kijker liep met Young Adam heeft een keihard gevangenisdrama gemaakt dat op het einde net iets te melig wordt, maar wordt gered door de uitmuntende vertolking van Jack O'Connell. Mackenzie filmt alles vanuit een stijl die bijna op een documentaire lijkt zonder partij te kiezen. De jonge misdadiger is een stuk uitschot waarmee je niks kan aanrichten, maar onze menselijkheid verplicht er ons toe om zo’n iemand alsnog een kans te gunnen, terwijl de cipiers ook maar hun job uitoefenen. Stof voor discussie dus!

 Starred Up is vanaf nu uit op Homescreen via DVD.

 Technische specificaties:

Cast: Jack O' Conell Ben Mendelsohn Rupert Friend
Regie: David Mackenzie
Genre: Drama
Lengte: 106 min.
Herkomst: Groot Brittannië 2013

Didier BECU
30/10/2014


30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up 30/10/2014 : DAVID MACKENZIE - Starred Up

 

Next reviews
LOST ELEGY • Watch Yer Back / Heavy Rain
JONAS GOVAERTS • Welp
THE FORCE DIMENSION • THE BIM FILES: The Force Dimension
LUCIO FULCI • The New York Ripper
MENTALLO & THE FIXER • Zothera
PETER HOOK • Unknown Pleasures
ALEXANDER PAYNE • The Descendants
NORTH ATLANTIC OSCILLATION • The Third Day
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • Immigrants
ROB VAN EYCK • The Afterman

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
GEORGE SLUIZER • Spoorloos
• THE MISSING
PIETER VAN HEES • Waste Land
JOSEPHN HAHN • Mall
ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV • Leviathan
ATOM EGOYAN • The Captive (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
MARTIN WEISZ • Squatters
SEAN ELLIS • Metro Manila

 

Same genre: CRIME
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
MICHAEL MANN • Blackhat

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)