tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy

DAVID MOREAU

It Boy

Movie
Romantic

[65/100]   

Remain In Light
12/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Agreed, don’t ask us why, but French movies always have that little bit more. When noticing that It Boy was described by some connoisseurs (what’s in a name!) as the French answer to Bridget Jones’ Diary, I lost courage. But once again it seems just another useless promotional trick as the only thing those two movies have in common is: love.


Alice Lantins (Virginie Efira) is a 36-year old woman who has everything in life. She seems to become the new chief editor from the hip fashion magazine Rebel. During a flight from Brazil to France, some things happen though. Due to the turbulence she literally falls into the arms of the 20 years younger Balthazar Apfel (Pierre Niney). Alice isn’t blind for his presence, bur for her he’s nothing but a toy. The young heartbreaker thinks there’s more. When she accidentally (who knows?) forgets her USB-stick, Balthazar wants to find our where his newest flame resides. And yes, you can rest the guess, but even if it takes a while: the two form a couple….


Hmmm, doesn’t sound that a bit like Bridget Jones’ Diary after all? Maybe, but director David Moreau (who therefore only made horror flicks like Them and the Jessica Alba-vehicle The Eye) has packed this nonsense in such a fresh way that it becomes kind of irresistible. According to Variety there might be plans that this comedy will be the victim of another US-remake. Without having seeing the result, we’re almost sure that it’ll be as awful as LOL.

No, you surely can live without having seen It Boy, but your life won’t get bored as well by putting this picture into your DVD-player.


It Boy is now out on DVD on Filmfreaks.

 

Didier BECU
12/03/2014

)

NL

Toegegeven, om de een of andere reden hebben bij ons Franse films steeds een streepje voor, maar toen ik zag dat menig filmkenner (what’s in a name!) deze film als het Franse antwoord op Bridget Jones’ Diary zag, zonk de moed toch in mijn schoenen. Gelukkig bleek dat maar gedeeltelijk waar, het enige wat deze Franse hit met het Hugh Grant-vehikel bindt is dat het in beide films om liefde gaat.


Alice Lantins (Virginie Efira) is een 36-jarige vrouw die alles heeft. Alles ziet er naar uit dat zij de hoofdredacteur van het hippe modeblad Rebel zal worden, maar tijdens een vlucht van Brazilië naar Frankrijk loopt één en ander fout. Door de turbulentie valt zij letterlijk in de armen van de 20 jaar jongere Balthazar Apfel (Pierre Niney). Alice heeft wel oog voor de knappe Balthazar, maar het is duidelijk dat hij voor haar slechts een speeltje is. De jonge hartenbreker denkt evenwel dat er meer aan de hand is. Als Alice toevallig (nou ja) haar USB-stick tijdens haar vlucht vergeet, probeert Balthazar uit te vissen waar de knappe Alice woont, en jawel: de twee worden (na een tijdje weliswaar) een koppel...


Klinkt dat dan toch niet een beetje zoals Bridget Jones’ Diary? Tja, toch heeft regisseur David Moreau (die bizar genoeg daarvoor alleen maar horrorfilms als Them en het Jessica Alba-gedrocht The Eye heeft gedraaid) deze onzin op zo’n frisse (zeg maar Franse!) wijze verpakt dat deze komedie bijna onweerstaanbaar wordt. Volgens vakblad Variety worden er nu in Hollywood al plannen gesmeed om deze Franse hitfilm van een remake te voorzien. Zonder dat we het resultaat hebben gezien, durven we er nu al gif op innemen dat het zo’n miskleun als de Amerikaanse LOL zal worden.


Neen, je kan gerust verder leven zonder It Boy te hebben gezien. Anderzijds zal je bestaan er ook niet saaier op worden door deze prent in je dvd-lader te gooien.


It Boy is nu uit op dvd via Filmfreaks.

 

Didier BECU
12/03/2014

)

12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design