tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy

DAVID MOREAU

It Boy

Movie
Romantic

[65/100]   

Remain In Light
12/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Agreed, don’t ask us why, but French movies always have that little bit more. When noticing that It Boy was described by some connoisseurs (what’s in a name!) as the French answer to Bridget Jones’ Diary, I lost courage. But once again it seems just another useless promotional trick as the only thing those two movies have in common is: love.


Alice Lantins (Virginie Efira) is a 36-year old woman who has everything in life. She seems to become the new chief editor from the hip fashion magazine Rebel. During a flight from Brazil to France, some things happen though. Due to the turbulence she literally falls into the arms of the 20 years younger Balthazar Apfel (Pierre Niney). Alice isn’t blind for his presence, bur for her he’s nothing but a toy. The young heartbreaker thinks there’s more. When she accidentally (who knows?) forgets her USB-stick, Balthazar wants to find our where his newest flame resides. And yes, you can rest the guess, but even if it takes a while: the two form a couple….


Hmmm, doesn’t sound that a bit like Bridget Jones’ Diary after all? Maybe, but director David Moreau (who therefore only made horror flicks like Them and the Jessica Alba-vehicle The Eye) has packed this nonsense in such a fresh way that it becomes kind of irresistible. According to Variety there might be plans that this comedy will be the victim of another US-remake. Without having seeing the result, we’re almost sure that it’ll be as awful as LOL.

No, you surely can live without having seen It Boy, but your life won’t get bored as well by putting this picture into your DVD-player.


It Boy is now out on DVD on Filmfreaks.

 

Didier BECU
12/03/2014

)

NL

Toegegeven, om de een of andere reden hebben bij ons Franse films steeds een streepje voor, maar toen ik zag dat menig filmkenner (what’s in a name!) deze film als het Franse antwoord op Bridget Jones’ Diary zag, zonk de moed toch in mijn schoenen. Gelukkig bleek dat maar gedeeltelijk waar, het enige wat deze Franse hit met het Hugh Grant-vehikel bindt is dat het in beide films om liefde gaat.


Alice Lantins (Virginie Efira) is een 36-jarige vrouw die alles heeft. Alles ziet er naar uit dat zij de hoofdredacteur van het hippe modeblad Rebel zal worden, maar tijdens een vlucht van Brazilië naar Frankrijk loopt één en ander fout. Door de turbulentie valt zij letterlijk in de armen van de 20 jaar jongere Balthazar Apfel (Pierre Niney). Alice heeft wel oog voor de knappe Balthazar, maar het is duidelijk dat hij voor haar slechts een speeltje is. De jonge hartenbreker denkt evenwel dat er meer aan de hand is. Als Alice toevallig (nou ja) haar USB-stick tijdens haar vlucht vergeet, probeert Balthazar uit te vissen waar de knappe Alice woont, en jawel: de twee worden (na een tijdje weliswaar) een koppel...


Klinkt dat dan toch niet een beetje zoals Bridget Jones’ Diary? Tja, toch heeft regisseur David Moreau (die bizar genoeg daarvoor alleen maar horrorfilms als Them en het Jessica Alba-gedrocht The Eye heeft gedraaid) deze onzin op zo’n frisse (zeg maar Franse!) wijze verpakt dat deze komedie bijna onweerstaanbaar wordt. Volgens vakblad Variety worden er nu in Hollywood al plannen gesmeed om deze Franse hitfilm van een remake te voorzien. Zonder dat we het resultaat hebben gezien, durven we er nu al gif op innemen dat het zo’n miskleun als de Amerikaanse LOL zal worden.


Neen, je kan gerust verder leven zonder It Boy te hebben gezien. Anderzijds zal je bestaan er ook niet saaier op worden door deze prent in je dvd-lader te gooien.


It Boy is nu uit op dvd via Filmfreaks.

 

Didier BECU
12/03/2014

)

12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears