tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy

DAVID MOREAU

It Boy

Movie
Romantic

[65/100]   

Remain In Light
12/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Agreed, don’t ask us why, but French movies always have that little bit more. When noticing that It Boy was described by some connoisseurs (what’s in a name!) as the French answer to Bridget Jones’ Diary, I lost courage. But once again it seems just another useless promotional trick as the only thing those two movies have in common is: love.


Alice Lantins (Virginie Efira) is a 36-year old woman who has everything in life. She seems to become the new chief editor from the hip fashion magazine Rebel. During a flight from Brazil to France, some things happen though. Due to the turbulence she literally falls into the arms of the 20 years younger Balthazar Apfel (Pierre Niney). Alice isn’t blind for his presence, bur for her he’s nothing but a toy. The young heartbreaker thinks there’s more. When she accidentally (who knows?) forgets her USB-stick, Balthazar wants to find our where his newest flame resides. And yes, you can rest the guess, but even if it takes a while: the two form a couple….


Hmmm, doesn’t sound that a bit like Bridget Jones’ Diary after all? Maybe, but director David Moreau (who therefore only made horror flicks like Them and the Jessica Alba-vehicle The Eye) has packed this nonsense in such a fresh way that it becomes kind of irresistible. According to Variety there might be plans that this comedy will be the victim of another US-remake. Without having seeing the result, we’re almost sure that it’ll be as awful as LOL.

No, you surely can live without having seen It Boy, but your life won’t get bored as well by putting this picture into your DVD-player.


It Boy is now out on DVD on Filmfreaks.

 

Didier BECU
12/03/2014

)

NL

Toegegeven, om de een of andere reden hebben bij ons Franse films steeds een streepje voor, maar toen ik zag dat menig filmkenner (what’s in a name!) deze film als het Franse antwoord op Bridget Jones’ Diary zag, zonk de moed toch in mijn schoenen. Gelukkig bleek dat maar gedeeltelijk waar, het enige wat deze Franse hit met het Hugh Grant-vehikel bindt is dat het in beide films om liefde gaat.


Alice Lantins (Virginie Efira) is een 36-jarige vrouw die alles heeft. Alles ziet er naar uit dat zij de hoofdredacteur van het hippe modeblad Rebel zal worden, maar tijdens een vlucht van Brazilië naar Frankrijk loopt één en ander fout. Door de turbulentie valt zij letterlijk in de armen van de 20 jaar jongere Balthazar Apfel (Pierre Niney). Alice heeft wel oog voor de knappe Balthazar, maar het is duidelijk dat hij voor haar slechts een speeltje is. De jonge hartenbreker denkt evenwel dat er meer aan de hand is. Als Alice toevallig (nou ja) haar USB-stick tijdens haar vlucht vergeet, probeert Balthazar uit te vissen waar de knappe Alice woont, en jawel: de twee worden (na een tijdje weliswaar) een koppel...


Klinkt dat dan toch niet een beetje zoals Bridget Jones’ Diary? Tja, toch heeft regisseur David Moreau (die bizar genoeg daarvoor alleen maar horrorfilms als Them en het Jessica Alba-gedrocht The Eye heeft gedraaid) deze onzin op zo’n frisse (zeg maar Franse!) wijze verpakt dat deze komedie bijna onweerstaanbaar wordt. Volgens vakblad Variety worden er nu in Hollywood al plannen gesmeed om deze Franse hitfilm van een remake te voorzien. Zonder dat we het resultaat hebben gezien, durven we er nu al gif op innemen dat het zo’n miskleun als de Amerikaanse LOL zal worden.


Neen, je kan gerust verder leven zonder It Boy te hebben gezien. Anderzijds zal je bestaan er ook niet saaier op worden door deze prent in je dvd-lader te gooien.


It Boy is nu uit op dvd via Filmfreaks.

 

Didier BECU
12/03/2014

)

12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy 12/03/2014 : DAVID MOREAU - It Boy

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked