tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/07/2011 : DAVOS - Tender Loving Care EP

DAVOS

Tender Loving Care EP

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[65/100]   
31/07/2011, Peter DOLPHEN

EN

dAVOS is a typical synthpop band which can easily be compared with similar bands in the genre like De/Vision for example. Unlike the fact that synthpop, for me, is a genre which I like a lot, the band does not seem to be able to surprise in any way. The tracks are good, but not superb... The lyrics are (as is often the case) about love and relationships...

This EP should be a warm-up for the forthcoming album "I Could Sense A Tragedy", but it cannot really move me to reach out for this new release... I miss some freshness, something that makes them sound 'different'. Somewhere along the road, the band is stuck, repeating their influences (Duran Duran, A-Ha,...), without showing what they have learned from them.

Only 1 highlight on this album for me: the remix by Andy Kruger (Melotron), who gives the track that extra twist that it needs. But hey, let's not be negative: all in all, this EP does not sound bad! If you are into synthpop, the album can be a nice add to your collection...

Peter DOLPHEN
31/07/2011


NL

dAVOS is een typische synthpopband die eenvoudig kan vergeleken worden met gelijkaardige bands binnen het genre zoals bijvoorbeeld De/Vision. Maar hoewel synthpop voor mij persoonlijk een fijn genre is, kan de band me niet overtuigen of verrassen. De nummers zijn goed, maar niet super. En de teksten gaan (zoals zovaak) over liefde en relaties.

Deze EP zou ons warm moeten maken voor hun volgende album 'I could sense a tragedy', maar het kan mij niet echt doen uitkijken naar die release. Ik mis enige frisheid, iets dat hen eruit doet springen, 'anders' doet klinken. Ergens onderweg is de band blijven hangen bij het herhalen van hun idolen (Duran Duran, A-Ha,...), zonder echt te tonen wat ze ervan geleerd hebben.

Slechts één highlight op dit album: de remix door Andy Kruger (Melotron), die de titeltrack net dat ietsje meer geeft. Maar hé, laat ons niet negatief klinken over de hele lijn: al bij al is dit geen slecht album! Als je van synthpop houdt kan dit een mooie aanwinst zijn voor je collectie!

 

Peter DOLPHEN
31/07/2011


Music reviews

30
09
THE DEMON RIND
Lonely This Evening
29
09
ALSO
Live in Celovec
27
09
JOSH WERNER
Mode For Titan
26
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Idiorhythmic
25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
09
A CERTAIN RATIO are back with a new album, ACR Loco!
25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing
19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
10
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure
30
09
LOLA DUTRONIC
My Name is Lola
29
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love
28
09
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Slow Down
27
09
A CERTAIN RATIO
Always In Love
26
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia