tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/01/2016 : DAWN OF OBLIVION - Phoenix Rising

DAWN OF OBLIVION

Phoenix Rising

MusicCD
Goth MetalGothic Rock
Resurrection Records
27/01/2016, Didier BECU

The Swedish goth metal act Dawn Of Oblivion exists almost 25 years. Without exaggeration you can say that Phoenix Rising is the icing on the cake. Their fifth album is recorded in the famous SafeHouse Production studio of James Murphy (Testament, Orbituary and Death). It is their most varied and best album to date. It also is a special CD, because after numerous personal tragedies and all sorts of changes within the band, this record is one with the original line-up (hence the title).

Demons Of The Cross is a bombastic start. The goth guitars are catchy and fans of Love Like Blood surely will like it, especially with the addition of the delightful keyboards!

Dawn Of Oblivion is a band with a diverse sound, that is proved on Anubis. If Killing Joke would record a goth metal song once, it definitely would sound like this. The guitars glide over the song in a lovely way, and although we will be the last to say that it is an original sound, it sounds damn good!

In Catherine Wheel there is a lot of melancholy, The Black Pilgrim has again something theatrical. The Pathfinder has a superb soundscape of guitars, complemented with a wistful voice. The best track on this album is undoubtedly Within The Realms Of The King Of Amur. On Path To Gehenna the melancholic synths are perfectly linked to the fast guitars. Years possesses all the ingredients a goth rock anthem must have, Fields Of The Nephilim is never far away.

During 25 years Dawn Of Oblivion floated between goth rock and goth metal. For people who love to put music in a category, this is not an easy band to deal with. Never mind, Phoenix Rising is a very strong album!

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?