tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/01/2016 : DAWN OF OBLIVION - Phoenix Rising

DAWN OF OBLIVION

Phoenix Rising

MusicCD
Goth MetalGothic Rock
Resurrection Records
27/01/2016, Didier BECU

The Swedish goth metal act Dawn Of Oblivion exists almost 25 years. Without exaggeration you can say that Phoenix Rising is the icing on the cake. Their fifth album is recorded in the famous SafeHouse Production studio of James Murphy (Testament, Orbituary and Death). It is their most varied and best album to date. It also is a special CD, because after numerous personal tragedies and all sorts of changes within the band, this record is one with the original line-up (hence the title).

Demons Of The Cross is a bombastic start. The goth guitars are catchy and fans of Love Like Blood surely will like it, especially with the addition of the delightful keyboards!

Dawn Of Oblivion is a band with a diverse sound, that is proved on Anubis. If Killing Joke would record a goth metal song once, it definitely would sound like this. The guitars glide over the song in a lovely way, and although we will be the last to say that it is an original sound, it sounds damn good!

In Catherine Wheel there is a lot of melancholy, The Black Pilgrim has again something theatrical. The Pathfinder has a superb soundscape of guitars, complemented with a wistful voice. The best track on this album is undoubtedly Within The Realms Of The King Of Amur. On Path To Gehenna the melancholic synths are perfectly linked to the fast guitars. Years possesses all the ingredients a goth rock anthem must have, Fields Of The Nephilim is never far away.

During 25 years Dawn Of Oblivion floated between goth rock and goth metal. For people who love to put music in a category, this is not an easy band to deal with. Never mind, Phoenix Rising is a very strong album!

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life