tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

13/06/2011 : DAYBED - NEWCLEAR WAVES | VIOLENCE CONJUGALE | ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011 | The kingdom of analogue synths

DAYBED

NEWCLEAR WAVES

VIOLENCE CONJUGALE

ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011

The kingdom of analogue synths

Concert


[3/100]
13/06/2011, Didier BECU

Who could have thought it that we would ever write this down in 2011? But really, yesterday we left the Antwerp-based venue with a big smile, as we couldn’t escape the feeling that the underground here in Belgium is on its way to a peak.

Despite the heavy concurrency from Wave & Gothik Treffen and the concert by Babel 17 in Mons, this venue was almost packed and this for three bands who have releases out in quite limited amounts, not mentioning the fact that they're obscure.

Anyway, experts always say that the best way of advertising is still the old traditional word of mouth and those who say Walhalla Records, say music with quality.

Some weeks after the highly acclaimed gig by both Somnambulist and Sudeten Creche, organisators Kris and Lieven put up some mini festival, featuring some other minimal synths bands. One from the past and two that are made for the future.

First band on was the French duo Violence Conjugale.

André Gosselin and Hans Jemappes have already been around since the early 80’s and after three decades they still believe in the power of the tape. Not only do you see a casetteplayer on stage, but afterwards you could buy an old K7.

Before they started, Kris and Lieven were forced to do some dancing and yes: we definitely want a sequel of that!

The set that followed could have come straight out of 1981. Cheap synths that are used as a weapon of anarchy, by times it was like a cheap electronic version from Berurier Noir. You can say they were like Pavillon 7B, even that they were like Guerre Froide but even if it was far from being perfect it was DIY-punk that mattered.

The next guest was a very special guest as Newclear Waves features the man who gives the minimal synthscene these days, a real injection, we’re talking about Alessandro from the mighty Mannequin Records.

Together with Oksana Xiu these two put the audience in trance with their analogue synths. Two people behind some electronic equipment is most of the times a boring scene to watch but in the case of these we just got melted away by their synthsounds.

You want names? You don’t get them as since yesterday I will compare Newclear Waves only with Newclear Waves, simply as they’re brilliant.

Another label that is on the forefront of this revolution is without any doubt Genetic Music and one of the bands that are on this mighty German label are Daybed.

This duo consists of Carla and Tim and even if it wasn’t the easiest of things to go on stage after Newclear Waves blew away the audience, we got a very nice set from a band who isn’t perhaps the most vivid of ones we ever watched but their sound was one that made us say : thank God it’s 2011 and that we’re part of the mighty underground.

Nice poppy analogue synths accompanied by female vocals. Yeah, for some it sounds as a dream and I guess I'm among them.

You started a fuzz, Lieven and Kris, by spoiling us with the minimal synth gems getting on some Belgian stage. What’s next?

Didier BECU
13/06/2011


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna