tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

13/06/2011 : DAYBED - NEWCLEAR WAVES | VIOLENCE CONJUGALE | ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011 | The kingdom of analogue synths

DAYBED

NEWCLEAR WAVES

VIOLENCE CONJUGALE

ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011

The kingdom of analogue synths

Concert


[3/100]
13/06/2011, Didier BECU

Who could have thought it that we would ever write this down in 2011? But really, yesterday we left the Antwerp-based venue with a big smile, as we couldn’t escape the feeling that the underground here in Belgium is on its way to a peak.

Despite the heavy concurrency from Wave & Gothik Treffen and the concert by Babel 17 in Mons, this venue was almost packed and this for three bands who have releases out in quite limited amounts, not mentioning the fact that they're obscure.

Anyway, experts always say that the best way of advertising is still the old traditional word of mouth and those who say Walhalla Records, say music with quality.

Some weeks after the highly acclaimed gig by both Somnambulist and Sudeten Creche, organisators Kris and Lieven put up some mini festival, featuring some other minimal synths bands. One from the past and two that are made for the future.

First band on was the French duo Violence Conjugale.

André Gosselin and Hans Jemappes have already been around since the early 80’s and after three decades they still believe in the power of the tape. Not only do you see a casetteplayer on stage, but afterwards you could buy an old K7.

Before they started, Kris and Lieven were forced to do some dancing and yes: we definitely want a sequel of that!

The set that followed could have come straight out of 1981. Cheap synths that are used as a weapon of anarchy, by times it was like a cheap electronic version from Berurier Noir. You can say they were like Pavillon 7B, even that they were like Guerre Froide but even if it was far from being perfect it was DIY-punk that mattered.

The next guest was a very special guest as Newclear Waves features the man who gives the minimal synthscene these days, a real injection, we’re talking about Alessandro from the mighty Mannequin Records.

Together with Oksana Xiu these two put the audience in trance with their analogue synths. Two people behind some electronic equipment is most of the times a boring scene to watch but in the case of these we just got melted away by their synthsounds.

You want names? You don’t get them as since yesterday I will compare Newclear Waves only with Newclear Waves, simply as they’re brilliant.

Another label that is on the forefront of this revolution is without any doubt Genetic Music and one of the bands that are on this mighty German label are Daybed.

This duo consists of Carla and Tim and even if it wasn’t the easiest of things to go on stage after Newclear Waves blew away the audience, we got a very nice set from a band who isn’t perhaps the most vivid of ones we ever watched but their sound was one that made us say : thank God it’s 2011 and that we’re part of the mighty underground.

Nice poppy analogue synths accompanied by female vocals. Yeah, for some it sounds as a dream and I guess I'm among them.

You started a fuzz, Lieven and Kris, by spoiling us with the minimal synth gems getting on some Belgian stage. What’s next?

Didier BECU
13/06/2011


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise