tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

13/06/2011 : DAYBED - NEWCLEAR WAVES | VIOLENCE CONJUGALE | ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011 | The kingdom of analogue synths

DAYBED

NEWCLEAR WAVES

VIOLENCE CONJUGALE

ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011

The kingdom of analogue synths

Concert


[3/100]
13/06/2011, Didier BECU

Who could have thought it that we would ever write this down in 2011? But really, yesterday we left the Antwerp-based venue with a big smile, as we couldn’t escape the feeling that the underground here in Belgium is on its way to a peak.

Despite the heavy concurrency from Wave & Gothik Treffen and the concert by Babel 17 in Mons, this venue was almost packed and this for three bands who have releases out in quite limited amounts, not mentioning the fact that they're obscure.

Anyway, experts always say that the best way of advertising is still the old traditional word of mouth and those who say Walhalla Records, say music with quality.

Some weeks after the highly acclaimed gig by both Somnambulist and Sudeten Creche, organisators Kris and Lieven put up some mini festival, featuring some other minimal synths bands. One from the past and two that are made for the future.

First band on was the French duo Violence Conjugale.

André Gosselin and Hans Jemappes have already been around since the early 80’s and after three decades they still believe in the power of the tape. Not only do you see a casetteplayer on stage, but afterwards you could buy an old K7.

Before they started, Kris and Lieven were forced to do some dancing and yes: we definitely want a sequel of that!

The set that followed could have come straight out of 1981. Cheap synths that are used as a weapon of anarchy, by times it was like a cheap electronic version from Berurier Noir. You can say they were like Pavillon 7B, even that they were like Guerre Froide but even if it was far from being perfect it was DIY-punk that mattered.

The next guest was a very special guest as Newclear Waves features the man who gives the minimal synthscene these days, a real injection, we’re talking about Alessandro from the mighty Mannequin Records.

Together with Oksana Xiu these two put the audience in trance with their analogue synths. Two people behind some electronic equipment is most of the times a boring scene to watch but in the case of these we just got melted away by their synthsounds.

You want names? You don’t get them as since yesterday I will compare Newclear Waves only with Newclear Waves, simply as they’re brilliant.

Another label that is on the forefront of this revolution is without any doubt Genetic Music and one of the bands that are on this mighty German label are Daybed.

This duo consists of Carla and Tim and even if it wasn’t the easiest of things to go on stage after Newclear Waves blew away the audience, we got a very nice set from a band who isn’t perhaps the most vivid of ones we ever watched but their sound was one that made us say : thank God it’s 2011 and that we’re part of the mighty underground.

Nice poppy analogue synths accompanied by female vocals. Yeah, for some it sounds as a dream and I guess I'm among them.

You started a fuzz, Lieven and Kris, by spoiling us with the minimal synth gems getting on some Belgian stage. What’s next?

Didier BECU
13/06/2011


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
On this day, only one years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60.
22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
23
01
MIREXXX
Death Angel
23
01
YAZOO
Situation
22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born