tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

13/06/2011 : DAYBED - NEWCLEAR WAVES | VIOLENCE CONJUGALE | ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011 | The kingdom of analogue synths

DAYBED

NEWCLEAR WAVES

VIOLENCE CONJUGALE

ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011

The kingdom of analogue synths

Concert


[3/100]
13/06/2011, Didier BECU

Who could have thought it that we would ever write this down in 2011? But really, yesterday we left the Antwerp-based venue with a big smile, as we couldn’t escape the feeling that the underground here in Belgium is on its way to a peak.

Despite the heavy concurrency from Wave & Gothik Treffen and the concert by Babel 17 in Mons, this venue was almost packed and this for three bands who have releases out in quite limited amounts, not mentioning the fact that they're obscure.

Anyway, experts always say that the best way of advertising is still the old traditional word of mouth and those who say Walhalla Records, say music with quality.

Some weeks after the highly acclaimed gig by both Somnambulist and Sudeten Creche, organisators Kris and Lieven put up some mini festival, featuring some other minimal synths bands. One from the past and two that are made for the future.

First band on was the French duo Violence Conjugale.

André Gosselin and Hans Jemappes have already been around since the early 80’s and after three decades they still believe in the power of the tape. Not only do you see a casetteplayer on stage, but afterwards you could buy an old K7.

Before they started, Kris and Lieven were forced to do some dancing and yes: we definitely want a sequel of that!

The set that followed could have come straight out of 1981. Cheap synths that are used as a weapon of anarchy, by times it was like a cheap electronic version from Berurier Noir. You can say they were like Pavillon 7B, even that they were like Guerre Froide but even if it was far from being perfect it was DIY-punk that mattered.

The next guest was a very special guest as Newclear Waves features the man who gives the minimal synthscene these days, a real injection, we’re talking about Alessandro from the mighty Mannequin Records.

Together with Oksana Xiu these two put the audience in trance with their analogue synths. Two people behind some electronic equipment is most of the times a boring scene to watch but in the case of these we just got melted away by their synthsounds.

You want names? You don’t get them as since yesterday I will compare Newclear Waves only with Newclear Waves, simply as they’re brilliant.

Another label that is on the forefront of this revolution is without any doubt Genetic Music and one of the bands that are on this mighty German label are Daybed.

This duo consists of Carla and Tim and even if it wasn’t the easiest of things to go on stage after Newclear Waves blew away the audience, we got a very nice set from a band who isn’t perhaps the most vivid of ones we ever watched but their sound was one that made us say : thank God it’s 2011 and that we’re part of the mighty underground.

Nice poppy analogue synths accompanied by female vocals. Yeah, for some it sounds as a dream and I guess I'm among them.

You started a fuzz, Lieven and Kris, by spoiling us with the minimal synth gems getting on some Belgian stage. What’s next?

Didier BECU
13/06/2011


Music reviews

15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)