tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

20/01/2019 : DEAD HIGH WIRE - Pray for us

DEAD HIGH WIRE

Pray for us

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
GaragerockPost Punk

[84/100]   

Wool-E Discs
20/01/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Imagine that you lock three passionate musicians in a humid cellar. And that you provide them with only drinks, whether fermented or spirituous or not. And that you're so excited that you also start to feed them. And imagine that a masterpiece is in the making. And that after a few weeks you hold an album in your hands...like that... Well Dead High Wire provides such a piece. I don't know how it came so nicely in its roughness. I don't know either how it took this sublime shape. But what I know for sure is that postpunk in Belgium is far from being dead. And that Dead High Wire released a wonderful debut with Pray For Us.

They breathe in postpunk of a higher standard. The beauty for me lies in the fact that it sounds completely unpolished, raw, honest and varied.

Part Of It offers variation between great postpunk with some shoegaze elements and garagerock. At some moments Joy Division seems resurrected, like in Pray For Us that starts with that good typical bass line. With Laurel Canyon a pogo might suddenly explode. We'll put our dark clothes on to disappear in the mist and disconnect from the world for a good 6 minutes.

Parallel World is so heavenly melancholic that you'll keep that feeling for a week. Postpunk of the golden days. As if there will never be again. Hell yeah they just got resurrected! Talk To Strangers is also a song that has some pogo feelings. Punchy, with sharp guitars and killer bass parts.

Sedates Dreams will make you swing in a rollecoaster of postpunk with garagerock fragments. A subdued song.

You have different kinds of debut albums. This is one of the kind you need to have at home. Why? Because it is varied, straight and sticks to the ear. Because there's a talent here to bring exquisite beauty. Because it sounds intense and sincere and it probably is. Pray For Us... so that we can enjoy it for a long time. It is a direct hit all along the line. Dead High Wire, thank you for this great 9-tracks debut.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/01/2019


NL

Stel dat je drie geëngageerde en gedreven muzikanten zou opsluiten in een vochtige kelder. En dat je die voorziet van enkele dranken, al dan niet gegist of gedistilleerd. En dat je zo joviaal bent om hen ook te voederen. En stel dat daar een meesterwerk in wording zou zijn. En dat ze na enkele weken ongegeneerd musiceren een album in je handen zouden duwen.. zomaar... Wel deze Dead High Wire levert zo'n werk. Hoe het zo mooi is kunnen worden in zijn ruwheid, weet ik niet. Waar het deze sublieme vorm kreeg weet ik ook niet. Wat ik wel weet is dat postpunk in België verre van dood is. En dat deze Dead High Wire een geweldig debuut te pakken heeft met Pray For Us.

Ze ademen postpunk van de superiore soort. De schoonheid voor mij bestaat erin dat het allemaal ongepolijst, ruw, eerlijk, rauw en afwisslend klinkt. Niet een zoveelste plaat die door gekunsteldheid wel klinkt, maar niet vol. Deze klinkt meer dan vol. Het ongekunstelde maakt deze schijf tot één van wereldformaat.

De afwisseling tussen geweldige postpunk met een aantal shoagaze-passages, en met garagerock om u tegen te zeggen (Part Of It).Joy Division lijkt in bepaalde passages te herleven. Pray For Us trekt zich op gang met een baslijn die bij voornoemde heel goed te ontwaren is. Om dan die ruwe parels van de gitaar eromheen te winden. Met Laurel Canyon kunnen we een pogo los laten barsten. En dan hullen we ons in donkere gewaden om in de nevel te verdwijnen en ruim 6 minuten van de wereld te verdwijnen in onze eigen dansstonde.

Parallel World is zo hemels melancholisch dat je er week van wordt, ondanks het feit dat de song op zich vrij stevig om zich heen slaat met momenten. Postpunk van de hoogdagen. Alsof die er niet meer zouden zijn. Hell yeah ze zijn net herrezen. Talk To Strangers is nog zo een song met pogo-gehalte. Snedig, met snerpende gitaren, en een moordende baspartij.

Sedates Dreams doet je heupwiegend uitgeleide uit een rollercoaster van postpunk en flarden garagerock. Een ingetogen song.

Je hebt debuutalbums in soorten. Dit is er één van de soort die je in huis moet halen. Waarom? Omdat het gevarieerd, straight on en oerrobuust is. Omdat het een ruwe bolster is die daaruit net zijn uitmuntende schoonheid puurt. Omdat het intens en oprecht klinkt en wellicht ook is. Pray For Us... opdat we er lang van zouden kunnen genieten. Dit is een voltreffer over de gehele lijn. Dead High Wire, u weze bedankt voor dit 9 nummers lange topdebuut.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/01/2019


20/01/2019 : DEAD HIGH WIRE - Pray for us 20/01/2019 : DEAD HIGH WIRE - Pray for us

Music reviews

27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water
19
11
STAATSEINDE
Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
18
11
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 37 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Industrial Bass Act SINTHETIK MESSIAH Addresses Religious Hypocrisy With New Single
01
12
51 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Darkwave Band, TIGERCIDE Brings Chaos & Harmony To Their Single, 'I Of Tiger'
29
11
MIRLAND releases first full album since 2017
28
11
IAMNOONE releases 'Dead Season'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
30
11
DIE WARZAU
Strike To The Body
30
11
PUSCIFER
Grand Canyon
30
11
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
29
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
Control Freak
28
11
PORTION CONTROL
Still (Short-range missive from SEEDEP3)
27
11
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)