tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DEAD SKELELETONS - Live in Berlin

DEAD SKELELETONS

Live in Berlin

MusicCD
11/12/2016

EN

Does it make sense to release live albums of relatively unknown albums? If you only have 20 records in your collection, the answer is probably negative. However, if you choose for the magic of music, then you agree that there can never be too many live recordings. I used to be an avid collector of live recordings and despite the terrible sound quality, this material was often more vital than the records.

This is one by Dead Skeletons. Not exactly a band that will be a familiar name for most readers, but this psychedelic rock trio from Reikjavik has a very loyal following which gave them a place on the renowned Fuzz Club label. Even if the EP’s and the Dead Magick album are classics in the genre, the Icelanders add that little extra on stage.

In one hour, the three come up with psychedelic mesmerizing sounds that takes the form of a ritual and is led by the vocals of Nonni Dead (Jón Sæmundur Auðarson). Sometimes with noisy guitars like in the good old Hawkwind-style, but also melodic so fans of indie and shoegaze can like it too.

Although they never split, it's been a while since the band released something (Jón Sæmundur Auðarson is HIV positive), and this live recording is a great way to discover this band.

Live In Berlin (the cover is a painting by Jón Sæmundur Auðarson) is out on vinyl (300 copies) and CD.


11/12/2016


NL

Heeft het zin om livealbums van relatief onbekende albums uit te brengen? Als je slechts twintig platen in je kast hebt staan dan is het antwoord hierop wellicht negatief. Wie echter voor de magie van muziek kiest, vindt dat er nooit te veel liveopnames kunnen zijn. Zelf was ik een verwoede verzamelaar van live-opnames en ondanks de verschrikkelijke geluidskwaliteit bleek dit materiaal meer vitaal te zijn dan wat je soms op een plaat hoort.

Deze is dus van Dead Skeletons. Niet meteen een band die de meeste lezers zullen kennen, wel heeft dit psychedelische rocktrio uit Reikjavik een zeer trouwe aanhang dat hun op het gerenommeerde Fuzz Club deed belanden. Hoewel de ep’s en het album Dead Magick uitblinkers in het genre zijn, hebben deze IJslanders op een podium net dat tikkeltje meer.

In een tijdspanne van een klein uurtje voeren de drie je maar naar een psychedelisch klanktapijt vol bezwerende geluiden die de vorm van een ritueel heeft en wordt geleid door de aangename zang van Nonni Dead (Jón Sæmundur Auðarson). Soms met lawaaierige gitaren zoals in de goede oude Hawkwind-stijl, maar ook voldoende melodisch om ook liefhebbers van indie en zelfs shoegaze over de streep te kunnen trekken.
Deze opnames van het Berlijnse concert in de befaamde S036 club tijdens 2013 zijn meer dan zo maar de registratie voor zij die er op de Dead Comet Tour bij waren.

Hoewel nooit gesplit, is het al een hele poos sinds de band iets uitbracht (Jón Sæmundur Auðarson is hiv positief), en deze liveregistratie is een ideale manier om deze band alsnog te leren ontdekken.

Live In Berlin (de hoes is een schilderij van Jón Sæmundur Auðarson) is uit op vinyl (300 stuks) en cd.


11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination