tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/11/2015 : DEADFILMSTAR - The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour

DEADFILMSTAR

The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour

MusicCD

Death 2me Records
07/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Once there was a time when the black scene meant something in Britain. Without Leed,s there probably would never be something like the sound of The Sisters Of Mercy, and undoubtedly every goth remembers what impact the London Slimlight club used to have, but unfortunately, today you can count the British goth acts on one hand. They still exist though, only you have to dig deeper to find them.

Deadmoviestar is a good example. This band from Coventry proudly can say that it shared the stage with names like Mortiis, KMFDM, Gothminister, Combichrist and Orgy. The CD (with the impossible name) The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White & The Ill Fated Tour is an ultimate proof that their dark sound grabs you by the throat everny second.

It's hard to describe their music, but perhaps it is somewhere between the aggression of Nine Inch Nails and the anxiety of Mortiis. This CD, that contains both studio and live recordings, never sounds neat. All tracks sound dirty, messy, but that’s just why Deadmoviestar sounds so different. These musicians are not worried about a crystal clear production, they want to make music that strikes you numb, and they succeed brilliantly. Deadmoviestar can be best compared to our own True Zebra. Definitely worth checking out!

Didier BECU
07/11/2015


NL

Ooit was er een tijd dat de zwarte scène nog iets voorstelde in Groot-Brittannië. Zonder Leeds zou wellicht nooit het geluid van The Sisters Of Mercy zijn geboren, en iedere goth herinnert zich zonder twijfel nog welke invloed de Londense Slimelight Club had, maar helaas kan je anno 2015 de Britse gothacts op één hand tellen. Maar ze bestaan nog hoor, alleen moet je extra diep graven omze te vinden.

Deadfilmstar is daar een mooi voorbeeld van. Deze band uit Coventry mag met enige trots zeggen dat hij al het podium deelde met namen als Mortiis, KMFDM, Gothminister, Combichrist en Orgy, De cd (met de onmogelijke naam) The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour is het ultieme bewijs dat hun donker geluid iedere seconde door merg en been gaat.

Het is moeilijk om hun muziek exact te omschrijven, maar wellicht zit ze ergens tussen de agressie van Nine Inch Nails en het angstgevoel dat Mortiis uitstraalt. Deze cd,die zowel uit studio- als liveopnames bestaat, klinkt nooit mooi. Alle tracks klinken vies, rommelig, maar het is net dat wat Deadfilmstar zo aantrekkelijk maakt. Deze muzikanten liggen niet wakker van een glasheldere productie, ze willen muziek maken die je murw slaat en daar slagen ze glansrijk in. Deadfilmstar kan je dan ook met onze eigen True Zebra vergelijken. Beslist het uitchecken waard, dus!

Didier BECU
07/11/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless