tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown

DEAN FRANCIS

Drown

Movie
Gay

[68/100]   

Homescreen
12/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Fans of the genre know it for years, but on our website, we want to focus our attention for a moment on the brilliant gaymovies Homescreen releases on an almost monthly base. You don't even have to be gay to enjoy them, because often these releases are cinematic gems that can please anyone. This genre has in recent years managed to conquer a strong niche in the alternative cinema, and with a bit of promotion, can be fodder for the general public (Blue Is The Warmest Colour ). Drown by Dean Francis is not the equivalent of Abdellatif Kechichs masterpiece, but at least worth your attention.

The film is set on the Sydney coast. Len Smithy (Matt Levett) is just like his father, the lifeguard to whom everyone looks up. His tanned trained body leaves no doubt: the beach is the playground that he controls in an almost macho-like manner. Everything changes when Phil (Jack Matthews) arrives. Along with his best friend Phil Meat (Harry Cook), he wants to show him in a hard way who is the king of the coast. Len is clearly a guy who struggles with himself, especially with his repressed preference for men.

It might look like Baywatch for gays, but Drown is a film that gets under your skin. The problem is that the subject has been showed in countless other films. Nevertheless, Dean Francis managed to complete a very personal work with a high portion of drama, without being too mellow. Although we never have heard of these actors, they seem like they are made for this film. For fans of the better cinema that deals with real life, a tip! Now out on Homescreen.

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


NL

Liefhebbers van het genre weten het natuurlijk al jaren, maar op onze website willen we toch eventjes stilstaan bij de briljante gaymovies die Homescreen bijna maandelijks uitbrengt. Je moet zelfs helemaal geen homo/lesbo zijn om ervan te kunnen genieten, want vaak zijn deze releases gewoonweg cinematografische pareltjes die iedereen moet zien. Dit genre is er de laatste jaren in geslaagd om een vaste stek in de alternatieve cinema te veroveren en dat met wat promotie zelfs het grote publiek kan bereiken (Blue Is The Warmest Colour, bijv.). Drown van Dean Francis is niet de evenknie van Abdellatif Kechichs meesterwerk, maar wel minstens je aandacht waard.

De film speelt zich af aan de kust van Sydney. Len Smithy (Matt Levett) is net als zijn vader een strandwachter naar wie iedereen opkijkt. Zijn gebruinde, getrainde lijf laat er geen twijfels over bestaan: het strand is zijn speelplaats, die hij op een bijna machoachtige wijze controleert. Alles verandert als Phil (Jack Matthews) erbijkomt. Samen met Phils beste vriend Meat (Harry Cook) wil hij op een harde wijze tonen wie de koning van de kust is. Len is duidelijk een kerel die worstelt met zichzelf, vooral met zijn verdrongen voorkeur voor mannen.

Het lijkt misschien wel wat op Baywatch voor homo’s, toch is Drown een film die onder je huid kruipt. De problematiek is natuurlijk al in ontelbare andere films aan bod gekomen, toch slaagt Dean Francis erin om een zeer persoonlijk werk af te leveren waarin een hoge portie drama zit, zonder dat het ooit melig wordt. Ofschoon we nog nooit van deze acteurs hebben gehoord, lijken ze wel te zijn geschapen voor deze film. Vernieuwend is Drown geenszins, wel een film waarover je ten minste nog wat kan napraten (en dan hebben we het voor één keer niet over verblindende special effects).

Voor fans van de betere cinema die over het echte leven gaat, nu uit op Homescreen.

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
0KONTROL
Traitors
18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)