tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown

DEAN FRANCIS

Drown

Movie
Gay

[68/100]   

Homescreen
12/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Fans of the genre know it for years, but on our website, we want to focus our attention for a moment on the brilliant gaymovies Homescreen releases on an almost monthly base. You don't even have to be gay to enjoy them, because often these releases are cinematic gems that can please anyone. This genre has in recent years managed to conquer a strong niche in the alternative cinema, and with a bit of promotion, can be fodder for the general public (Blue Is The Warmest Colour ). Drown by Dean Francis is not the equivalent of Abdellatif Kechichs masterpiece, but at least worth your attention.

The film is set on the Sydney coast. Len Smithy (Matt Levett) is just like his father, the lifeguard to whom everyone looks up. His tanned trained body leaves no doubt: the beach is the playground that he controls in an almost macho-like manner. Everything changes when Phil (Jack Matthews) arrives. Along with his best friend Phil Meat (Harry Cook), he wants to show him in a hard way who is the king of the coast. Len is clearly a guy who struggles with himself, especially with his repressed preference for men.

It might look like Baywatch for gays, but Drown is a film that gets under your skin. The problem is that the subject has been showed in countless other films. Nevertheless, Dean Francis managed to complete a very personal work with a high portion of drama, without being too mellow. Although we never have heard of these actors, they seem like they are made for this film. For fans of the better cinema that deals with real life, a tip! Now out on Homescreen.

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


NL

Liefhebbers van het genre weten het natuurlijk al jaren, maar op onze website willen we toch eventjes stilstaan bij de briljante gaymovies die Homescreen bijna maandelijks uitbrengt. Je moet zelfs helemaal geen homo/lesbo zijn om ervan te kunnen genieten, want vaak zijn deze releases gewoonweg cinematografische pareltjes die iedereen moet zien. Dit genre is er de laatste jaren in geslaagd om een vaste stek in de alternatieve cinema te veroveren en dat met wat promotie zelfs het grote publiek kan bereiken (Blue Is The Warmest Colour, bijv.). Drown van Dean Francis is niet de evenknie van Abdellatif Kechichs meesterwerk, maar wel minstens je aandacht waard.

De film speelt zich af aan de kust van Sydney. Len Smithy (Matt Levett) is net als zijn vader een strandwachter naar wie iedereen opkijkt. Zijn gebruinde, getrainde lijf laat er geen twijfels over bestaan: het strand is zijn speelplaats, die hij op een bijna machoachtige wijze controleert. Alles verandert als Phil (Jack Matthews) erbijkomt. Samen met Phils beste vriend Meat (Harry Cook) wil hij op een harde wijze tonen wie de koning van de kust is. Len is duidelijk een kerel die worstelt met zichzelf, vooral met zijn verdrongen voorkeur voor mannen.

Het lijkt misschien wel wat op Baywatch voor homo’s, toch is Drown een film die onder je huid kruipt. De problematiek is natuurlijk al in ontelbare andere films aan bod gekomen, toch slaagt Dean Francis erin om een zeer persoonlijk werk af te leveren waarin een hoge portie drama zit, zonder dat het ooit melig wordt. Ofschoon we nog nooit van deze acteurs hebben gehoord, lijken ze wel te zijn geschapen voor deze film. Vernieuwend is Drown geenszins, wel een film waarover je ten minste nog wat kan napraten (en dan hebben we het voor één keer niet over verblindende special effects).

Voor fans van de betere cinema die over het echte leven gaat, nu uit op Homescreen.

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete