tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown

DEAN FRANCIS

Drown

Movie
Gay

[68/100]   

Homescreen
12/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Fans of the genre know it for years, but on our website, we want to focus our attention for a moment on the brilliant gaymovies Homescreen releases on an almost monthly base. You don't even have to be gay to enjoy them, because often these releases are cinematic gems that can please anyone. This genre has in recent years managed to conquer a strong niche in the alternative cinema, and with a bit of promotion, can be fodder for the general public (Blue Is The Warmest Colour ). Drown by Dean Francis is not the equivalent of Abdellatif Kechichs masterpiece, but at least worth your attention.

The film is set on the Sydney coast. Len Smithy (Matt Levett) is just like his father, the lifeguard to whom everyone looks up. His tanned trained body leaves no doubt: the beach is the playground that he controls in an almost macho-like manner. Everything changes when Phil (Jack Matthews) arrives. Along with his best friend Phil Meat (Harry Cook), he wants to show him in a hard way who is the king of the coast. Len is clearly a guy who struggles with himself, especially with his repressed preference for men.

It might look like Baywatch for gays, but Drown is a film that gets under your skin. The problem is that the subject has been showed in countless other films. Nevertheless, Dean Francis managed to complete a very personal work with a high portion of drama, without being too mellow. Although we never have heard of these actors, they seem like they are made for this film. For fans of the better cinema that deals with real life, a tip! Now out on Homescreen.

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


NL

Liefhebbers van het genre weten het natuurlijk al jaren, maar op onze website willen we toch eventjes stilstaan bij de briljante gaymovies die Homescreen bijna maandelijks uitbrengt. Je moet zelfs helemaal geen homo/lesbo zijn om ervan te kunnen genieten, want vaak zijn deze releases gewoonweg cinematografische pareltjes die iedereen moet zien. Dit genre is er de laatste jaren in geslaagd om een vaste stek in de alternatieve cinema te veroveren en dat met wat promotie zelfs het grote publiek kan bereiken (Blue Is The Warmest Colour, bijv.). Drown van Dean Francis is niet de evenknie van Abdellatif Kechichs meesterwerk, maar wel minstens je aandacht waard.

De film speelt zich af aan de kust van Sydney. Len Smithy (Matt Levett) is net als zijn vader een strandwachter naar wie iedereen opkijkt. Zijn gebruinde, getrainde lijf laat er geen twijfels over bestaan: het strand is zijn speelplaats, die hij op een bijna machoachtige wijze controleert. Alles verandert als Phil (Jack Matthews) erbijkomt. Samen met Phils beste vriend Meat (Harry Cook) wil hij op een harde wijze tonen wie de koning van de kust is. Len is duidelijk een kerel die worstelt met zichzelf, vooral met zijn verdrongen voorkeur voor mannen.

Het lijkt misschien wel wat op Baywatch voor homo’s, toch is Drown een film die onder je huid kruipt. De problematiek is natuurlijk al in ontelbare andere films aan bod gekomen, toch slaagt Dean Francis erin om een zeer persoonlijk werk af te leveren waarin een hoge portie drama zit, zonder dat het ooit melig wordt. Ofschoon we nog nooit van deze acteurs hebben gehoord, lijken ze wel te zijn geschapen voor deze film. Vernieuwend is Drown geenszins, wel een film waarover je ten minste nog wat kan napraten (en dan hebben we het voor één keer niet over verblindende special effects).

Voor fans van de betere cinema die over het echte leven gaat, nu uit op Homescreen.

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh