tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown

DEAN FRANCIS

Drown

Movie
Gay

[68/100]   

Homescreen
12/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Fans of the genre know it for years, but on our website, we want to focus our attention for a moment on the brilliant gaymovies Homescreen releases on an almost monthly base. You don't even have to be gay to enjoy them, because often these releases are cinematic gems that can please anyone. This genre has in recent years managed to conquer a strong niche in the alternative cinema, and with a bit of promotion, can be fodder for the general public (Blue Is The Warmest Colour ). Drown by Dean Francis is not the equivalent of Abdellatif Kechichs masterpiece, but at least worth your attention.

The film is set on the Sydney coast. Len Smithy (Matt Levett) is just like his father, the lifeguard to whom everyone looks up. His tanned trained body leaves no doubt: the beach is the playground that he controls in an almost macho-like manner. Everything changes when Phil (Jack Matthews) arrives. Along with his best friend Phil Meat (Harry Cook), he wants to show him in a hard way who is the king of the coast. Len is clearly a guy who struggles with himself, especially with his repressed preference for men.

It might look like Baywatch for gays, but Drown is a film that gets under your skin. The problem is that the subject has been showed in countless other films. Nevertheless, Dean Francis managed to complete a very personal work with a high portion of drama, without being too mellow. Although we never have heard of these actors, they seem like they are made for this film. For fans of the better cinema that deals with real life, a tip! Now out on Homescreen.

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


NL

Liefhebbers van het genre weten het natuurlijk al jaren, maar op onze website willen we toch eventjes stilstaan bij de briljante gaymovies die Homescreen bijna maandelijks uitbrengt. Je moet zelfs helemaal geen homo/lesbo zijn om ervan te kunnen genieten, want vaak zijn deze releases gewoonweg cinematografische pareltjes die iedereen moet zien. Dit genre is er de laatste jaren in geslaagd om een vaste stek in de alternatieve cinema te veroveren en dat met wat promotie zelfs het grote publiek kan bereiken (Blue Is The Warmest Colour, bijv.). Drown van Dean Francis is niet de evenknie van Abdellatif Kechichs meesterwerk, maar wel minstens je aandacht waard.

De film speelt zich af aan de kust van Sydney. Len Smithy (Matt Levett) is net als zijn vader een strandwachter naar wie iedereen opkijkt. Zijn gebruinde, getrainde lijf laat er geen twijfels over bestaan: het strand is zijn speelplaats, die hij op een bijna machoachtige wijze controleert. Alles verandert als Phil (Jack Matthews) erbijkomt. Samen met Phils beste vriend Meat (Harry Cook) wil hij op een harde wijze tonen wie de koning van de kust is. Len is duidelijk een kerel die worstelt met zichzelf, vooral met zijn verdrongen voorkeur voor mannen.

Het lijkt misschien wel wat op Baywatch voor homo’s, toch is Drown een film die onder je huid kruipt. De problematiek is natuurlijk al in ontelbare andere films aan bod gekomen, toch slaagt Dean Francis erin om een zeer persoonlijk werk af te leveren waarin een hoge portie drama zit, zonder dat het ooit melig wordt. Ofschoon we nog nooit van deze acteurs hebben gehoord, lijken ze wel te zijn geschapen voor deze film. Vernieuwend is Drown geenszins, wel een film waarover je ten minste nog wat kan napraten (en dan hebben we het voor één keer niet over verblindende special effects).

Voor fans van de betere cinema die over het echte leven gaat, nu uit op Homescreen.

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)