tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown

DEAN FRANCIS

Drown

Movie
Gay

[68/100]   

Homescreen
12/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Fans of the genre know it for years, but on our website, we want to focus our attention for a moment on the brilliant gaymovies Homescreen releases on an almost monthly base. You don't even have to be gay to enjoy them, because often these releases are cinematic gems that can please anyone. This genre has in recent years managed to conquer a strong niche in the alternative cinema, and with a bit of promotion, can be fodder for the general public (Blue Is The Warmest Colour ). Drown by Dean Francis is not the equivalent of Abdellatif Kechichs masterpiece, but at least worth your attention.

The film is set on the Sydney coast. Len Smithy (Matt Levett) is just like his father, the lifeguard to whom everyone looks up. His tanned trained body leaves no doubt: the beach is the playground that he controls in an almost macho-like manner. Everything changes when Phil (Jack Matthews) arrives. Along with his best friend Phil Meat (Harry Cook), he wants to show him in a hard way who is the king of the coast. Len is clearly a guy who struggles with himself, especially with his repressed preference for men.

It might look like Baywatch for gays, but Drown is a film that gets under your skin. The problem is that the subject has been showed in countless other films. Nevertheless, Dean Francis managed to complete a very personal work with a high portion of drama, without being too mellow. Although we never have heard of these actors, they seem like they are made for this film. For fans of the better cinema that deals with real life, a tip! Now out on Homescreen.

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


NL

Liefhebbers van het genre weten het natuurlijk al jaren, maar op onze website willen we toch eventjes stilstaan bij de briljante gaymovies die Homescreen bijna maandelijks uitbrengt. Je moet zelfs helemaal geen homo/lesbo zijn om ervan te kunnen genieten, want vaak zijn deze releases gewoonweg cinematografische pareltjes die iedereen moet zien. Dit genre is er de laatste jaren in geslaagd om een vaste stek in de alternatieve cinema te veroveren en dat met wat promotie zelfs het grote publiek kan bereiken (Blue Is The Warmest Colour, bijv.). Drown van Dean Francis is niet de evenknie van Abdellatif Kechichs meesterwerk, maar wel minstens je aandacht waard.

De film speelt zich af aan de kust van Sydney. Len Smithy (Matt Levett) is net als zijn vader een strandwachter naar wie iedereen opkijkt. Zijn gebruinde, getrainde lijf laat er geen twijfels over bestaan: het strand is zijn speelplaats, die hij op een bijna machoachtige wijze controleert. Alles verandert als Phil (Jack Matthews) erbijkomt. Samen met Phils beste vriend Meat (Harry Cook) wil hij op een harde wijze tonen wie de koning van de kust is. Len is duidelijk een kerel die worstelt met zichzelf, vooral met zijn verdrongen voorkeur voor mannen.

Het lijkt misschien wel wat op Baywatch voor homo’s, toch is Drown een film die onder je huid kruipt. De problematiek is natuurlijk al in ontelbare andere films aan bod gekomen, toch slaagt Dean Francis erin om een zeer persoonlijk werk af te leveren waarin een hoge portie drama zit, zonder dat het ooit melig wordt. Ofschoon we nog nooit van deze acteurs hebben gehoord, lijken ze wel te zijn geschapen voor deze film. Vernieuwend is Drown geenszins, wel een film waarover je ten minste nog wat kan napraten (en dan hebben we het voor één keer niet over verblindende special effects).

Voor fans van de betere cinema die over het echte leven gaat, nu uit op Homescreen.

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown 12/04/2015 : DEAN FRANCIS - Drown

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)