tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/06/2011 : DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE - Codes and Keys

DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE

Codes and Keys

MusicCD
Indie

[72/100]   

Barsuk Records
02/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

It’s been 3 years since Death Cab For Cutie released their previous record ‘Narrow Stairs’. The band kept a low profile for a while but with their new album ‘Codes And Keys’ they are definitely back.

Ben Gibbard has the kind of voice that has a way of getting stuck in your head. The kind of voice you recognize but can never quite put your finger on. Death Cab For Cutie have been ‘sort-of-famous’ for years now without truly being recognized. Or how you mainstream without the mainstream noticing…

‘Codes and Keys’ is already their 7th album. After a first listen you get the impression they just picked up where they left off 3 years before. But the more you listen, the more it becomes clear that there is a whole new and fresh vibe running through the album. The lyrics are a lot less dark and desperate. The melodies are much more upbeat and especially ‘The Sycamore Tree’ and ‘Stay Young, Go Dancing’ make you feel like – God forbid – dancing. 

Throughout the album ‘Unobstructed View’ is the only song that doesn’t really seem to fit into the tight knit family the other songs create. It has the ambition of becoming the new ‘I Will Posess Your Heart’ but fails along the way. ‘You Are A Tourist’ on the other hand turns out to be a revelation. Death Cab For Cutie never sounded so ‘Pop’ before, but somehow they pull it off in a way only they can.

The red chord through ‘Codes And Keys’ is, as one might expect from a Death Cab For Cutie album, the lyrics. When it comes to writing a song, Gibbard can give even the most soul-deprived person a run for his money any day.

Even though there are no instant hits, ‘Codes and Keys’ is the kind of album you just can’t seem to turn off as soon as you hit play and has you humming along in spite of yourself.

Unfortunately there is no Belgian concert date yet, and the concert in The Netherlands on June 30th is already sold out.

Melissa BAUWENS
02/06/2011


NL

Het is alweer 3 jaar geleden dat Death Cab For Cutie hun vorige plaat ‘Narrow Stairs’ uitbracht. Het was een hele tijd stil rond de groep maar met hun nieuwe plaat ‘Codes en Keys’ zijn ze weer helemaal terug van weggeweest.

Zanger Ben Gibbard heeft het soort stem die tegen wil en dank in je hoofd blijft hangen. Een stem die je associeert met nummers die je vaag wel kent, maar nooit de titels van herinnert. Death Cab For Cutie heeft zich door de jaren heen als een gevestigde waarde geprofileerd zonder ooit echt in de schijnwerpers te staan. Of hoe je mainstreamt zonder dat de mainstream het gemerkt heeft.

‘Codes and Keys’ is dan ook alweer hun 7de album. Na een eerste luisterbeurt is de eerste spontane gedachte dat ze de lijn van hun twee vorige albums gewoon doortrekken. Stevige, goed gebouwde songs doorweven met de typische, breekbare stijl van Gibbards lyrics. Maar na een tweede, derde, vierde,... luisterbeurt merk je dat er toch een heel andere vibe doorheen het album loopt. De lyrics zijn beduidend minder donker en wanhopig dan op ‘Transatlanticism’ of ‘Narrow Stairs’ en zelfs de melodien klinken bij momenten – durf ik het zeggen – vrolijk. Vooral bij de nummers ‘Underneath The Sycamore Tree’ en ‘Stay Young, Go Dancing’ krijg je zowaar zin om, welja, mee te dansen.

Halverwege is ‘Unobstructed View’ het enige nummer die zijn weg een beetje verliest als deel van geheel. Het heeft ambitie om de nieuwe ‘I Will Possess Your Heart’ te zijn maar daar toch in faalt. ‘You Are A Tourist’ daarentegen is dan weer een openbaring. Zo pop-achtig klonk Death Cab For Cutie zelden, maar het werkt, absoluut.

De rode draad doorheen het album - en, het mag gezegd, intussen het handelsmerk van de band - zijn de lyrics die zelfs diegenen met het emotiegehalte van een theelepel even naar adem doen happen.

Er staan dit keer geen uitgesproken hits op het album. Geen bombastische nummers die meteen in je hoofd blijven hangen, maar ‘Codes and Keys’ maakt je keer op keer benieuwd naar het volgende nummer zodra het vorige eindigt en krijgt je onbewust aan het mee-neurieën.

Jammer genoeg is er voorlopig nog geen live datum voor België, en het concert in Amsterdam op 30/06 is intussen uitverkocht.

Melissa BAUWENS
02/06/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire