tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

14/12/2013 : DEATH IN JUNE - Review of the concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 12 December 2013

DEATH IN JUNE

Review of the concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 12 December 2013

Concert
Neofolk

[80/100]   
14/12/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

A concert of Death In June is always a unique experience. After all, Douglas Pierce, the founder and unique permanent member of the band, is considered as the pioneer of neo-folk, a post-industrial acoustic musical genre he created together with David Tibet (Current 93), Tony Wakeford (Sol Invictus) and Patrick Leagas, back in the first part of the 80s.

The concert at the Magasin4 was organized by Kunst & Opbouwen with Elektrocution Record Shop and
a Thousand Lost Civilizations and was part of a tour to promote "Snow Bunker Tapes", an album including the demo versions of "Peaceful Snow" (2010) as Douglas P. originally created them on the acoustic guitar. I was surprised to see that the venue was completely packed with more than 400 fans, showing that the interest for this English band hasn't diminished even 32 years after its formation.

Before Death In June took the stage, we watched the supporting act, Ensemble Economique, a one-man band consisting of the Californian musician Brian Pyle. The music can be classified as ambient / drone / psychedelic with a touch of witch-house. Pyle was alone on the stage, hiding behind candles. He sang with a high-pitched voice, played guitar and used controllers. He installed a dark and mysterious atmosphere that made me think of Mongolito. But while Mongolito usually has great visual aspects with his mask and his video's, here the show tended to become a bit monotonous. Maybe Pyle should have shown video's of the beautiful landscapes from Humboldt county, a very isolated part of northern California where he lives. A special mention to the song based on a sample from Sinead O'Connor's "Nothing Compares To You". In a nutshell: great music to listen to at home but there is room for improvement in the live show...

While waiting for Death In June, I was secretly hoping that the show would offer more than just Douglas singing and playing alone or with a percussionist... Well, my wish was fulfilled when I saw a man take the stage, dressed in military camouflage clothes. He started to play the piano. I immediately recognized the touch and the harmonies of Miro Snejdr, the Croatian pianist who played on Death In June's album "Peaceful Snow" (2010). Alone on the keyboards, Snejdr played a number of long improvisations in which I recognized Death In June tunes from the cd Lounge Corps (the piano-only CD accompanying the second edition of "Peaceful Snow" in 2012), mixed with melodies from Spitting At Pigeons, his solo project.

The atmosphere in the hall was very quiet. We were a bit hypnotized by the romantic sound of the piano, a bit as if we were in a movie like "The Damned" or in a cabaret expecting Marlene Dietrich's performance. Magical!

After 30 minutes or so of piano instrumentals, Douglas P. joined Snejdr on stage to start the Death In June concert. He was also dressed in camouflage clothes and was wearing his famous white mask. Snejdr stood up, took his accordion and accompanied Douglas P. for wonderful versions of "Life Under Siege" and "Peaceful Snow", but also of the beautiful song "Wolf Rose" with its chorus: "the darkest secret in my heart is you".

After that, there was a short break and at ca. 9:45pm, Douglas P. came back alone without his mask (but with his glasses) and started the third part of the show alone on the percussions for two very experimental DIJ songs:
"Death of a Man", off "The World That Summer" (1986) and "Bring in the Night", off "Thè Wäll Öf Säcrificè" (1989). There were samples of voices and noises playing in the background and I was amazed by Douglas P.'s ability to play complex drums patterns while singing at the same time.

Then, he took a red 12-strings acoustic guitar and it was time for a medley of DIJ's most famous songs, starting with "Ku Ku Ku" off "But What Ends When The Symbols Shatter" (1992). This album was very present in the setlist, as was also the masterpiece LP "Nada!" (1986).

The sound was excellent and Douglas P.'s baritone voice was deep, warm and very clear, evoking at times Brendan Perry. He even allowed the audience to choose the songs and I took the opportunity to request one of my favourite DIJ songs: "She Said Destroy", in which Douglas P. strangely replaced "She Said" by "He Said"... Maybe a clear sign of his sexual preferences? Another great moment was "Black Angel", a song originally inspired by Jim Jone's Peoples Temple Choir's song 'Black Baby'. I also liked "Come Before Christ And Murder Love", the very first song composed by Douglas P. in 1974, but published only in 1986.

As encore, he played "Runes and Men" and an absolute post-punk classic: "Heaven Street", the first song he wrote as Death In June with Tony Wakeford and Patrick Leagas, back in 1980.

In conclusion: a great concert! Of course, the succession of (similar) songs played only on the acoustic guitar (and featuring a majority of chords like Em, G, A, Am,...) could have become a bit monotonous as well but the acoustic medley allowed us to (re)discover how incredible Douglas P. is as a songwriter. I would of course have preferred a complete band with a drummer, a bassist and keyboards but here, it was pure music, in all its nudity and beauty. A very intimate and moving experience. For us, Douglas P. dropped the mask and showed himself as he is deep in his soul: a great poet...

Watch the video of "She Said Destroy" below:

Setlist:
With Miro Snejdr:
Life Under Siege
Wolf Rose
Hail! The White Grain
Leopard Flowers
Peaceful Snow

Douglas P. alone:
Death of a Man
Bring in the Night
Ku Ku Ku
The Maverick Chamber
Good Mourning Sun
Takeyya
She Said Destroy
Giddy Giddy Carousel
Luther’s Army
All Pigs Must Die
Torture by Roses
Leper Lord
Come Before Christ And Murder Love
Little Black Angel
Rose Clouds of Holocaust
Fall Apart
Behind the Rose (Fields of Rape)
But What Ends When the Symbols Shatter?

Encore:
Runes and Men
Heaven Street

Organized by Kunst & Opbouwen with Elektrocution Record Shop and a Thousand Lost Civilizations

Watch the pictures by Xavier Marquis: Death In June, Spitting At Pigeons, Ensemble Economique.

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
14/12/2013


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna