tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DEATH IN ROME - Hitparade

DEATH IN ROME

Hitparade

MusicCD
Neofolk

[77/100]   

SPQR label
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Death in Rome denies the fact that the band has anything to do with Death In June, let alone that it want to ridicule the ideas of Douglas Pearce. Of course if you read between the lines, you know better. The logo of Death In Rome is no more than a caricature of this neo-folk legend. Whatever the truth is, and how genius such a joke is, it doesn’t automatically end up in good music.

The concept of this band? Making neo-folk compositions of popular hits. If you hear Death In Rome, it all seems very simple, but in an interview with the Suru website the musicians claim that the opposite is the reality.

After the release of the limited edition single Barbie Girl / Pump Up The Jam, the first album is out now. You know the original songs for sure, and thise unexpected transformation is what makes Death in Rome so good. Besides, a neo-folk version of Careless Whisper by George Michael, Love Is A Battlefield by Pat Benatar or Diamonds by Rihanna remains a bold step. Death In Rome's respect for the original versions adorns the band. It never ridicules the originals. Why should they? The ten songs on this debut are indestructible pop classics with an immortal melody.

The only thing you can ask yourself is how long this concept can continue. The first CD of Nouvelle Vague was a breath of fresh air in the genre, but no one is looking for new material by this band now. Let us hope that Death In Rome never ends up like this.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Zelf ontkennen ze in alle talen dat Death In Rome ook maar iets te maken heeft met Death In June, laat staan dat ze de spot drijven met de ideeën van Douglas Pearce. Wie tussen de regels leest, weet natuurlijk beter. Het logo van deze band alleen al is een karikatuur van deze neofolklegende. Wat ook de waarheid is en hoe geniaal de vondst of de grap ook is, je maakt er nog altijd geen goede muziek mee.

Het concept van deze band? Van populaire hits neofolkcomposities maken. Als je Death In Rome hoort, lijkt dat allemaal zeer eenvoudig, maar in een interview met de website Suru beweren de muzikanten dat het net het tegenovergestelde is.

Na het uitbrengen van de uiterst gelimiteerde single Barbie Girl/Pump Up The Jam is er nu het allereerste album. De originele songs ken je zonder twijfel uit het hoofd, en de onverwachte transformatie is dan ook het leuke aan Death In Rome. Trouwens, een neofolkversie van Careless Whisper van George Michael, Love Is A Battlefield van Pat Benatar of Diamonds van Rihanna blijft een gewaagde stap. Het siert de band dat hij respect heeft voor de originele versies die niet worden geridiculiseerd. Waarom zouden ze dat trouwens doen? De tien songs op dit debuut zijn stuk voor stuk onverwoestbare popklassiekers met een onsterfelijke melodie.

Het enige wat je je kan aanvragen is hoe lang dit concept kan duren. De eerste cd van Nouvelle Vague was destijds een verademing in het genre, maar geen mens die nu nog naar nieuwe bewerkingen uitkijkt. Laat ons hopen dat Death In Rome nooit in dat straatje eindigt.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed