tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DEATH IN ROME - Hitparade

DEATH IN ROME

Hitparade

MusicCD
Neofolk

[77/100]   

SPQR label
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Death in Rome denies the fact that the band has anything to do with Death In June, let alone that it want to ridicule the ideas of Douglas Pearce. Of course if you read between the lines, you know better. The logo of Death In Rome is no more than a caricature of this neo-folk legend. Whatever the truth is, and how genius such a joke is, it doesn’t automatically end up in good music.

The concept of this band? Making neo-folk compositions of popular hits. If you hear Death In Rome, it all seems very simple, but in an interview with the Suru website the musicians claim that the opposite is the reality.

After the release of the limited edition single Barbie Girl / Pump Up The Jam, the first album is out now. You know the original songs for sure, and thise unexpected transformation is what makes Death in Rome so good. Besides, a neo-folk version of Careless Whisper by George Michael, Love Is A Battlefield by Pat Benatar or Diamonds by Rihanna remains a bold step. Death In Rome's respect for the original versions adorns the band. It never ridicules the originals. Why should they? The ten songs on this debut are indestructible pop classics with an immortal melody.

The only thing you can ask yourself is how long this concept can continue. The first CD of Nouvelle Vague was a breath of fresh air in the genre, but no one is looking for new material by this band now. Let us hope that Death In Rome never ends up like this.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Zelf ontkennen ze in alle talen dat Death In Rome ook maar iets te maken heeft met Death In June, laat staan dat ze de spot drijven met de ideeën van Douglas Pearce. Wie tussen de regels leest, weet natuurlijk beter. Het logo van deze band alleen al is een karikatuur van deze neofolklegende. Wat ook de waarheid is en hoe geniaal de vondst of de grap ook is, je maakt er nog altijd geen goede muziek mee.

Het concept van deze band? Van populaire hits neofolkcomposities maken. Als je Death In Rome hoort, lijkt dat allemaal zeer eenvoudig, maar in een interview met de website Suru beweren de muzikanten dat het net het tegenovergestelde is.

Na het uitbrengen van de uiterst gelimiteerde single Barbie Girl/Pump Up The Jam is er nu het allereerste album. De originele songs ken je zonder twijfel uit het hoofd, en de onverwachte transformatie is dan ook het leuke aan Death In Rome. Trouwens, een neofolkversie van Careless Whisper van George Michael, Love Is A Battlefield van Pat Benatar of Diamonds van Rihanna blijft een gewaagde stap. Het siert de band dat hij respect heeft voor de originele versies die niet worden geridiculiseerd. Waarom zouden ze dat trouwens doen? De tien songs op dit debuut zijn stuk voor stuk onverwoestbare popklassiekers met een onsterfelijke melodie.

Het enige wat je je kan aanvragen is hoe lang dit concept kan duren. De eerste cd van Nouvelle Vague was destijds een verademing in het genre, maar geen mens die nu nog naar nieuwe bewerkingen uitkijkt. Laat ons hopen dat Death In Rome nooit in dat straatje eindigt.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper