tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope

DEBRIS OF TITAN

On the Home Slope

MusicCD
Alternative RockGaragerockIndieProg RockPsychedelicRock

[70/100]   

Working Brilliantly
23/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Previously, Winston Dunlop and Michael Diaz formed the band Retro Lake with their colleague Coop Casiano, but since 2009 they perform as a duo and call themselves Debris of Titan. This EP precedes the release of their debut album On the Home Slope (October 23, 2015) and includes six compositions.

Dunlop and Diaz are influenced by bands like Animal Collective and King Crimson, which leads to a mix of acid jazz and dream pop, with lots of psychedelic and hip hop accents. The short track What's In My Cocoon begins with a simple piano sound, a strummed guitar, synths and quiet percussion, with layered voices in the background: atmospheric and dreamily. Anime begins with the sound of a bell tower, strings and swirling synths, double vocals, shifting rhythms and in the second half, a waterfall of percussion, guitars and echoing, psychedelic-sounding voices. In America, it is suggested that Debris of Titan is the harbinger of what indie rock could be in the coming years.

Where Did it All Go suggests jazz influences, with an electric guitar laying beautiful rock accents. Sleep With Me is a sweet chamois instrumental in which the piano is joined by fragile noise: atmospheric and musing, with a Pink Floyd-like guitar that meanders gently through the soundscape. Rara is a nice snack for acoustic guitar and percussion, and In Nova's Bedroom sounds slightly rougher, but is again a fairly quiet track with acoustic guitar and percussion.

Slightly psychedelic and dreamy with jazz influences, that's how we would describe the quiet compositions of Debris of Titan.

Tracklist:
1 What’s in My Cocoon
2 Anime
3 Where did it All Go
4 Sleep With Me
5 Rara
6 In Nova’s Bedroom

What’s in My Cocoon

William LIÉNARD
23/10/2015


NL

Winston Dunlop en Michael Diaz vormden eerder de band Retro Lake met hun collega Coop Casiano, maar sinds 2009 treden ze als duo naar buiten en noemen ze zich Debris of Titan. Deze ep gaat de release van hun debuutalbum On the Home Slope vooraf (23 oktober 2015) en bevat zes composities.

De heren noemen zich beïnvloed door bands als Animal Collective en King Crimson en dat leidt tot een mix van acid jazz en dreampop, met flink wat psychedelische en hip hop-accenten. De korte track What’s in My Cocoon begint met eenvoudig pianogeluid, een getokkelde gitaar, synths en rustige percussie, met de dubbele vocalen op de achtergrond: atmosferisch en dromerig, terwijl Anime begint met het geluid van een klokkentoren, strijkers en dwarrelende synths, dubbele vocalen, verschuivende ritmes en in de tweede helft een waterval van percussie, gitaren en galmende stemmen die psychedelisch aandoen. In Amerika wordt gesuggereerd dat ze de voorbode zijn van wat indierock in de komende jaren kan worden.

Where did it All Go verraadt jazz-invloeden en is een track die rustig voorbij drijft met halfweg een elektrische gitaar die prachtige rockaccenten legt. Sleep With Me is een zeemzoete instrumental waarin de piano het gezelschap krijgt van fragiele noise: atmosferisch en mijmerend, met een Pink Floyd-achtige elektrische gitaar die rustig door het soundscape meandert. Rara is een leuk tussendoortje voor akoestische gitaar en slagwerk, en In Nova’s Bedroom klinkt iets ruiger in de vocalen, maar blijft voor de rest een vrij rustige track met akoestische gitaar en percussie.

Lichtjes psychedelisch en dromerig met jazz-invloeden, zo zou je de rustige composities van Debris of Titan kunnen omschrijven. 

William LIÉNARD
23/10/2015


23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope 23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope 23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope

 

Next reviews
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Drag You To Hell
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
DISAPPEARS • Low
DOUBLE EYELID • Seven Years
SHERMAN • White City EP
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
NUN • Self Titled
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BALTIMORE • Baltimore

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: PROG ROCK
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
OPETH • Sorceress
EDENSONG • Years in the Garden of Years
BLIND EGO • Liquid
NOSOUND • Scintilla
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)