tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope

DEBRIS OF TITAN

On the Home Slope

MusicCD
Alternative RockGaragerockIndieProg RockPsychedelicRock

[70/100]   

Working Brilliantly
23/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Previously, Winston Dunlop and Michael Diaz formed the band Retro Lake with their colleague Coop Casiano, but since 2009 they perform as a duo and call themselves Debris of Titan. This EP precedes the release of their debut album On the Home Slope (October 23, 2015) and includes six compositions.

Dunlop and Diaz are influenced by bands like Animal Collective and King Crimson, which leads to a mix of acid jazz and dream pop, with lots of psychedelic and hip hop accents. The short track What's In My Cocoon begins with a simple piano sound, a strummed guitar, synths and quiet percussion, with layered voices in the background: atmospheric and dreamily. Anime begins with the sound of a bell tower, strings and swirling synths, double vocals, shifting rhythms and in the second half, a waterfall of percussion, guitars and echoing, psychedelic-sounding voices. In America, it is suggested that Debris of Titan is the harbinger of what indie rock could be in the coming years.

Where Did it All Go suggests jazz influences, with an electric guitar laying beautiful rock accents. Sleep With Me is a sweet chamois instrumental in which the piano is joined by fragile noise: atmospheric and musing, with a Pink Floyd-like guitar that meanders gently through the soundscape. Rara is a nice snack for acoustic guitar and percussion, and In Nova's Bedroom sounds slightly rougher, but is again a fairly quiet track with acoustic guitar and percussion.

Slightly psychedelic and dreamy with jazz influences, that's how we would describe the quiet compositions of Debris of Titan.

Tracklist:
1 What’s in My Cocoon
2 Anime
3 Where did it All Go
4 Sleep With Me
5 Rara
6 In Nova’s Bedroom

What’s in My Cocoon

William LIÉNARD
23/10/2015


NL

Winston Dunlop en Michael Diaz vormden eerder de band Retro Lake met hun collega Coop Casiano, maar sinds 2009 treden ze als duo naar buiten en noemen ze zich Debris of Titan. Deze ep gaat de release van hun debuutalbum On the Home Slope vooraf (23 oktober 2015) en bevat zes composities.

De heren noemen zich beïnvloed door bands als Animal Collective en King Crimson en dat leidt tot een mix van acid jazz en dreampop, met flink wat psychedelische en hip hop-accenten. De korte track What’s in My Cocoon begint met eenvoudig pianogeluid, een getokkelde gitaar, synths en rustige percussie, met de dubbele vocalen op de achtergrond: atmosferisch en dromerig, terwijl Anime begint met het geluid van een klokkentoren, strijkers en dwarrelende synths, dubbele vocalen, verschuivende ritmes en in de tweede helft een waterval van percussie, gitaren en galmende stemmen die psychedelisch aandoen. In Amerika wordt gesuggereerd dat ze de voorbode zijn van wat indierock in de komende jaren kan worden.

Where did it All Go verraadt jazz-invloeden en is een track die rustig voorbij drijft met halfweg een elektrische gitaar die prachtige rockaccenten legt. Sleep With Me is een zeemzoete instrumental waarin de piano het gezelschap krijgt van fragiele noise: atmosferisch en mijmerend, met een Pink Floyd-achtige elektrische gitaar die rustig door het soundscape meandert. Rara is een leuk tussendoortje voor akoestische gitaar en slagwerk, en In Nova’s Bedroom klinkt iets ruiger in de vocalen, maar blijft voor de rest een vrij rustige track met akoestische gitaar en percussie.

Lichtjes psychedelisch en dromerig met jazz-invloeden, zo zou je de rustige composities van Debris of Titan kunnen omschrijven. 

William LIÉNARD
23/10/2015


23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope 23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope 23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope

 

Next reviews
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Drag You To Hell
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
DISAPPEARS • Low
DOUBLE EYELID • Seven Years
SHERMAN • White City EP
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
NUN • Self Titled
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BALTIMORE • Baltimore

 

Same genre: INDIE
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn

 

Same genre: PROG ROCK
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
OPETH • Sorceress
EDENSONG • Years in the Garden of Years
BLIND EGO • Liquid
NOSOUND • Scintilla
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures