tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope

DEBRIS OF TITAN

On the Home Slope

MusicCD
Alternative RockGaragerockIndieProg RockPsychedelicRock

[70/100]   

Working Brilliantly
23/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Previously, Winston Dunlop and Michael Diaz formed the band Retro Lake with their colleague Coop Casiano, but since 2009 they perform as a duo and call themselves Debris of Titan. This EP precedes the release of their debut album On the Home Slope (October 23, 2015) and includes six compositions.

Dunlop and Diaz are influenced by bands like Animal Collective and King Crimson, which leads to a mix of acid jazz and dream pop, with lots of psychedelic and hip hop accents. The short track What's In My Cocoon begins with a simple piano sound, a strummed guitar, synths and quiet percussion, with layered voices in the background: atmospheric and dreamily. Anime begins with the sound of a bell tower, strings and swirling synths, double vocals, shifting rhythms and in the second half, a waterfall of percussion, guitars and echoing, psychedelic-sounding voices. In America, it is suggested that Debris of Titan is the harbinger of what indie rock could be in the coming years.

Where Did it All Go suggests jazz influences, with an electric guitar laying beautiful rock accents. Sleep With Me is a sweet chamois instrumental in which the piano is joined by fragile noise: atmospheric and musing, with a Pink Floyd-like guitar that meanders gently through the soundscape. Rara is a nice snack for acoustic guitar and percussion, and In Nova's Bedroom sounds slightly rougher, but is again a fairly quiet track with acoustic guitar and percussion.

Slightly psychedelic and dreamy with jazz influences, that's how we would describe the quiet compositions of Debris of Titan.

Tracklist:
1 What’s in My Cocoon
2 Anime
3 Where did it All Go
4 Sleep With Me
5 Rara
6 In Nova’s Bedroom

What’s in My Cocoon

William LIÉNARD
23/10/2015


NL

Winston Dunlop en Michael Diaz vormden eerder de band Retro Lake met hun collega Coop Casiano, maar sinds 2009 treden ze als duo naar buiten en noemen ze zich Debris of Titan. Deze ep gaat de release van hun debuutalbum On the Home Slope vooraf (23 oktober 2015) en bevat zes composities.

De heren noemen zich beïnvloed door bands als Animal Collective en King Crimson en dat leidt tot een mix van acid jazz en dreampop, met flink wat psychedelische en hip hop-accenten. De korte track What’s in My Cocoon begint met eenvoudig pianogeluid, een getokkelde gitaar, synths en rustige percussie, met de dubbele vocalen op de achtergrond: atmosferisch en dromerig, terwijl Anime begint met het geluid van een klokkentoren, strijkers en dwarrelende synths, dubbele vocalen, verschuivende ritmes en in de tweede helft een waterval van percussie, gitaren en galmende stemmen die psychedelisch aandoen. In Amerika wordt gesuggereerd dat ze de voorbode zijn van wat indierock in de komende jaren kan worden.

Where did it All Go verraadt jazz-invloeden en is een track die rustig voorbij drijft met halfweg een elektrische gitaar die prachtige rockaccenten legt. Sleep With Me is een zeemzoete instrumental waarin de piano het gezelschap krijgt van fragiele noise: atmosferisch en mijmerend, met een Pink Floyd-achtige elektrische gitaar die rustig door het soundscape meandert. Rara is een leuk tussendoortje voor akoestische gitaar en slagwerk, en In Nova’s Bedroom klinkt iets ruiger in de vocalen, maar blijft voor de rest een vrij rustige track met akoestische gitaar en percussie.

Lichtjes psychedelisch en dromerig met jazz-invloeden, zo zou je de rustige composities van Debris of Titan kunnen omschrijven. 

William LIÉNARD
23/10/2015


23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope 23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope 23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope

 

Next reviews
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Drag You To Hell
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
DISAPPEARS • Low
DOUBLE EYELID • Seven Years
SHERMAN • White City EP
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
NUN • Self Titled
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
PAUL MCCANN • Here Comes The Rapture
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BALTIMORE • Baltimore

 

Same genre: INDIE
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

 

Same genre: PROG ROCK
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
OPETH • Sorceress
EDENSONG • Years in the Garden of Years
BLIND EGO • Liquid
NOSOUND • Scintilla
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)