tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope

DEBRIS OF TITAN

On the Home Slope

MusicCD
Alternative RockGaragerockIndieProg RockPsychedelicRock

[70/100]   

Working Brilliantly
23/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Previously, Winston Dunlop and Michael Diaz formed the band Retro Lake with their colleague Coop Casiano, but since 2009 they perform as a duo and call themselves Debris of Titan. This EP precedes the release of their debut album On the Home Slope (October 23, 2015) and includes six compositions.

Dunlop and Diaz are influenced by bands like Animal Collective and King Crimson, which leads to a mix of acid jazz and dream pop, with lots of psychedelic and hip hop accents. The short track What's In My Cocoon begins with a simple piano sound, a strummed guitar, synths and quiet percussion, with layered voices in the background: atmospheric and dreamily. Anime begins with the sound of a bell tower, strings and swirling synths, double vocals, shifting rhythms and in the second half, a waterfall of percussion, guitars and echoing, psychedelic-sounding voices. In America, it is suggested that Debris of Titan is the harbinger of what indie rock could be in the coming years.

Where Did it All Go suggests jazz influences, with an electric guitar laying beautiful rock accents. Sleep With Me is a sweet chamois instrumental in which the piano is joined by fragile noise: atmospheric and musing, with a Pink Floyd-like guitar that meanders gently through the soundscape. Rara is a nice snack for acoustic guitar and percussion, and In Nova's Bedroom sounds slightly rougher, but is again a fairly quiet track with acoustic guitar and percussion.

Slightly psychedelic and dreamy with jazz influences, that's how we would describe the quiet compositions of Debris of Titan.

Tracklist:
1 What’s in My Cocoon
2 Anime
3 Where did it All Go
4 Sleep With Me
5 Rara
6 In Nova’s Bedroom

What’s in My Cocoon

William LIÉNARD
23/10/2015


NL

Winston Dunlop en Michael Diaz vormden eerder de band Retro Lake met hun collega Coop Casiano, maar sinds 2009 treden ze als duo naar buiten en noemen ze zich Debris of Titan. Deze ep gaat de release van hun debuutalbum On the Home Slope vooraf (23 oktober 2015) en bevat zes composities.

De heren noemen zich beïnvloed door bands als Animal Collective en King Crimson en dat leidt tot een mix van acid jazz en dreampop, met flink wat psychedelische en hip hop-accenten. De korte track What’s in My Cocoon begint met eenvoudig pianogeluid, een getokkelde gitaar, synths en rustige percussie, met de dubbele vocalen op de achtergrond: atmosferisch en dromerig, terwijl Anime begint met het geluid van een klokkentoren, strijkers en dwarrelende synths, dubbele vocalen, verschuivende ritmes en in de tweede helft een waterval van percussie, gitaren en galmende stemmen die psychedelisch aandoen. In Amerika wordt gesuggereerd dat ze de voorbode zijn van wat indierock in de komende jaren kan worden.

Where did it All Go verraadt jazz-invloeden en is een track die rustig voorbij drijft met halfweg een elektrische gitaar die prachtige rockaccenten legt. Sleep With Me is een zeemzoete instrumental waarin de piano het gezelschap krijgt van fragiele noise: atmosferisch en mijmerend, met een Pink Floyd-achtige elektrische gitaar die rustig door het soundscape meandert. Rara is een leuk tussendoortje voor akoestische gitaar en slagwerk, en In Nova’s Bedroom klinkt iets ruiger in de vocalen, maar blijft voor de rest een vrij rustige track met akoestische gitaar en percussie.

Lichtjes psychedelisch en dromerig met jazz-invloeden, zo zou je de rustige composities van Debris of Titan kunnen omschrijven. 

William LIÉNARD
23/10/2015


23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope 23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope 23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope

 

Next reviews
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Drag You To Hell
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
DISAPPEARS • Low
DOUBLE EYELID • Seven Years
SHERMAN • White City EP
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
NUN • Self Titled
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
STRUGGLER • The Gap
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
PIXIES • Head Carrier
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BALTIMORE • Baltimore
CANDLEBAGS • Love Kills (ep)

 

Same genre: INDIE
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream

 

Same genre: PROG ROCK
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
OPETH • Sorceress
EDENSONG • Years in the Garden of Years
BLIND EGO • Liquid
NOSOUND • Scintilla
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
SEED FROM THE GEISHA • Point Nemo

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

 

Same genre: ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)