tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope

DEBRIS OF TITAN

On the Home Slope

MusicCD
Alternative RockGaragerockIndieProg RockPsychedelicRock

[70/100]   

Working Brilliantly
23/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Previously, Winston Dunlop and Michael Diaz formed the band Retro Lake with their colleague Coop Casiano, but since 2009 they perform as a duo and call themselves Debris of Titan. This EP precedes the release of their debut album On the Home Slope (October 23, 2015) and includes six compositions.

Dunlop and Diaz are influenced by bands like Animal Collective and King Crimson, which leads to a mix of acid jazz and dream pop, with lots of psychedelic and hip hop accents. The short track What's In My Cocoon begins with a simple piano sound, a strummed guitar, synths and quiet percussion, with layered voices in the background: atmospheric and dreamily. Anime begins with the sound of a bell tower, strings and swirling synths, double vocals, shifting rhythms and in the second half, a waterfall of percussion, guitars and echoing, psychedelic-sounding voices. In America, it is suggested that Debris of Titan is the harbinger of what indie rock could be in the coming years.

Where Did it All Go suggests jazz influences, with an electric guitar laying beautiful rock accents. Sleep With Me is a sweet chamois instrumental in which the piano is joined by fragile noise: atmospheric and musing, with a Pink Floyd-like guitar that meanders gently through the soundscape. Rara is a nice snack for acoustic guitar and percussion, and In Nova's Bedroom sounds slightly rougher, but is again a fairly quiet track with acoustic guitar and percussion.

Slightly psychedelic and dreamy with jazz influences, that's how we would describe the quiet compositions of Debris of Titan.

Tracklist:
1 What’s in My Cocoon
2 Anime
3 Where did it All Go
4 Sleep With Me
5 Rara
6 In Nova’s Bedroom

What’s in My Cocoon

William LIÉNARD
23/10/2015


NL

Winston Dunlop en Michael Diaz vormden eerder de band Retro Lake met hun collega Coop Casiano, maar sinds 2009 treden ze als duo naar buiten en noemen ze zich Debris of Titan. Deze ep gaat de release van hun debuutalbum On the Home Slope vooraf (23 oktober 2015) en bevat zes composities.

De heren noemen zich beïnvloed door bands als Animal Collective en King Crimson en dat leidt tot een mix van acid jazz en dreampop, met flink wat psychedelische en hip hop-accenten. De korte track What’s in My Cocoon begint met eenvoudig pianogeluid, een getokkelde gitaar, synths en rustige percussie, met de dubbele vocalen op de achtergrond: atmosferisch en dromerig, terwijl Anime begint met het geluid van een klokkentoren, strijkers en dwarrelende synths, dubbele vocalen, verschuivende ritmes en in de tweede helft een waterval van percussie, gitaren en galmende stemmen die psychedelisch aandoen. In Amerika wordt gesuggereerd dat ze de voorbode zijn van wat indierock in de komende jaren kan worden.

Where did it All Go verraadt jazz-invloeden en is een track die rustig voorbij drijft met halfweg een elektrische gitaar die prachtige rockaccenten legt. Sleep With Me is een zeemzoete instrumental waarin de piano het gezelschap krijgt van fragiele noise: atmosferisch en mijmerend, met een Pink Floyd-achtige elektrische gitaar die rustig door het soundscape meandert. Rara is een leuk tussendoortje voor akoestische gitaar en slagwerk, en In Nova’s Bedroom klinkt iets ruiger in de vocalen, maar blijft voor de rest een vrij rustige track met akoestische gitaar en percussie.

Lichtjes psychedelisch en dromerig met jazz-invloeden, zo zou je de rustige composities van Debris of Titan kunnen omschrijven. 

William LIÉNARD
23/10/2015


23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope 23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope 23/10/2015 : DEBRIS OF TITAN - On the Home Slope

 

Next reviews
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Drag You To Hell
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
DISAPPEARS • Low
DOUBLE EYELID • Seven Years
SHERMAN • White City EP
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
NUN • Self Titled
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
STRUGGLER • The Gap
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
PIXIES • Head Carrier
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BALTIMORE • Baltimore
CANDLEBAGS • Love Kills (ep)

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: PROG ROCK
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
OPETH • Sorceress
EDENSONG • Years in the Garden of Years
BLIND EGO • Liquid
NOSOUND • Scintilla
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
SEED FROM THE GEISHA • Point Nemo

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

 

Same genre: ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
04
LADYTRON
Destroy Everything You Touch
26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only