tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

03/10/2013 : DER BLUTHARSCH, POSITION PARALLELE, DEUTSCH NEPAL, JASTREB, MONGOLITO - Review of the concert at Magasin 4 in Brussels on 28th September 2013

DER BLUTHARSCH, POSITION PARALLELE, DEUTSCH NEPAL, JASTREB, MONGOLITO

Review of the concert at Magasin 4 in Brussels on 28th September 2013

Concert


[75/100]   

Hau Ruck!
03/10/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Elektrocution Record Shop and a Thousand Lost Civilizations were presenting an impressive lineup at the Magasin 4 in Brussels: no less than 5 bands, all belonging to Hau Ruck! Records, the Austrian label of Der Blutharsch's leader Albin Julius.

Mongolito, the project of Marc De Backer, a well-known musician from the alternative scene in Brussels (ex-Dog Eat Dog & Mucky Pup), was the first to take the stage in front of a small crowd of fans. After releasing his first album last year, "Acadia", Mongolito has imposed his mainly instrumental 'dark ambient' style. It consists of loops and drones, combined with a drum machine, over which Marc draws melodic lines with his guitars. On stage, Mongolito plays alone, wearing a "Scream" mask, which emphasizes the mysterious side of the act, combined with black and white movie projections. During the show, Mongolito played yet unreleased tracks from his forthcoming album and as a whole, they sounded less ambient and were a bit more powerful than before. Of course, you still think of Pink Floyd or The Durutti Column but some heavier tones were on the verge of metal or shoegaze. An evolution of sound probably influenced by Marc's new guitar, a Gibson imitation that has more sustain and grain than his classical Fender Stratocaster. A great concert, that immersed us in a cinematic universe, with obsessive riffs, ghostly voices and plaintive guitars. Can't wait for the new album!
Watch the new song: "Ten Thousand Midnights Ago", which features magnifiscent samples of Sufi incantations.

Normally, next on the bill, was Jastreb, a side project of Albin Julius but to our biggest surprise, all three following bands, Jastreb, Deutsch Nepal and Der Blutharsch, came together on the stage to form some sort of supergroup, that played a number of songs from each of the separate acts. The formation included members from Der Blutharsch: Julius on keyboards, Marthynna on vocals plus their guitar player, accompanied by Lina Baby Doll (Deutsch Nepal) on vocals and one guitar player + one drummer from Jastreb. The result was a kind of crossover music, which started with Deutsch Nepal's touching cover of Zara Leander's "Regen" and continued with "Yggdrasil", Jastreb's repetitive composition, which sounded much more metal, with heavy guitars and improvised vocals by Lina Baby Doll. Normally, the song lasts 36 minutes; fortunately it was shortened.

Then the supergroup played "Cosmic Trigger", the title track from Der Blutharsch's new album, one of the few song during the set where you were able to recognize the krautrock style of the Austrian project, with Marthynna on vocals. Then, I must admit that I lost touch with the concert because of the exaggerated domination of heavy guitars and heavy drumming, which diluted most of the song in a sonic magma. The setlist included "Like A Horse Unbroken", "North" (Jastreb), "Silent Siege" (Deutsch Nepal), "Black Mountain", "Amygdala", and two additional tracks from "Cosmic Trigger": "Sacred Mountain" and "Hopeless". Like most of the people I talked to after the gig, this supergroup formation was in a way a missed opportunity. We would have preferred to watch each act with its own style instead of this noisy, "cosmic mash-up".

One of the consequences of this supergroup concert was the fact that Position Parallèle played as headliner: great news for all the fans of Geoffroy D., who is also well-known for his other project, more dark-folk oriented: Dernière Volonté. With Position Parallèle, Geoffroy D. has just released a new album, "Néons Blancs" (White Neons), which marks an interesting evolution with a sound that is even more refined, even more stripped than on the first album. The syle is a minimal wave, typically "French Touch" kind of alternative pop, which evokes Kraftwerk in the analog synths but also French synth pop acts like Daho or Lescop.

On stage, we were surprised by the very harsch, dance oriented arrangements, which gave an amazing power to the music. The bass drums, operated by Pierre Pi, were incredibly powerful and Geoffroy's attitude was very energetic: he was moving a lot, in complete contrast with the typical melancholy of Dernière Volonté's concerts. A song like "Passé Par Ici" was very raw, with a pulsating beat, almost EBM. My favorite song was "Si Je te Croise", which was released on the compilation "Circuits d'Actes III". Watch the song played on stage here:

In conclusion: a powerful concert, of a very high quality. The audience was very enthusiastic and was dancing and moving like crazy. I was dazzled by the sound and by the energy displayed on stage. Geoffrey D. revealed an amazing stamina, combined with his usual disarming fragility. A great moment!

A big thank you to Michel Kirby (Elektrocution Records) and his team for the organization and see you in December at the Magasin 4 for Death In June.

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
03/10/2013


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis