tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

03/10/2013 : DER BLUTHARSCH, POSITION PARALLELE, DEUTSCH NEPAL, JASTREB, MONGOLITO - Review of the concert at Magasin 4 in Brussels on 28th September 2013

DER BLUTHARSCH, POSITION PARALLELE, DEUTSCH NEPAL, JASTREB, MONGOLITO

Review of the concert at Magasin 4 in Brussels on 28th September 2013

Concert


[75/100]   

Hau Ruck!
03/10/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Elektrocution Record Shop and a Thousand Lost Civilizations were presenting an impressive lineup at the Magasin 4 in Brussels: no less than 5 bands, all belonging to Hau Ruck! Records, the Austrian label of Der Blutharsch's leader Albin Julius.

Mongolito, the project of Marc De Backer, a well-known musician from the alternative scene in Brussels (ex-Dog Eat Dog & Mucky Pup), was the first to take the stage in front of a small crowd of fans. After releasing his first album last year, "Acadia", Mongolito has imposed his mainly instrumental 'dark ambient' style. It consists of loops and drones, combined with a drum machine, over which Marc draws melodic lines with his guitars. On stage, Mongolito plays alone, wearing a "Scream" mask, which emphasizes the mysterious side of the act, combined with black and white movie projections. During the show, Mongolito played yet unreleased tracks from his forthcoming album and as a whole, they sounded less ambient and were a bit more powerful than before. Of course, you still think of Pink Floyd or The Durutti Column but some heavier tones were on the verge of metal or shoegaze. An evolution of sound probably influenced by Marc's new guitar, a Gibson imitation that has more sustain and grain than his classical Fender Stratocaster. A great concert, that immersed us in a cinematic universe, with obsessive riffs, ghostly voices and plaintive guitars. Can't wait for the new album!
Watch the new song: "Ten Thousand Midnights Ago", which features magnifiscent samples of Sufi incantations.

Normally, next on the bill, was Jastreb, a side project of Albin Julius but to our biggest surprise, all three following bands, Jastreb, Deutsch Nepal and Der Blutharsch, came together on the stage to form some sort of supergroup, that played a number of songs from each of the separate acts. The formation included members from Der Blutharsch: Julius on keyboards, Marthynna on vocals plus their guitar player, accompanied by Lina Baby Doll (Deutsch Nepal) on vocals and one guitar player + one drummer from Jastreb. The result was a kind of crossover music, which started with Deutsch Nepal's touching cover of Zara Leander's "Regen" and continued with "Yggdrasil", Jastreb's repetitive composition, which sounded much more metal, with heavy guitars and improvised vocals by Lina Baby Doll. Normally, the song lasts 36 minutes; fortunately it was shortened.

Then the supergroup played "Cosmic Trigger", the title track from Der Blutharsch's new album, one of the few song during the set where you were able to recognize the krautrock style of the Austrian project, with Marthynna on vocals. Then, I must admit that I lost touch with the concert because of the exaggerated domination of heavy guitars and heavy drumming, which diluted most of the song in a sonic magma. The setlist included "Like A Horse Unbroken", "North" (Jastreb), "Silent Siege" (Deutsch Nepal), "Black Mountain", "Amygdala", and two additional tracks from "Cosmic Trigger": "Sacred Mountain" and "Hopeless". Like most of the people I talked to after the gig, this supergroup formation was in a way a missed opportunity. We would have preferred to watch each act with its own style instead of this noisy, "cosmic mash-up".

One of the consequences of this supergroup concert was the fact that Position Parallèle played as headliner: great news for all the fans of Geoffroy D., who is also well-known for his other project, more dark-folk oriented: Dernière Volonté. With Position Parallèle, Geoffroy D. has just released a new album, "Néons Blancs" (White Neons), which marks an interesting evolution with a sound that is even more refined, even more stripped than on the first album. The syle is a minimal wave, typically "French Touch" kind of alternative pop, which evokes Kraftwerk in the analog synths but also French synth pop acts like Daho or Lescop.

On stage, we were surprised by the very harsch, dance oriented arrangements, which gave an amazing power to the music. The bass drums, operated by Pierre Pi, were incredibly powerful and Geoffroy's attitude was very energetic: he was moving a lot, in complete contrast with the typical melancholy of Dernière Volonté's concerts. A song like "Passé Par Ici" was very raw, with a pulsating beat, almost EBM. My favorite song was "Si Je te Croise", which was released on the compilation "Circuits d'Actes III". Watch the song played on stage here:

In conclusion: a powerful concert, of a very high quality. The audience was very enthusiastic and was dancing and moving like crazy. I was dazzled by the sound and by the energy displayed on stage. Geoffrey D. revealed an amazing stamina, combined with his usual disarming fragility. A great moment!

A big thank you to Michel Kirby (Elektrocution Records) and his team for the organization and see you in December at the Magasin 4 for Death In June.

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
03/10/2013


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem