tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

14/03/2018 : DER KLINKE - STORY OFF - De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018

DER KLINKE - STORY OFF

De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018

Concert
14/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

De Kelk (The Chalice) in Bruges, has long been THE dark cave in the centre of Bruges where many black clad people experienced many memorable moments when they were still young (and beautiful?). Today, after being re-opened last year, it was the setting for a double line-up clubshow by Belgian bands Story Off and Der Klinke. Two bands fronted by Chesko Geert Vandekerkhof.

Story Off was present to perform their brand new CD Facing Forward in its entirety. The second full album released by this electro / minimal / synth-pop project. Complete and in the order the tracks appear on the CD, the songs were performed in the almost overcrowded venue. With a very varied mix of minimal synth, dark pop and synth-pop songs, the band managed to get the crowd moving. From quiet hip-wiggling to the more hooky EBM dance moves, it was all there. The album seems to sound more varied than the their first-fruit, which is a nice thing indeed. As an encore we received their version of The Neon Judgment's TV Treated. Thank you for that!

Then it was time for 'established' value: Der Klinke to take the stage. This West-Flemish company of friends already has a very good live reputation and it did more than honour this reputation on this night. The band opted for a very nice mix of 'old' songs and new tunes taken from the latest CD The Unexpected. Der Klinke has already released four solid albums listed on their discography and on each of these there are a couple of classic dance-floor-fillers. It was no surprise the audience thoroughly enjoyed songs like The Doll, Las Fabricas, This Is Where it Ends and Faith Healer.

I've seen this band about 10 times now and after this drizzly Friday night, I can confirm again, this is a true must see live band. It was tight, sharp and in my opinion even firmer and more swirling than all previous ones I've seen. Tight drumming, hooky bass lines, subtle yet still clearly present guitar work, synths that supported every melody, but above all: very enthusiastic, solid and very decent. Therefore it was not a surprise that the venue's temperature rose while the crowd, from the front of the stage to the bar, was in motion. A very good performance indeed by a band that took the stage like a well-oiled machine and added an extra dimension to the selection of great songs taken from their previous released albums. Postpunk, goth-rock, dark-wave in perfect balance and overwhelming. Personally I hope (and wish) this quintet will play many more stages and become more known in the future … because they deserve it!

Setlist Story Off:

Facing Forward

A Dark Romance

The Painted City

Life On Other Planets

World Today

Inducing Oblivion

Humanoid

To Let It Go

Luxuries

Waiting

TV Treated

Setlist Der Klinke

My Frozen Heart

Someone Who Smiles

Our Dance in Darkness

River White

Facts Of Life

The Doll

Second Sun

Liars

Where it Ends

We Are Here

She's Lost control

Square Moon

In Flames

Faith Healer

Las Fabricas

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/03/2018


NL

De Kelk in Brugge. Al sedert mensenheugenis een donker hol in centrum Brugge. Menige zwartjas beleefde er vele momenten in even zovele schitterende jeugdjaren. Nu één jaar heropend, was er een tweedelige show van de Belgische bands Story Off en Der Klinke. Allebei bands met als frontman Chesko Geert Vandekerkhof.

Story Off was present om de integrale nieuwe CD Facing Forward ten gehore te brengen. De tweede volwaardige plaat van dit electro/minimal/synthpop-project. Integraal en in de volgorde zoals op de CD, werden de nummers losgelaten op een volledig gevulde club-concertzaal van de Kelk. Met een heel gevarieerde mix van eerder minimal synth, darkpop en synthop-songs wist het gezelschap vlotjes beweging te krijgen in de meute. Van rustig heupwiegend tot gestyleerde EBM-dansmoves, it was all in the game. De schijf klinkt gevarieerder dan de eersteling, wat aardig meegenomen is. Als toemaatje kregen we een versie van The Neon Judgement’s TV Treated. Waarvoor dank!

En dan een al ‘gevestigde’ waarde: Der Klinke. Het West-Vlaamse gezelschap heeft een heel goede live-reputatie, die het deze avond méér dan eer aangedaan heeft. Er werd geopteerd voor een heel mooie mix van ‘oude’ songs en nieuwe deuntjes van de recentste CD The Unexpected. Intussen heeft Der Klinke al vier goede langspelers op de discografie, met op elk van deze een paar klassieke dancefloorkillers. En die gingen er bij het publiekin als zoete broodjes. The Doll, Las Fabricas, This Is Where it Ends, Faith Healer.

Ik mocht de band al een 10-tal keer aanschouwen en had elke keer het gevoel: jips, dit is een live-band. Dat werd op deze druilerige vrijdagavond weer in overtreffende trap bevestigd. Het was strak, snedig, naar mijn gevoel steviger en kolkender dan alle voorgaande. Strak drumwerk, een snedige baslijn erdoorheen, subtiel maar duidelijk aanwezig gitaarwerk, synths die elke melodie ondersteunden, maar vooral: heel enthousiast, stevig, doorleefd. Het verbaast dan ook niet dat het broeierig heet werd in de zaal, beweging van aan het podium tot aan de bar. Dit was een uitermate sterk optreden van een band die er staat, een goed geoliede machine die live de steengoede songs van de 4 LP’s een extra dimensie geeft. Postpunk, goth-rock, darkwave in een perfecte balans en overweldigend zonder weerga. Ik hoop (en wens) dan ook dat het vijftal nog vele podia mag bestijgen en ruimere bekendheid krijgt dan het ‘zwarte’ publiek. Want ze vérdienen dit !

Setlist Story Off:

Facing Forward
A Dark Romance
The Painted City
Life On Other Planets
World Today
Inducing Oblivion
Humanoid
To Let It Go
Luxuries
Waiting
TV Treated

Setlist Der Klinke

My Frozen Heart
Someone Who Smiles
Our Dance in Darkness
River White
Facts Of Life
The Doll
Second Sun
Liars
Where it Ends
We Are Here
She’s Lost control
Square Moon
In Flames
Faith Healer
Las Fabricas

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/03/2018


14/03/2018 : DER KLINKE - STORY OFF - De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018 14/03/2018 : DER KLINKE - STORY OFF - De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018 14/03/2018 : DER KLINKE - STORY OFF - De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018 14/03/2018 : DER KLINKE - STORY OFF - De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018 14/03/2018 : DER KLINKE - STORY OFF - De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers