tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/11/2014 : DER KLINKE - The Gathering Of Hopes

DER KLINKE

The Gathering Of Hopes

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark PopEBMIndustrialNew wavePost Punk

[84/100]   

Echozone
23/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Making three albums in five years is quite an achievement. The Belgian band Der Klinke did it and how! We can be sad about it, but the fact is that the wave and goth scene has become so small that groups (whether they are ready or not) are immediately thrown to the lions. There’s almost no club scene, so they have to play as a support for bigger names in a packed hall. It may sound simple and even a bit like a dream, but it certainly is not easy. And again: Der Klinke did.

In their fifth anniversary year Der Klinke (like every other band) has supporters and opponents. Sometimes the group is described as a hobby group, but thanks to their efforts, and even more to their talent, these five (now six) musicians kept on knocking. They never gave up en kept believing in their dreams, and here it is: their third album The Gathering Of Hopes.

Opener We Are Here is a strange start, say a statement. It is both a hug for those who believed in Chesko and his entourage and a middle finger to those who looked down on this rather unique Flemish band. Sometimes I wonder whether the group members are aware that they wrote a real classic with The Doll, because this dark dance tune is actually the best song that was never written by The Neon Judgement.

There are a lot of industrial dance tunes (eg. The Facts Of Life) on this third album, but especially the melancholy prevails. In fact, the record is very dark at times. And yet despite its depressed mood, this third work also delivers hope, the smiling faces of the children on the cover speak for themselves.

I've probably said it in each review, but on every new album Der Klinke come up with their best song ever. This time it is Still Falling, and it may well be the best song they ever made, although we will probably deny that when their fourth album appears. And maybe next week we prefer Follow Me, a song that sounds like Amanda Lear's classic of the same name (and yes, that is a good sign!)

As on the previous albums, you can clearly hear whom Chesko, Chris, Sam, Marco, Heidi and Miss Lollirot Dead Doll have listened to (Clan Of Xymox, Snowy Red, The Klinik, you name it!), But as always they made it their own thing. Something they may (again) be proud of. And now back to the studio for the fourth, but the first stop at BIM!

Didier BECU
23/11/2014


NL

Drie albums maken op vijf jaar tijd is een hele prestatie. De West-Vlaamse band Der Klinke deed het en hoe! We kunnen er treurig om zijn, maar het is nu eenmaal zo dat er in de new wave- en gothscène geen aanloop is. De scène is tegenwoordig zo klein geworden dat groepen (of ze er nu klaar voor zijn of niet) meteen voor de leeuwen worden gegoid, waardoor beginnende bands meteen in een bomvolle zaal staan. Het klinkt misschien eenvoudig en zelfs een beetje als een droom, maar je moet het toch maar doen om als beginneling in bijv. een uitverkochte Vooruit je ding te doen. Der Klinke deed het.

In hun vijfjarig bestaan heeft Der Klinke (net zoals iedereen) voor– en tegenstanders gehad. Soms werd de groep wel eens als een hobbygroepje omschreven, je weet wel: die grap die uit de hand is gelopen. Dankzij hun inzet, en nog meer dankzij hun talent, gaven deze vijf (nu zes) muzikanten niet op. Ze voelden dat er potentieel in hun kunnen zat. Nooit opgeven, blijven geloven in je dromen en zie daar: hun derde album The Gathering Of Hopes ligt in de winkelrekken. Een prestatie waarvan heel wat groepen die (vaak ten onrechte) door muziekkenners (de term alleen al!) worden opgehemeld kunnen dromen!

Opener We Are Here is een vreemde start, zeg maar een statement. Het is tegelijkertijd een omarming voor zij die geloofden in Chesko en zijn gevolg, maar ook een middelvinger naar zij die neerkeken op deze toch wel unieke Vlaamse groep. Soms vraag ik mij af of de groep er zich van bewust is dat ze met The Doll een Belpopklassieker heeft neergepend, want jawel deze danskraker is eigenlijk het beste nummer dat The Neon Judgement nooit heeft geschreven. Neergepend om nooit meer te vergeten!

Er staan een heleboel industriële danskrakers (bijv. The Facts Of Life) op dit derde album, maar het is vooral de melancholie die overheerst. Meer zelfs, de plaat is eigenlijk zwaarmoedig en bij momenten gitzwart. En toch, ondanks die depressieve sfeer zit er in dit derde werk ook veel hoop, de gezichten van de lachende kinderen op de hoes spreken voor zich.

Ik heb het wellicht in iedere recensie gezegd, maar op iedere nieuwe plaat van Der Klinke staat meestal ook wel hun beste nummer. Deze keer gaat de keuze naar Still Falling, waarschijnlijk het allerbeste nummer dat ze ooit hebben gemaakt, ofschoon we dit waarschijnlijk zullen ontkennen als hun vierde album verschijnt. Of misschien wordt het volgende week wel Follow Me, een nummer dat trouwens een heel beetje lijkt op de Amanda Lear-klassieker met dezelfde titel (en jawel, zoiets is een goed teken!)

Net zoals op de vorige albums hoor je duidelijk naar wie Chesko, Chris, Sam, Marco, Heidi en Miss Lollirot Deaddoll geluisterd hebben (Clan Of Xymox, Snowy Red, The Klinik, noem maar op!), maar zoals steeds hebben ze er wel hun eigen ding mee gedaan. Een donkere dansplaat die tegelijkertijd een luisterplaat is, eentje waarop ze terecht fier mogen zijn. En nu naar de studio voor de vierde, of neen, eerst nog een tussenstop op BIM!

Didier BECU
23/11/2014


 

Next reviews
JEFF GILLEN & ALAN ORMSBY • Deranged
VAIN MACHINE • Push
STAR INDUSTRY • Eilyne
SIMPLE MINDS • Big Music
WILLIAM FRIEDKIN • To Live And Die In LA
CLARK • Clark
MARTIN ASTON • Facing The Other Way, The Story Of 4-AD
JEAN-JACQUES ANNAUD • Coup De Tête
FRANCIS LAWRENCE • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1
SLEEPING PULSE • Under The Same Sky

 

Other reviews from DER KLINKE
DER KLINKE • Decade
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
DER KLINKE • THE BIM-FILES: Der Klinke
DER KLINKE • The Doll
DER KLINKE • The Second Sun
DER KLINKE • Square Moon

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: EBM
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg