tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/11/2014 : DER KLINKE - The Gathering Of Hopes

DER KLINKE

The Gathering Of Hopes

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark PopEBMIndustrialNew wavePost Punk

[84/100]   

Echozone
23/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Making three albums in five years is quite an achievement. The Belgian band Der Klinke did it and how! We can be sad about it, but the fact is that the wave and goth scene has become so small that groups (whether they are ready or not) are immediately thrown to the lions. There’s almost no club scene, so they have to play as a support for bigger names in a packed hall. It may sound simple and even a bit like a dream, but it certainly is not easy. And again: Der Klinke did.

In their fifth anniversary year Der Klinke (like every other band) has supporters and opponents. Sometimes the group is described as a hobby group, but thanks to their efforts, and even more to their talent, these five (now six) musicians kept on knocking. They never gave up en kept believing in their dreams, and here it is: their third album The Gathering Of Hopes.

Opener We Are Here is a strange start, say a statement. It is both a hug for those who believed in Chesko and his entourage and a middle finger to those who looked down on this rather unique Flemish band. Sometimes I wonder whether the group members are aware that they wrote a real classic with The Doll, because this dark dance tune is actually the best song that was never written by The Neon Judgement.

There are a lot of industrial dance tunes (eg. The Facts Of Life) on this third album, but especially the melancholy prevails. In fact, the record is very dark at times. And yet despite its depressed mood, this third work also delivers hope, the smiling faces of the children on the cover speak for themselves.

I've probably said it in each review, but on every new album Der Klinke come up with their best song ever. This time it is Still Falling, and it may well be the best song they ever made, although we will probably deny that when their fourth album appears. And maybe next week we prefer Follow Me, a song that sounds like Amanda Lear's classic of the same name (and yes, that is a good sign!)

As on the previous albums, you can clearly hear whom Chesko, Chris, Sam, Marco, Heidi and Miss Lollirot Dead Doll have listened to (Clan Of Xymox, Snowy Red, The Klinik, you name it!), But as always they made it their own thing. Something they may (again) be proud of. And now back to the studio for the fourth, but the first stop at BIM!

Didier BECU
23/11/2014


NL

Drie albums maken op vijf jaar tijd is een hele prestatie. De West-Vlaamse band Der Klinke deed het en hoe! We kunnen er treurig om zijn, maar het is nu eenmaal zo dat er in de new wave- en gothscène geen aanloop is. De scène is tegenwoordig zo klein geworden dat groepen (of ze er nu klaar voor zijn of niet) meteen voor de leeuwen worden gegoid, waardoor beginnende bands meteen in een bomvolle zaal staan. Het klinkt misschien eenvoudig en zelfs een beetje als een droom, maar je moet het toch maar doen om als beginneling in bijv. een uitverkochte Vooruit je ding te doen. Der Klinke deed het.

In hun vijfjarig bestaan heeft Der Klinke (net zoals iedereen) voor– en tegenstanders gehad. Soms werd de groep wel eens als een hobbygroepje omschreven, je weet wel: die grap die uit de hand is gelopen. Dankzij hun inzet, en nog meer dankzij hun talent, gaven deze vijf (nu zes) muzikanten niet op. Ze voelden dat er potentieel in hun kunnen zat. Nooit opgeven, blijven geloven in je dromen en zie daar: hun derde album The Gathering Of Hopes ligt in de winkelrekken. Een prestatie waarvan heel wat groepen die (vaak ten onrechte) door muziekkenners (de term alleen al!) worden opgehemeld kunnen dromen!

Opener We Are Here is een vreemde start, zeg maar een statement. Het is tegelijkertijd een omarming voor zij die geloofden in Chesko en zijn gevolg, maar ook een middelvinger naar zij die neerkeken op deze toch wel unieke Vlaamse groep. Soms vraag ik mij af of de groep er zich van bewust is dat ze met The Doll een Belpopklassieker heeft neergepend, want jawel deze danskraker is eigenlijk het beste nummer dat The Neon Judgement nooit heeft geschreven. Neergepend om nooit meer te vergeten!

Er staan een heleboel industriële danskrakers (bijv. The Facts Of Life) op dit derde album, maar het is vooral de melancholie die overheerst. Meer zelfs, de plaat is eigenlijk zwaarmoedig en bij momenten gitzwart. En toch, ondanks die depressieve sfeer zit er in dit derde werk ook veel hoop, de gezichten van de lachende kinderen op de hoes spreken voor zich.

Ik heb het wellicht in iedere recensie gezegd, maar op iedere nieuwe plaat van Der Klinke staat meestal ook wel hun beste nummer. Deze keer gaat de keuze naar Still Falling, waarschijnlijk het allerbeste nummer dat ze ooit hebben gemaakt, ofschoon we dit waarschijnlijk zullen ontkennen als hun vierde album verschijnt. Of misschien wordt het volgende week wel Follow Me, een nummer dat trouwens een heel beetje lijkt op de Amanda Lear-klassieker met dezelfde titel (en jawel, zoiets is een goed teken!)

Net zoals op de vorige albums hoor je duidelijk naar wie Chesko, Chris, Sam, Marco, Heidi en Miss Lollirot Deaddoll geluisterd hebben (Clan Of Xymox, Snowy Red, The Klinik, noem maar op!), maar zoals steeds hebben ze er wel hun eigen ding mee gedaan. Een donkere dansplaat die tegelijkertijd een luisterplaat is, eentje waarop ze terecht fier mogen zijn. En nu naar de studio voor de vierde, of neen, eerst nog een tussenstop op BIM!

Didier BECU
23/11/2014


 

Next reviews
JEFF GILLEN & ALAN ORMSBY • Deranged
VAIN MACHINE • Push
STAR INDUSTRY • Eilyne
SIMPLE MINDS • Big Music
WILLIAM FRIEDKIN • To Live And Die In LA
CLARK • Clark
MARTIN ASTON • Facing The Other Way, The Story Of 4-AD
JEAN-JACQUES ANNAUD • Coup De Tête
FRANCIS LAWRENCE • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1
SLEEPING PULSE • Under The Same Sky

 

Other reviews from DER KLINKE
DER KLINKE • Decade
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
DER KLINKE • THE BIM-FILES: Der Klinke
DER KLINKE • The Doll
DER KLINKE • The Second Sun
DER KLINKE • Square Moon

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: EBM
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995