tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/11/2014 : DER KLINKE - The Gathering Of Hopes

DER KLINKE

The Gathering Of Hopes

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark PopEBMIndustrialNew wavePost Punk

[84/100]   

Echozone
23/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Making three albums in five years is quite an achievement. The Belgian band Der Klinke did it and how! We can be sad about it, but the fact is that the wave and goth scene has become so small that groups (whether they are ready or not) are immediately thrown to the lions. There’s almost no club scene, so they have to play as a support for bigger names in a packed hall. It may sound simple and even a bit like a dream, but it certainly is not easy. And again: Der Klinke did.

In their fifth anniversary year Der Klinke (like every other band) has supporters and opponents. Sometimes the group is described as a hobby group, but thanks to their efforts, and even more to their talent, these five (now six) musicians kept on knocking. They never gave up en kept believing in their dreams, and here it is: their third album The Gathering Of Hopes.

Opener We Are Here is a strange start, say a statement. It is both a hug for those who believed in Chesko and his entourage and a middle finger to those who looked down on this rather unique Flemish band. Sometimes I wonder whether the group members are aware that they wrote a real classic with The Doll, because this dark dance tune is actually the best song that was never written by The Neon Judgement.

There are a lot of industrial dance tunes (eg. The Facts Of Life) on this third album, but especially the melancholy prevails. In fact, the record is very dark at times. And yet despite its depressed mood, this third work also delivers hope, the smiling faces of the children on the cover speak for themselves.

I've probably said it in each review, but on every new album Der Klinke come up with their best song ever. This time it is Still Falling, and it may well be the best song they ever made, although we will probably deny that when their fourth album appears. And maybe next week we prefer Follow Me, a song that sounds like Amanda Lear's classic of the same name (and yes, that is a good sign!)

As on the previous albums, you can clearly hear whom Chesko, Chris, Sam, Marco, Heidi and Miss Lollirot Dead Doll have listened to (Clan Of Xymox, Snowy Red, The Klinik, you name it!), But as always they made it their own thing. Something they may (again) be proud of. And now back to the studio for the fourth, but the first stop at BIM!

Didier BECU
23/11/2014


NL

Drie albums maken op vijf jaar tijd is een hele prestatie. De West-Vlaamse band Der Klinke deed het en hoe! We kunnen er treurig om zijn, maar het is nu eenmaal zo dat er in de new wave- en gothscène geen aanloop is. De scène is tegenwoordig zo klein geworden dat groepen (of ze er nu klaar voor zijn of niet) meteen voor de leeuwen worden gegoid, waardoor beginnende bands meteen in een bomvolle zaal staan. Het klinkt misschien eenvoudig en zelfs een beetje als een droom, maar je moet het toch maar doen om als beginneling in bijv. een uitverkochte Vooruit je ding te doen. Der Klinke deed het.

In hun vijfjarig bestaan heeft Der Klinke (net zoals iedereen) voor– en tegenstanders gehad. Soms werd de groep wel eens als een hobbygroepje omschreven, je weet wel: die grap die uit de hand is gelopen. Dankzij hun inzet, en nog meer dankzij hun talent, gaven deze vijf (nu zes) muzikanten niet op. Ze voelden dat er potentieel in hun kunnen zat. Nooit opgeven, blijven geloven in je dromen en zie daar: hun derde album The Gathering Of Hopes ligt in de winkelrekken. Een prestatie waarvan heel wat groepen die (vaak ten onrechte) door muziekkenners (de term alleen al!) worden opgehemeld kunnen dromen!

Opener We Are Here is een vreemde start, zeg maar een statement. Het is tegelijkertijd een omarming voor zij die geloofden in Chesko en zijn gevolg, maar ook een middelvinger naar zij die neerkeken op deze toch wel unieke Vlaamse groep. Soms vraag ik mij af of de groep er zich van bewust is dat ze met The Doll een Belpopklassieker heeft neergepend, want jawel deze danskraker is eigenlijk het beste nummer dat The Neon Judgement nooit heeft geschreven. Neergepend om nooit meer te vergeten!

Er staan een heleboel industriële danskrakers (bijv. The Facts Of Life) op dit derde album, maar het is vooral de melancholie die overheerst. Meer zelfs, de plaat is eigenlijk zwaarmoedig en bij momenten gitzwart. En toch, ondanks die depressieve sfeer zit er in dit derde werk ook veel hoop, de gezichten van de lachende kinderen op de hoes spreken voor zich.

Ik heb het wellicht in iedere recensie gezegd, maar op iedere nieuwe plaat van Der Klinke staat meestal ook wel hun beste nummer. Deze keer gaat de keuze naar Still Falling, waarschijnlijk het allerbeste nummer dat ze ooit hebben gemaakt, ofschoon we dit waarschijnlijk zullen ontkennen als hun vierde album verschijnt. Of misschien wordt het volgende week wel Follow Me, een nummer dat trouwens een heel beetje lijkt op de Amanda Lear-klassieker met dezelfde titel (en jawel, zoiets is een goed teken!)

Net zoals op de vorige albums hoor je duidelijk naar wie Chesko, Chris, Sam, Marco, Heidi en Miss Lollirot Deaddoll geluisterd hebben (Clan Of Xymox, Snowy Red, The Klinik, noem maar op!), maar zoals steeds hebben ze er wel hun eigen ding mee gedaan. Een donkere dansplaat die tegelijkertijd een luisterplaat is, eentje waarop ze terecht fier mogen zijn. En nu naar de studio voor de vierde, of neen, eerst nog een tussenstop op BIM!

Didier BECU
23/11/2014


 

Next reviews
JEFF GILLEN & ALAN ORMSBY • Deranged
VAIN MACHINE • Push
STAR INDUSTRY • Eilyne
SIMPLE MINDS • Big Music
WILLIAM FRIEDKIN • To Live And Die In LA
CLARK • Clark
MARTIN ASTON • Facing The Other Way, The Story Of 4-AD
JEAN-JACQUES ANNAUD • Coup De Tête
FRANCIS LAWRENCE • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1
SLEEPING PULSE • Under The Same Sky

 

Other reviews from DER KLINKE
DER KLINKE • Decade
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
DER KLINKE • THE BIM-FILES: Der Klinke
DER KLINKE • The Doll
DER KLINKE • The Second Sun
DER KLINKE • Square Moon

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: EBM
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DARK • Nightmare
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete