tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2015 : DER NOIR - A Certain Idea Of Love

DER NOIR

A Certain Idea Of Love

MusicCD
Cold WaveElectronics

[60/100]   

Self-released
18/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian cold wave trio Der Noir explores on this new EP new sounds that are totally different from those we’re familiar with. On this instrumental EP, the Romans choose the path of electronics. Although there are some guitar sounds included, it can’t be compared with their usual cold wave.

The opening track Idea Of Love mixes militaristic drums with lovely dreamy guitar riffs, backed by a permanent dark beat. Cold Kiss is a track with Simona Ferrucci of Winter Severity Index, it is difficult to summarize it in one word: trance electronics and a guitar that leads the song to its end.

Antarctica reminds of Jean Michel Jarre, embellished with some shoegaze guitars. Albatross takes us back to electronics, with some distortion and industrial sounds added. Again the distorted guitars add a coldwave feel, but it’s nothing more than that.

Blue is reminiscent of Enya, and apart from a drum beat with a mesmerizing synthesizer in the background, it has little to offer.

For fans of Der Noir, this is probably a surprising EP. It is miles away from the cold wave they usually play. I do not mind if bands choose a different direction, but for the real fans this might be a leap too far.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2015


NL

Het Italiaanse coldwave ­trio Der Noir maakt op deze ep een ontdekkingstocht naar totaal andere waveklanken dan we van hun gewoon zijn en slaan deze Romeinen het pad in van de electronica. Weliswaar ontwaren we her en der nog gitaargeluid, maar het staat veraf van de coldwave die ze normaal spelen.

Het openingsnummer Idea Of Love mengt militaristische drums met prachtig zweverige gitaarriffs, ondersteund door een permanente dark beat.

Cold Kiss is een nummer waaraan Simona Ferrucci van Winter Severity Index meewerkte, het is moeilijk om het in één term te vatten: electronica, zweverig, trance­achtig, en een snerpende gitaar die het nummer naar het einde voert.

Het nummer Antarctica doet wat denken aan Jean-Michel Jarre, opgesmukt met wat shoegazegitaren. Albatross voert ons opnieuw naar electronica, aangevuld met distortie- en industrial­klanken. Ook hier brengen de overstuurde gitaren wat coldwave­, maar ook niet meer dan dat.

Het sluitstuk Blue is alweer een heel zweverig nummer dat aan Enya doet denken, en behalve een drumbeat met een bezwerende synthysizer op de achtergrond, heeft het maar weinig om het lijf.

Voor de fans van Der Noir zal dit een verrassende ep zijn. Het staat hij mijlenver af van de coldwave die ze doorgaans brengen. Echt boeien doet deze ep niet. Ik heb niets tegen het inslaan van een andere richting, maar voor de echte fans is dit wellicht een sprong te ver.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2015


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights