tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2015 : DER NOIR - A Certain Idea Of Love

DER NOIR

A Certain Idea Of Love

MusicCD
Cold WaveElectronics

[60/100]   

Self-released
18/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian cold wave trio Der Noir explores on this new EP new sounds that are totally different from those we’re familiar with. On this instrumental EP, the Romans choose the path of electronics. Although there are some guitar sounds included, it can’t be compared with their usual cold wave.

The opening track Idea Of Love mixes militaristic drums with lovely dreamy guitar riffs, backed by a permanent dark beat. Cold Kiss is a track with Simona Ferrucci of Winter Severity Index, it is difficult to summarize it in one word: trance electronics and a guitar that leads the song to its end.

Antarctica reminds of Jean Michel Jarre, embellished with some shoegaze guitars. Albatross takes us back to electronics, with some distortion and industrial sounds added. Again the distorted guitars add a coldwave feel, but it’s nothing more than that.

Blue is reminiscent of Enya, and apart from a drum beat with a mesmerizing synthesizer in the background, it has little to offer.

For fans of Der Noir, this is probably a surprising EP. It is miles away from the cold wave they usually play. I do not mind if bands choose a different direction, but for the real fans this might be a leap too far.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2015


NL

Het Italiaanse coldwave ­trio Der Noir maakt op deze ep een ontdekkingstocht naar totaal andere waveklanken dan we van hun gewoon zijn en slaan deze Romeinen het pad in van de electronica. Weliswaar ontwaren we her en der nog gitaargeluid, maar het staat veraf van de coldwave die ze normaal spelen.

Het openingsnummer Idea Of Love mengt militaristische drums met prachtig zweverige gitaarriffs, ondersteund door een permanente dark beat.

Cold Kiss is een nummer waaraan Simona Ferrucci van Winter Severity Index meewerkte, het is moeilijk om het in één term te vatten: electronica, zweverig, trance­achtig, en een snerpende gitaar die het nummer naar het einde voert.

Het nummer Antarctica doet wat denken aan Jean-Michel Jarre, opgesmukt met wat shoegazegitaren. Albatross voert ons opnieuw naar electronica, aangevuld met distortie- en industrial­klanken. Ook hier brengen de overstuurde gitaren wat coldwave­, maar ook niet meer dan dat.

Het sluitstuk Blue is alweer een heel zweverig nummer dat aan Enya doet denken, en behalve een drumbeat met een bezwerende synthysizer op de achtergrond, heeft het maar weinig om het lijf.

Voor de fans van Der Noir zal dit een verrassende ep zijn. Het staat hij mijlenver af van de coldwave die ze doorgaans brengen. Echt boeien doet deze ep niet. Ik heb niets tegen het inslaan van een andere richting, maar voor de echte fans is dit wellicht een sprong te ver.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2015


Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection