tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2015 : DER NOIR - A Certain Idea Of Love

DER NOIR

A Certain Idea Of Love

MusicCD
Cold WaveElectronics

[60/100]   

Self-released
18/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian cold wave trio Der Noir explores on this new EP new sounds that are totally different from those we’re familiar with. On this instrumental EP, the Romans choose the path of electronics. Although there are some guitar sounds included, it can’t be compared with their usual cold wave.

The opening track Idea Of Love mixes militaristic drums with lovely dreamy guitar riffs, backed by a permanent dark beat. Cold Kiss is a track with Simona Ferrucci of Winter Severity Index, it is difficult to summarize it in one word: trance electronics and a guitar that leads the song to its end.

Antarctica reminds of Jean Michel Jarre, embellished with some shoegaze guitars. Albatross takes us back to electronics, with some distortion and industrial sounds added. Again the distorted guitars add a coldwave feel, but it’s nothing more than that.

Blue is reminiscent of Enya, and apart from a drum beat with a mesmerizing synthesizer in the background, it has little to offer.

For fans of Der Noir, this is probably a surprising EP. It is miles away from the cold wave they usually play. I do not mind if bands choose a different direction, but for the real fans this might be a leap too far.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2015


NL

Het Italiaanse coldwave ­trio Der Noir maakt op deze ep een ontdekkingstocht naar totaal andere waveklanken dan we van hun gewoon zijn en slaan deze Romeinen het pad in van de electronica. Weliswaar ontwaren we her en der nog gitaargeluid, maar het staat veraf van de coldwave die ze normaal spelen.

Het openingsnummer Idea Of Love mengt militaristische drums met prachtig zweverige gitaarriffs, ondersteund door een permanente dark beat.

Cold Kiss is een nummer waaraan Simona Ferrucci van Winter Severity Index meewerkte, het is moeilijk om het in één term te vatten: electronica, zweverig, trance­achtig, en een snerpende gitaar die het nummer naar het einde voert.

Het nummer Antarctica doet wat denken aan Jean-Michel Jarre, opgesmukt met wat shoegazegitaren. Albatross voert ons opnieuw naar electronica, aangevuld met distortie- en industrial­klanken. Ook hier brengen de overstuurde gitaren wat coldwave­, maar ook niet meer dan dat.

Het sluitstuk Blue is alweer een heel zweverig nummer dat aan Enya doet denken, en behalve een drumbeat met een bezwerende synthysizer op de achtergrond, heeft het maar weinig om het lijf.

Voor de fans van Der Noir zal dit een verrassende ep zijn. Het staat hij mijlenver af van de coldwave die ze doorgaans brengen. Echt boeien doet deze ep niet. Ik heb niets tegen het inslaan van een andere richting, maar voor de echte fans is dit wellicht een sprong te ver.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/11/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In