tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise

DIABLO CODY

Paradise

Movie
Comedy

[63/100]   

E1
20/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Have you ever heard from Diablo Cody? In case you’re familiar with American independent cinema, we guess you do as this woman from Chicago penned down both scripts from Young Adult and Juno for which she got an Oscar. Paradise is her debut as a director. When you see the cover, you’d swear that this is the type of release you better avoid, but that’s not the case. In not one second Paradise has the genius touch from Juno, but the end result is much better than most of the Hollywoodian comedies we get.

Lamb Mannerheim (Julianne Hough) has survived a plane crash. Her deep religious family think she has to be grateful to God, but she isn’t as she’d rather be dead. Her skin is burned and she thinks it’s terrible God spared her life. She got a lot of money from the assurance and her family expects that she donates the money to the church. Instead she decides to visit Satan’s playground: Las Vegas. The poor, somewhat retarded, girl doesn’t know what she sees, but she got the help from a barman (Russell Brand) and night club singer Loray (Octavia Spencer). Loray takes her to Paradise: the real Las Vegas.

Paradise is far from perfect. Cody can write, but she better leave the directing job to others. It’s not all that bad, but all a bit uninspired. Luckily enough there are some funny moments, like an Aretha Frankilin-imitator who only wants to sing songs from Radiohead. The performances are mediocre. Julianne Hough whom we know from Safe Haven and Rock of Ages might look gorgeous, but she’s not the best actress there is. Russell Brand (the star from Get Him to the Greek) still can’t act and we guess Octavia Spencer (from The Help and the excellent Fruitvale Station) deserves better. But good, Paradise surely can beat lots of average Hollywood-stuff. But if we were Cody we’d make sure the next offering will be something different as otherwise her fame could be kind of short…

Paradise is out on DVD on Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
20/04/2014


NL

Ooit al van Diablo Cody gehoord? Wellicht wel als je geïnteresseerd bent in alternatieve Amerikaanse cinema. Deze vrouw uit Chicago kreeg het voor elkaar om succesvol de overstap van de stripteasebar naar Hollywood te maken. Ze schreef de scenario’s voor Young Adult en Juno waarvoor ze zelfs oververdiend een Oscar kreeg. Met Paradise maakt ze haar regiedebuut. Toegegeven, als je het hoesje bekijkt dan heb je de indruk dat dit een absoluut te mijden film is. Dat is zeker niet het geval. Paradise bezit wel geen enkele seconde de genialiteit van Juno, maar is toch heel wat beter dan de meeste Hollywoodkomedies die we in de maag krijgen gestompt.


Lamb Mannerheim (Julianne Hough) heeft een vliegtuigongeluk overleefd. Haar diepgelovige familie vindt dat zij de kerk daar eeuwig dankbaar moet voor zijn, maar zij is dat niet. Haar hele lichaam is tot in de zwaarste graad verbrand en zij vindt het vreselijk dat God haar in leven liet. Tijdens een speech in de kerk kondigt Lamb aan dat zij niet langer meer in de Almachtige gelooft. Door de crash heeft zij heel wat geld van de verzekering gekregen. Haar ouders hoopten dat de blondine het geld in de collectebus zou deponeren, in plaats daarvan trekt zij naar Las Vegas: de speeltuin van Satan. De onbeholpen plattelandsdochter weet bij haar aankomst niet wat ze in het verderfelijk oord ziet, maar krijgt de steun van barman William (Russell Brand) en zangeres Loray (Octavia Spencer). Loray neemt haar mee naar Paradise: het echte Las Vegas.


Paradise heeft heel wat tekortkomingen. Cody kan schrijven, maar regisseren zou ze toch beter aan ander overlaten. Het is allemaal niet slecht, maar een beetje ongeïnspireerd. Gelukkig zitten er heel wat grappige momenten in het script (zoals bijv. een Aretha Franklin-zangeres die alleen maar nummers van Radiohead wil zingen) waardoor de minpunten wat worden verbloemd. De acteerprestaties zijn matig. Julianne Hough die we kennen uit Safe Haven en Rock of Ages is wel sympathiek, maar niet meteen de beste actrice die er is. Russell Brand (de ster uit Get Him to the Greek) kan nog steeds niet acteren en iedereen weet dat Octavia Spencer (bekend uit The Help of nog beter het briljante Fruitvale Station) meer dan dat verdient. Maar goed, als tussendoortje kan Paradise er best mee door. Alleen moet Cody er op letten dat zij met haar volgende film wel opvalt, anders zou haar glorie wel eens voor zeer korte duur kunnen zijn.


Paradise is nu uit op dvd via Entertainment One.

 

 

Didier BECU
20/04/2014


20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa