tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise

DIABLO CODY

Paradise

Movie
Comedy

[63/100]   

E1
20/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Have you ever heard from Diablo Cody? In case you’re familiar with American independent cinema, we guess you do as this woman from Chicago penned down both scripts from Young Adult and Juno for which she got an Oscar. Paradise is her debut as a director. When you see the cover, you’d swear that this is the type of release you better avoid, but that’s not the case. In not one second Paradise has the genius touch from Juno, but the end result is much better than most of the Hollywoodian comedies we get.

Lamb Mannerheim (Julianne Hough) has survived a plane crash. Her deep religious family think she has to be grateful to God, but she isn’t as she’d rather be dead. Her skin is burned and she thinks it’s terrible God spared her life. She got a lot of money from the assurance and her family expects that she donates the money to the church. Instead she decides to visit Satan’s playground: Las Vegas. The poor, somewhat retarded, girl doesn’t know what she sees, but she got the help from a barman (Russell Brand) and night club singer Loray (Octavia Spencer). Loray takes her to Paradise: the real Las Vegas.

Paradise is far from perfect. Cody can write, but she better leave the directing job to others. It’s not all that bad, but all a bit uninspired. Luckily enough there are some funny moments, like an Aretha Frankilin-imitator who only wants to sing songs from Radiohead. The performances are mediocre. Julianne Hough whom we know from Safe Haven and Rock of Ages might look gorgeous, but she’s not the best actress there is. Russell Brand (the star from Get Him to the Greek) still can’t act and we guess Octavia Spencer (from The Help and the excellent Fruitvale Station) deserves better. But good, Paradise surely can beat lots of average Hollywood-stuff. But if we were Cody we’d make sure the next offering will be something different as otherwise her fame could be kind of short…

Paradise is out on DVD on Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
20/04/2014


NL

Ooit al van Diablo Cody gehoord? Wellicht wel als je geïnteresseerd bent in alternatieve Amerikaanse cinema. Deze vrouw uit Chicago kreeg het voor elkaar om succesvol de overstap van de stripteasebar naar Hollywood te maken. Ze schreef de scenario’s voor Young Adult en Juno waarvoor ze zelfs oververdiend een Oscar kreeg. Met Paradise maakt ze haar regiedebuut. Toegegeven, als je het hoesje bekijkt dan heb je de indruk dat dit een absoluut te mijden film is. Dat is zeker niet het geval. Paradise bezit wel geen enkele seconde de genialiteit van Juno, maar is toch heel wat beter dan de meeste Hollywoodkomedies die we in de maag krijgen gestompt.


Lamb Mannerheim (Julianne Hough) heeft een vliegtuigongeluk overleefd. Haar diepgelovige familie vindt dat zij de kerk daar eeuwig dankbaar moet voor zijn, maar zij is dat niet. Haar hele lichaam is tot in de zwaarste graad verbrand en zij vindt het vreselijk dat God haar in leven liet. Tijdens een speech in de kerk kondigt Lamb aan dat zij niet langer meer in de Almachtige gelooft. Door de crash heeft zij heel wat geld van de verzekering gekregen. Haar ouders hoopten dat de blondine het geld in de collectebus zou deponeren, in plaats daarvan trekt zij naar Las Vegas: de speeltuin van Satan. De onbeholpen plattelandsdochter weet bij haar aankomst niet wat ze in het verderfelijk oord ziet, maar krijgt de steun van barman William (Russell Brand) en zangeres Loray (Octavia Spencer). Loray neemt haar mee naar Paradise: het echte Las Vegas.


Paradise heeft heel wat tekortkomingen. Cody kan schrijven, maar regisseren zou ze toch beter aan ander overlaten. Het is allemaal niet slecht, maar een beetje ongeïnspireerd. Gelukkig zitten er heel wat grappige momenten in het script (zoals bijv. een Aretha Franklin-zangeres die alleen maar nummers van Radiohead wil zingen) waardoor de minpunten wat worden verbloemd. De acteerprestaties zijn matig. Julianne Hough die we kennen uit Safe Haven en Rock of Ages is wel sympathiek, maar niet meteen de beste actrice die er is. Russell Brand (de ster uit Get Him to the Greek) kan nog steeds niet acteren en iedereen weet dat Octavia Spencer (bekend uit The Help of nog beter het briljante Fruitvale Station) meer dan dat verdient. Maar goed, als tussendoortje kan Paradise er best mee door. Alleen moet Cody er op letten dat zij met haar volgende film wel opvalt, anders zou haar glorie wel eens voor zeer korte duur kunnen zijn.


Paradise is nu uit op dvd via Entertainment One.

 

 

Didier BECU
20/04/2014


20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger