tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise

DIABLO CODY

Paradise

Movie
Comedy

[63/100]   

E1
20/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Have you ever heard from Diablo Cody? In case you’re familiar with American independent cinema, we guess you do as this woman from Chicago penned down both scripts from Young Adult and Juno for which she got an Oscar. Paradise is her debut as a director. When you see the cover, you’d swear that this is the type of release you better avoid, but that’s not the case. In not one second Paradise has the genius touch from Juno, but the end result is much better than most of the Hollywoodian comedies we get.

Lamb Mannerheim (Julianne Hough) has survived a plane crash. Her deep religious family think she has to be grateful to God, but she isn’t as she’d rather be dead. Her skin is burned and she thinks it’s terrible God spared her life. She got a lot of money from the assurance and her family expects that she donates the money to the church. Instead she decides to visit Satan’s playground: Las Vegas. The poor, somewhat retarded, girl doesn’t know what she sees, but she got the help from a barman (Russell Brand) and night club singer Loray (Octavia Spencer). Loray takes her to Paradise: the real Las Vegas.

Paradise is far from perfect. Cody can write, but she better leave the directing job to others. It’s not all that bad, but all a bit uninspired. Luckily enough there are some funny moments, like an Aretha Frankilin-imitator who only wants to sing songs from Radiohead. The performances are mediocre. Julianne Hough whom we know from Safe Haven and Rock of Ages might look gorgeous, but she’s not the best actress there is. Russell Brand (the star from Get Him to the Greek) still can’t act and we guess Octavia Spencer (from The Help and the excellent Fruitvale Station) deserves better. But good, Paradise surely can beat lots of average Hollywood-stuff. But if we were Cody we’d make sure the next offering will be something different as otherwise her fame could be kind of short…

Paradise is out on DVD on Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
20/04/2014


NL

Ooit al van Diablo Cody gehoord? Wellicht wel als je geïnteresseerd bent in alternatieve Amerikaanse cinema. Deze vrouw uit Chicago kreeg het voor elkaar om succesvol de overstap van de stripteasebar naar Hollywood te maken. Ze schreef de scenario’s voor Young Adult en Juno waarvoor ze zelfs oververdiend een Oscar kreeg. Met Paradise maakt ze haar regiedebuut. Toegegeven, als je het hoesje bekijkt dan heb je de indruk dat dit een absoluut te mijden film is. Dat is zeker niet het geval. Paradise bezit wel geen enkele seconde de genialiteit van Juno, maar is toch heel wat beter dan de meeste Hollywoodkomedies die we in de maag krijgen gestompt.


Lamb Mannerheim (Julianne Hough) heeft een vliegtuigongeluk overleefd. Haar diepgelovige familie vindt dat zij de kerk daar eeuwig dankbaar moet voor zijn, maar zij is dat niet. Haar hele lichaam is tot in de zwaarste graad verbrand en zij vindt het vreselijk dat God haar in leven liet. Tijdens een speech in de kerk kondigt Lamb aan dat zij niet langer meer in de Almachtige gelooft. Door de crash heeft zij heel wat geld van de verzekering gekregen. Haar ouders hoopten dat de blondine het geld in de collectebus zou deponeren, in plaats daarvan trekt zij naar Las Vegas: de speeltuin van Satan. De onbeholpen plattelandsdochter weet bij haar aankomst niet wat ze in het verderfelijk oord ziet, maar krijgt de steun van barman William (Russell Brand) en zangeres Loray (Octavia Spencer). Loray neemt haar mee naar Paradise: het echte Las Vegas.


Paradise heeft heel wat tekortkomingen. Cody kan schrijven, maar regisseren zou ze toch beter aan ander overlaten. Het is allemaal niet slecht, maar een beetje ongeïnspireerd. Gelukkig zitten er heel wat grappige momenten in het script (zoals bijv. een Aretha Franklin-zangeres die alleen maar nummers van Radiohead wil zingen) waardoor de minpunten wat worden verbloemd. De acteerprestaties zijn matig. Julianne Hough die we kennen uit Safe Haven en Rock of Ages is wel sympathiek, maar niet meteen de beste actrice die er is. Russell Brand (de ster uit Get Him to the Greek) kan nog steeds niet acteren en iedereen weet dat Octavia Spencer (bekend uit The Help of nog beter het briljante Fruitvale Station) meer dan dat verdient. Maar goed, als tussendoortje kan Paradise er best mee door. Alleen moet Cody er op letten dat zij met haar volgende film wel opvalt, anders zou haar glorie wel eens voor zeer korte duur kunnen zijn.


Paradise is nu uit op dvd via Entertainment One.

 

 

Didier BECU
20/04/2014


20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise 20/04/2014 : DIABLO CODY - Paradise

Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco