tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/10/2015 : DIARY OF DREAMS - Grau Im Licht

DIARY OF DREAMS

Grau Im Licht

MusicCD
Darkwave

[90/100]   

Accession Records
28/10/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

Grau Im Light already is the twelfth album of this German darkwave band. These days Diary Of Dreams has a strong fanbase and an great live reputation, so it's always exciting to look forward to new material.

That was not any different this time, the release date was quickly announced and so the curiosity was rising. The new album is a response to the growing selfishness in this world. Society loses its cohesion, millions of people are fleeing for hunger and war, and the world seems to be numb. This thought upsets Adrian Hates so much that he had to express this anger in music.

The result is Grau Im Light. The album immediately begins in a threatened way and the title of the opening track Sinferno is indeed the inferno of sins. A threatening repetitive guitar line supports Adrian’s vocals in a way that you will understand that he means it, and with a chorus that goes like Keep your voice down, you’ll get the message.

Endless Nights is a lot friendlier. This track is supported by floating synths and the deep drums of Diary Of Dreams. The song tells us that those who can not see the face of the world any longer, still can find relief in the endless darkness of the night in order to give the mind some rest.

Ikarus begins as a ballad, but emerges with a powerful chorus and again a very clear message. It is obvious that this album contains a lot of personal elements of Adrian. In every issue you can feel both the threat and the chaos of today’s world and the powerlessness and the despair of its victims who are constantly oppressed.

Again, on Grau Im Light Adrian sings alternately in English and in his native language, German. Conflicts between different religions often have been the cause of persecution and oppression. Krank is a call to rise above the differences and to respect everyone. The quiet songs on this album don’t make the total concept too aggressive and chaotic. It is a must that while listening, you take a look at the booklet with the beautiful artwork and read the lyrics, so you’ll understand some things better.

Grau Im Light is once again a worthy Diary Of Dreams album that can’t be compared to previous works.

Ruben SAEY
28/10/2015


NL

Grau Im Licht is ondertussen al het twaalfde album van deze Duitse darkwaveband. Diary Of Dreams heeft ondertussen een stevige fanbase en een al even geweldige livereputatie opgebouwd, het is dus altijd weer spannend om uit te kijken naar nieuw werk.

Dat was deze keer niet anders, de release datum werd vrij vlug bekend gemaakt wat de nieuwsgierigheid altijd aanwakkert. Het nieuwe album is een reactie op het steeds groter wordende egoïsme in deze wereld. De maatschappij verliest cohesie, miljoenen mensen zijn op de vlucht voor honger en oorlog en de maatschappij blijft er schijnbaar gevoelloos voor. Deze gedachte stootte Adrian Hates zo tegen de borst dat hij niet gevoelloos aan de zijlijn kon staan toekijken.

Het resultaat is deze Grau Im Licht. Het album begint meteen dreigend en de titel van het openingsnummer heet dan ook Sinferno, wat je letterlijk als een inferno van zonden mag vertalen. Een dreigende repetitieve gitaarlijn ondersteunt de vocalen van Adrian op een manier waaruit je meteen begrijpt dat het menens is, en met een refrein als Keep your voice down is de boodschap niet mis te verstaan.

Endless Nights is daarentegen een stuk vriendelijker. Dit nummer wordt meer gedragen door de zwevende synths en de bekende diepe drums. Het nummer laat ons weten dat wie het gezicht van de wereld niet meer kan zien, toch verlichting kan vinden in de eindeloze egale duisternis van de nacht om zo even de geest wat rust te gunnen.

Ikarus begint als een ingetogen ballade, maar ontpopt zich in het refrein als een sterke song met opnieuw een heel duidelijke boodschap. Het ligt voor de hand dat dit album heel wat persoonlijke elementen van Adrian bevat. In elk nummer kan je zowel de dreiging en de chaos van de huidige wereld voelen, alsook de machteloosheid en de wanhoop van de slachtoffers die constant verdrukt en verjaagd worden.

Ook op Grau Im Licht zingt Adrian weer afwisselend in het Engels en in zijn moedertaal, het Duits. Twisten tussen verschillende religies zijn al vaak de oorzaak geweest van vervolging en verdrukking. In Krank wordt dan ook opgeroepen om je niet door religie te laten verstikken, boven de verschillen uit te stijgen en iedereen te respecteren. De rustige nummers op dit album zorgen ervoor dat het niet al te agressie en chaotisch wordt. Mooi en doordacht opgebouwd, met hier en daar een scherpe uithaal. Het is een aanrader om tijdens het beluisteren even het boekje met fraaie artwork erbij te halen en even de teksten mee te volgen om één en ander beter te kunnen plaatsen.

Grau Im Licht is opnieuw een echt Diary Of Dreams-album dat in niets te vergelijken is met het voorgaande.

Ruben SAEY
28/10/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper