tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/09/2015 : DIEMONDS - Never Wanna Die

DIEMONDS

Never Wanna Die

MusicCD
Hard RockMetal

[76/100]   

Napalm Records
15/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last month I got the album of Huntress. Shortly thereafter I received Diemonds and I immediately thought: I really hope that this rocks more, and yes, it is indeed better.

The title track Never Wanna Die sets the tone and exudes a rock 'n roll feel, something that can be said about the whole album. This is hard rock with some metal influences and a wonderful Joan Jett attitude. Priya Panda even sings a bit in the same way and so it sounds rather old school with some modern licks. The songs are rather short, something like three minutes. The album was produced by Eric Ratz, who previously did stuff for Billy Talent and Monster Truck.

These songs convince me: Never Wanna Die (which could be a perfect single), Secret, Wild At Heart and Meet Your Maker that has a very beautiful chorus. Do not expect an unforgettable album, but it sounds quite good. The lyrics are quite OK, just a pity of that insipid cover!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/09/2015


NL

Verleden maand kreeg ik het album van Huntress om te bespreken. Kort daarna kreeg ik Diemonds in mijn handen en meteen dacht ik: hopelijk rockt dit heel wat beter, en jawel, hoera, het is inderdaad beter.

De titel track Never Wanna Die zet meteen de toon en straalt een rock ’n roll gevoel uit, iets dat trouwens voor het hele album geldt. Dit is hardrock met wat metal invloeden en een heerlijke Joan Jett-attitude. Priya Panda zingt trouwens ook een beetje op dezelfde manier zoals zij, en dus klinkt het eerder old school met wat moderne licks. De nummers zijn eerder aan de korte kant: gemiddeld zo’n drie minuten. Het album is geproduceerd door Eric Ratz die eerder al Billy Talent en Monster Truck deed.

Deze nummers van de Canadezen konden mij overtuigen: Never Wanna Die (wat zo een single kon zijn), Secret, Wild At Heart en Meet Your Maker met een zeer mooi refrein.

Verwacht geen onvergetelijk album, maar toch klinkt dit goed. De teksten zijn best ok, alleen jammer van die smakeloze hoes!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/09/2015


15/09/2015 : DIEMONDS - Never Wanna Die 15/09/2015 : DIEMONDS - Never Wanna Die

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back