tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/09/2015 : DIEMONDS - Never Wanna Die

DIEMONDS

Never Wanna Die

MusicCD
Hard RockMetal

[76/100]   

Napalm Records
15/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last month I got the album of Huntress. Shortly thereafter I received Diemonds and I immediately thought: I really hope that this rocks more, and yes, it is indeed better.

The title track Never Wanna Die sets the tone and exudes a rock 'n roll feel, something that can be said about the whole album. This is hard rock with some metal influences and a wonderful Joan Jett attitude. Priya Panda even sings a bit in the same way and so it sounds rather old school with some modern licks. The songs are rather short, something like three minutes. The album was produced by Eric Ratz, who previously did stuff for Billy Talent and Monster Truck.

These songs convince me: Never Wanna Die (which could be a perfect single), Secret, Wild At Heart and Meet Your Maker that has a very beautiful chorus. Do not expect an unforgettable album, but it sounds quite good. The lyrics are quite OK, just a pity of that insipid cover!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/09/2015


NL

Verleden maand kreeg ik het album van Huntress om te bespreken. Kort daarna kreeg ik Diemonds in mijn handen en meteen dacht ik: hopelijk rockt dit heel wat beter, en jawel, hoera, het is inderdaad beter.

De titel track Never Wanna Die zet meteen de toon en straalt een rock ’n roll gevoel uit, iets dat trouwens voor het hele album geldt. Dit is hardrock met wat metal invloeden en een heerlijke Joan Jett-attitude. Priya Panda zingt trouwens ook een beetje op dezelfde manier zoals zij, en dus klinkt het eerder old school met wat moderne licks. De nummers zijn eerder aan de korte kant: gemiddeld zo’n drie minuten. Het album is geproduceerd door Eric Ratz die eerder al Billy Talent en Monster Truck deed.

Deze nummers van de Canadezen konden mij overtuigen: Never Wanna Die (wat zo een single kon zijn), Secret, Wild At Heart en Meet Your Maker met een zeer mooi refrein.

Verwacht geen onvergetelijk album, maar toch klinkt dit goed. De teksten zijn best ok, alleen jammer van die smakeloze hoes!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/09/2015


15/09/2015 : DIEMONDS - Never Wanna Die 15/09/2015 : DIEMONDS - Never Wanna Die

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire