tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/04/2012 : DINE ON ASHES - On Being Sane In Insane Places

DINE ON ASHES

On Being Sane In Insane Places

MusicCD
ElectroGothic

[75/100]   
17/04/2012, Didier BECU

Fans from Belgian coldwave-bands might remember Transparent Curse as this is the newest band from one of their founders, Wim Dielen. In all honesty before this cd dropped in our mailbox I have never heard from this band, but I'm quite glad I did as this is superb elektrogothpop.

What did I say elektrogothpop? I know it makes no sense, but if you could imagine how Nightwish would have sounded if they were accompanied by minimalisted synthetic sounds, I guess you'll have an idea what they're making. Dine On Ashes have lots of strong elements in their music and I guess the strongest of them all is the ethereal voice from Katherine De Groote who also wrote the lyrics from all the seven songs that graced this mini-album. I know I'm using a cliché right now, but then again they're created as they're the truth, but this album is a real grower and that's because of Wim's musical approach. The first time you do nothing but shrug the shoulders as the first impression is "nah, that's OK", but the more you hear it (and I played it five times in a row, so that's a proof to me!) those little sounds are getting a grip on you, something like only Colin Newman could.

Great album from a band that has a great future if it depends on us, so where are those gigorganisators as we want to see them on a stage! Check it out here!

Didier BECU
17/04/2012


 

Next reviews
AND ALSO THE TREES • Hunter Not The Hunted
• REWIND EASTER festival DAY 2 with D.A.F, Covenant, Neon Judgement,...
• REWIND EASTER festival DAY 1 with Project Pitchfork, Clan Of Xymox, Chameleons Vox,...
RETROGRAMME • For Our Dearly Departed
K-BEREIT • Positiv Sound / Negativ Beat
SUICIDE INSIDE • Homicide
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Magnetic Fields & Zero Dimensional Planes
DROID SECTOR DECAY • There Is No Light Over Devil's Land
FORMALIN • Wasteland Manifesto
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • The Rites of the Passage

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + GOTHIC
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
EXPONENTIA • Abend
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
MASSENHYSTERIE • Massenhysterie
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Till Dawn Do Us Part / BE
WITHIN TEMPTATION • Sinéad EP
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
GOTHMINISTER • Anima Inferna
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
CLAN OF XYMOX • The Darkest Hour

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
12
44 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 35 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 38 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Dark Electronic Band, Hem Netjer Talks Of Releasing Inner Warriors With New Single
01
12
52 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Gothic/Occult Wave Duo, Raven Said Brings Alchemy To 'Chants To Dissolve'

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview

PHOTOS

04
12
SALTATIO MORTIS
Ruhrcongress Bochum
28
11
FAUN
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
SKALD
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
EKLIPSE
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance
30
11
SOLDOUT
Forever
29
11
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
28
11
MAX LILJA
Twin Peaks Theme