tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DINOSAUR JR - Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not

DINOSAUR JR

Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not

MusicCD


[80/100]   

Jagjaguwar
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

It's been four years since the likeable power-grunge trio graced our eardrums with an album - I Bet On Sky was a return to form of sorts and heralded something of an unexpected landmark on their timeline. It was to be their third album this century, as many as Mascis, Murph and Barlow released in their original Dinosaur Jr incarnation in the last.

Somewhat heavier, poppier and more direct than the previous set, Give a Glimpse of What You're Not still rarely deviates from the Dinosaur template - the Mascis stoner growl and mournful guitar licks, the bowel-battering Rhodes basslines and the pummelling Barlow drums all add up to a typical rock-solid album. The opening quartet of rousing rockers could well be the equal of anything the threesome have ever knocked out, especially the glorious I Told Everyone and the insistent single Tiny.

Two songs come courtesy of Sebadoh's Lou Barlow, lacking in just one thing - the trademark J Mascis drawl - while the remaining nine tell of unrequited desires, hard-luck love and emotional wrenches. "I've been crawlin' around since I met you.../ Waste of time.." Mascis opines on the gloomfest that is Mirror, sounding like every damned girl that ever courted his long locks ended up setting them on fire.

Proceedings slow up during the second half of the album but are nonetheless engaging as ever, I Walk For Miles and Knocked Around vying for an award for the most intense intimate solemn guitar riff in the world. Business as usual and business is good. Very good.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover