tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : DINOSAUR JR. - Sint-Niklaas, De Casino 16-06-2016

DINOSAUR JR.

Sint-Niklaas, De Casino 16-06-2016

Concert
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Dinosaur Jr was in the 80's and 90's a part of my youth with songs like Out There or Freak Scene. After a long stop they're back now with new and relevant material. The nice thing is that you can see that by the audience, as a part are middle aged, while you also can notice youngsters who wants to discover the band. The gig at the beautiful and cosy De Casino was sold out for a while.

The support act was Night Beats from Texas. The band played some psychedelic garage rock and did that well. The singer was dressed like Che Guevara and the bass player like a Mexican, but musically it was enjoyable.

Shortly after Dinosaur Jr. started. At the both sides of the stage you saw a huge tower of Marshalls for Barlow and Mascis. They started good, but Mascis looked a bit pale, and during Back to Your Heart he went off stage. Murph and Barlow looked at each other and Barlow began a Sebadoh-song. The roadie found a doctor among the audience, so it seemed as if Mascis was pretty ill. Meanwhile the band played a few songs with the help of the roadie on the guitar. Just when I thought the show would be cancelled Mascis appears again with a chair. He burbled something and started Watch The Corners just like they never stopped.

A nice set with new work, and of course with the classics. Some played songs were Budge, Out There, Tiny (from the new album), the beautiful Feel the Pain, Just Like Heaven (indeed, that cover of The Cure), The Wagon and Start Choppin.

So it was a memorable evening and not only because of the music, and of course I was glad that Mascis had the power to finish the concert.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Dinosaur Junior maakte in de jaren 80 en 90 deel uit van mijn muzikale ontdekkingstocht met songs als Out There, Freak Scene... Intussen is de band na een lange pauze al weer een hele tijd terug springlevend met nieuw en relevant materiaal. Het fijne was dat je dat ook aan het publiek zag: een deel was van middelbare leeftijd en een deel was te jong voor Dinosaur Junior uit de eerste periode. De Casino was trouwens uitverkocht. Het is trouwens een heell mooie en gezellige zaal.

Night Beats uit Texas bracht een soort van psychedelische garagerock en deed dat goed. Een onderhoudend voorprogramma met een zanger die er als Che Guevara uitzag en een bassist vermomd als Mexicaan.

Kort daarna was het de beurt aan Dinosaur Junior. Mascis was voorzien van een immense toren Marshalls, net als bassist Barlow trouwens. Er werd pittig gestart. Mascis stond er een beetje bleekjes bij en tijdens Back to Your Heart verdween hij zowaar van het podium. Drummer Murph en Barlow keken naar elkaar en Barlow speelde een nummer van Sebadoh om er de sfeer in te houden. Iemand uit het publiek, wellicht een arts, stapte op het podium en verdween in de coulissen. Blijkbaar was er wat aan de hand. In elk geval werden er daarna nog enkele songs gespeeld waarbij de roadie de gitaar voor z'n rekening nam. En net toen ik dacht dat de show zou worden stopgezet, verscheen Mascis toch weer op het podium (met stoel). Na wat gemurmel werd Watch The Corners ingezet en de gitaren scheurden alsof ze nooit waren gestopt. Een mooie set met oud werk en nieuw materiaal dat trouwens mooi past tussen de klassiekers. Een selectie uit de set: Budge, Out There, Tiny (van het nieuwe album) , het prachtige Feel the Pain, Just Like Heaven (een cover van The Cure, die ook op het album You’re Living All Over Me staat), The Wagon, Start Choppin,…

Het was best een gedenkwaardig optreden, niet alleen vanwege de muziek maar ik was vooral blij dat Mascis erin slaagde om het concert af te maken. Muzikaal was het zeker in orde.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire