tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/08/2012 : DIRK GEIGER - Elf Morgen

DIRK GEIGER

Elf Morgen

MusicCD
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[85/100]   

Tympanik Audio
23/08/2012, Chris KONINGS

After the discovery of Access To Arasaka, I looked into a few other albums on offer with Tympanik Audio. So far I found a few gems, some of which you can read all about. Integral's soldout debut album "Rise", AtA free download "Orbitus", Subheim with "Approach" and Totakeke's debut album "eLekatota", these are easily up there with the best Hymen can offer us.

Not all albums are equally good and that's perfectly understandable. The first album (of a whole batch I received from those sympatic Canadians) I put my teeth in was Dirk Geiger's second album "Elf Morgen". His debut "Autumn Fields", I have not heard that one, but when seeing him last year at Maschinenfest I was not overly enthousiastic. I expecteded I would appreciate his music better while sitting in a comfy chair. And I do! He uses some fieldrecordings to set the mood, but it's his choice of melodies and sounds that creates some of the best idm/ambient I ever heard. A lot of different moods, on "Frozen Light" there's an eastern influence and on the next song he even makes a truly great postrock/metal effort! Not surprisingly because that one is in collaboration with Erode, or Alexander Dietz, the guitarist of Heaven Shall Burn. So it's not just electronics, there a whole lot more to be found on this amazing album.

Lighthearted, hopeful, the right amount of challenge and always compelling. Beautiful!

Tympanik Audio

Dirk Geiger

Chris KONINGS
23/08/2012


 

Next reviews
• The Human Centipede II
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Well-Known Pleasures
MARILLION • Best.Live
• Review of the Amphi festival 2012 in Cologne (Day TWO)
A RAINY DAY IN BERGEN • A Rainy day in Bergen
ELANDOR • Dark Asylum
PARANOID ANDROID • No Way Out
GIN DEVO • Errata
• Review of the Summer Darkness festival (DAY THREE) with Vomito Negro, Parade Ground, Camerata Mediolanense (Utrecht, 29 July 2012)
• Review of the Summer Darkness festival (DAY TWO) with Aesthetic Perfection, Agent Side Grinder, Mojo Fury, O. Children (Utrecht, 28 July 2012)

 

Other reviews from DIRK GEIGER
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
NEBULO • Cardiac
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ANKLEBITER • Raintree
KNOWN REBEL • Hollow
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
SUBHEIM • Approach
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Orbitus

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

30
09
THE DEMON RIND
Lonely This Evening
29
09
ALSO
Live in Celovec
27
09
JOSH WERNER
Mode For Titan
26
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Idiorhythmic
25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
09
A CERTAIN RATIO are back with a new album, ACR Loco!
25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing
19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
09
LOLA DUTRONIC
My Name is Lola
29
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love
28
09
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Slow Down
27
09
A CERTAIN RATIO
Always In Love
26
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath