tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

13/01/2016 : DISCOVER NEW MUSIC - VERSAILLES

DISCOVER NEW MUSIC

VERSAILLES

Article
Post Punk 13/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The underground is more than ever a thriving oasis of talent. It is not always easy to find your way in the countless sites that offers free music. Our website wants to be a helping hand. In our new section Discover New Music, we want to feature bands that aren’t noticed (yet).

The first in our series is Versailles. The link between the hunting lodge of Louis XIII and raw post-punk isn’t clear yet, but that’s not important. There’s something going in Italy, because Versailles is just another Italian music revelation. The band is a duo (Manu Magnini and Damiano), but just like the Reid brothers, the two make noise for a whole gang.

The old sound of The Jesus & The Mary Chain is indeed a reference, but you also hear the rawness of Joy Division even if they’re not another clone. The songs are full of energy and have a punk atmosphere that is indebted to noise bands like Husker Dü. Soon the duo would release a CD on Swiss Dark Knights (the label that has Ash Code under its wings).

The songs that will be released on their debut album are on their Soundcloud-page.

Here are the links you need if you want to follow Versailles:

Facebook
Soundcloud
Website

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


NL

De underground is meer dan ooit een bruisende oase van talent. Het is niet altijd even gemakkelijk om je een weg te banen in de talloze sites die kosteloos muziek aanbieden, en onze website wil een helpende hand zijn. In onze nieuwe rubriek Discover New Music willen we het over bands hebben die net iets te weinig zijn opgemerkt.

De eerste in het rijtje is Versailles. Het is nog niet meteen duidelijk wat de link is tussen het jachtslot van Lodewijk XIII en rauwe postpunk, maar zo belangrijk is dat nu ook weer niet. Er broeit wat in Italië, want (jawel) Versailles is alweer de zoveelste Italiaanse revelatie. Ze zijn maar met z'n tweeën (Manu Magnini en Damiano), maar net zoals de broertjes Reid maken ze lawaai voor een hele bende.

Het oude geluid van The Jesus & The Mary Chain is inderdaad een referentie, maar je hoort er tevens de rauwheid van Joy Division in zonder dat ze de zoveelste kloon zijn. De nummers zitten vol energie en hebben een punksfeer die schatplichtig is aan noisebands zoals Husker Dü. Binnenkort zou het duo een cd uitbrengen op Swiss Dark Knights (het label dat ook Ash Code onder zijn hoede heeft).

De nummers die op hun debuut verschijnen, kan je nu al op hun Soundcloud-pagina ontdekken.

Hier zijn de links die je nodig hebt om alles te volgen van Versailles:

Facebook
Soundcloud
Website

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet