tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

13/01/2016 : DISCOVER NEW MUSIC - VERSAILLES

DISCOVER NEW MUSIC

VERSAILLES

Article
Post Punk 13/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The underground is more than ever a thriving oasis of talent. It is not always easy to find your way in the countless sites that offers free music. Our website wants to be a helping hand. In our new section Discover New Music, we want to feature bands that aren’t noticed (yet).

The first in our series is Versailles. The link between the hunting lodge of Louis XIII and raw post-punk isn’t clear yet, but that’s not important. There’s something going in Italy, because Versailles is just another Italian music revelation. The band is a duo (Manu Magnini and Damiano), but just like the Reid brothers, the two make noise for a whole gang.

The old sound of The Jesus & The Mary Chain is indeed a reference, but you also hear the rawness of Joy Division even if they’re not another clone. The songs are full of energy and have a punk atmosphere that is indebted to noise bands like Husker Dü. Soon the duo would release a CD on Swiss Dark Knights (the label that has Ash Code under its wings).

The songs that will be released on their debut album are on their Soundcloud-page.

Here are the links you need if you want to follow Versailles:

Facebook
Soundcloud
Website

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


NL

De underground is meer dan ooit een bruisende oase van talent. Het is niet altijd even gemakkelijk om je een weg te banen in de talloze sites die kosteloos muziek aanbieden, en onze website wil een helpende hand zijn. In onze nieuwe rubriek Discover New Music willen we het over bands hebben die net iets te weinig zijn opgemerkt.

De eerste in het rijtje is Versailles. Het is nog niet meteen duidelijk wat de link is tussen het jachtslot van Lodewijk XIII en rauwe postpunk, maar zo belangrijk is dat nu ook weer niet. Er broeit wat in Italië, want (jawel) Versailles is alweer de zoveelste Italiaanse revelatie. Ze zijn maar met z'n tweeën (Manu Magnini en Damiano), maar net zoals de broertjes Reid maken ze lawaai voor een hele bende.

Het oude geluid van The Jesus & The Mary Chain is inderdaad een referentie, maar je hoort er tevens de rauwheid van Joy Division in zonder dat ze de zoveelste kloon zijn. De nummers zitten vol energie en hebben een punksfeer die schatplichtig is aan noisebands zoals Husker Dü. Binnenkort zou het duo een cd uitbrengen op Swiss Dark Knights (het label dat ook Ash Code onder zijn hoede heeft).

De nummers die op hun debuut verschijnen, kan je nu al op hun Soundcloud-pagina ontdekken.

Hier zijn de links die je nodig hebt om alles te volgen van Versailles:

Facebook
Soundcloud
Website

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum