tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

13/01/2016 : DISCOVER NEW MUSIC - VERSAILLES

DISCOVER NEW MUSIC

VERSAILLES

Article
Post Punk 13/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The underground is more than ever a thriving oasis of talent. It is not always easy to find your way in the countless sites that offers free music. Our website wants to be a helping hand. In our new section Discover New Music, we want to feature bands that aren’t noticed (yet).

The first in our series is Versailles. The link between the hunting lodge of Louis XIII and raw post-punk isn’t clear yet, but that’s not important. There’s something going in Italy, because Versailles is just another Italian music revelation. The band is a duo (Manu Magnini and Damiano), but just like the Reid brothers, the two make noise for a whole gang.

The old sound of The Jesus & The Mary Chain is indeed a reference, but you also hear the rawness of Joy Division even if they’re not another clone. The songs are full of energy and have a punk atmosphere that is indebted to noise bands like Husker Dü. Soon the duo would release a CD on Swiss Dark Knights (the label that has Ash Code under its wings).

The songs that will be released on their debut album are on their Soundcloud-page.

Here are the links you need if you want to follow Versailles:

Facebook
Soundcloud
Website

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


NL

De underground is meer dan ooit een bruisende oase van talent. Het is niet altijd even gemakkelijk om je een weg te banen in de talloze sites die kosteloos muziek aanbieden, en onze website wil een helpende hand zijn. In onze nieuwe rubriek Discover New Music willen we het over bands hebben die net iets te weinig zijn opgemerkt.

De eerste in het rijtje is Versailles. Het is nog niet meteen duidelijk wat de link is tussen het jachtslot van Lodewijk XIII en rauwe postpunk, maar zo belangrijk is dat nu ook weer niet. Er broeit wat in Italië, want (jawel) Versailles is alweer de zoveelste Italiaanse revelatie. Ze zijn maar met z'n tweeën (Manu Magnini en Damiano), maar net zoals de broertjes Reid maken ze lawaai voor een hele bende.

Het oude geluid van The Jesus & The Mary Chain is inderdaad een referentie, maar je hoort er tevens de rauwheid van Joy Division in zonder dat ze de zoveelste kloon zijn. De nummers zitten vol energie en hebben een punksfeer die schatplichtig is aan noisebands zoals Husker Dü. Binnenkort zou het duo een cd uitbrengen op Swiss Dark Knights (het label dat ook Ash Code onder zijn hoede heeft).

De nummers die op hun debuut verschijnen, kan je nu al op hun Soundcloud-pagina ontdekken.

Hier zijn de links die je nodig hebt om alles te volgen van Versailles:

Facebook
Soundcloud
Website

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf