tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : DISPLACER - Curse of The Black Vinyl

DISPLACER

Curse of The Black Vinyl

MusicVinyl
IDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[90/100]   

Hymen Records
10/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

A poetic piano piece (RZLA remixed by Hologram_) drags the listener into the latest outing from Displacer Curse of the Black Vinyl. A seven track album (I’d consider this an ep however) with three originals and four remixes that is placed somewhere between ambient techno, trip hop and idm with a very urban feel to it all. I could end the review here by just saying that it's very good. Picking out any particular track here is difficult since the baseline is very high. The three originals Freefall, I’ll Be Bach and Unbreakable present a dark and poetic Displacer. I honestly can't remember when was the last time I listened to a rapper but I’ll Be Bach (Overdub Mix by Displacer) presents Teslee Snipes on vocals and additionally Keef Baker on bass and it works very well.

The remixes respectively by Hologram_, DJ Swamp, Jonah K and Jack Dangers are all very different from each other and take the Displacer sound into different territories from trip hop to drum’n’bass infected illbient. However the collective experience of the album stands out as very coherent which is rare for the inclusion of remixes into a tracklist where a lot just function as filler ruining the consistency of the experience.

Let me add that I value the playing length of Curse of the Black Vinyl. The tight curation and the relatively short playing time fits the concept perfectly and leaves me wanting more.

Great parts of this release would fit seamlessly into any of Tim Simenon's Bomb the Bass albums after Into the Dragon and quite a few of these tracks will end up on my ever growing playlist for listening on the train or in the car. Highly recommended.

John R. MIRLAND
10/12/2016


Music reviews

21
07
AFTER ABSENCE
Demotape 1
19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
07
Empirion end their two decade hiatus with Double A-Side Single!
18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
07
DANA CALLEY (VAPORS OF MORPHINE)
From the beginning to the last note
19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
07
AND ONE
The End of Your Life (feat. Douglas J. McCarthy)
21
07
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
20
07
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away