tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : DISPLACER - Curse of The Black Vinyl

DISPLACER

Curse of The Black Vinyl

MusicVinyl
IDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[90/100]   

Hymen Records
10/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

A poetic piano piece (RZLA remixed by Hologram_) drags the listener into the latest outing from Displacer Curse of the Black Vinyl. A seven track album (I’d consider this an ep however) with three originals and four remixes that is placed somewhere between ambient techno, trip hop and idm with a very urban feel to it all. I could end the review here by just saying that it's very good. Picking out any particular track here is difficult since the baseline is very high. The three originals Freefall, I’ll Be Bach and Unbreakable present a dark and poetic Displacer. I honestly can't remember when was the last time I listened to a rapper but I’ll Be Bach (Overdub Mix by Displacer) presents Teslee Snipes on vocals and additionally Keef Baker on bass and it works very well.

The remixes respectively by Hologram_, DJ Swamp, Jonah K and Jack Dangers are all very different from each other and take the Displacer sound into different territories from trip hop to drum’n’bass infected illbient. However the collective experience of the album stands out as very coherent which is rare for the inclusion of remixes into a tracklist where a lot just function as filler ruining the consistency of the experience.

Let me add that I value the playing length of Curse of the Black Vinyl. The tight curation and the relatively short playing time fits the concept perfectly and leaves me wanting more.

Great parts of this release would fit seamlessly into any of Tim Simenon's Bomb the Bass albums after Into the Dragon and quite a few of these tracks will end up on my ever growing playlist for listening on the train or in the car. Highly recommended.

John R. MIRLAND
10/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets