tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : DISPLACER - Curse of The Black Vinyl

DISPLACER

Curse of The Black Vinyl

MusicVinyl
IDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[90/100]   

Hymen Records
10/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

A poetic piano piece (RZLA remixed by Hologram_) drags the listener into the latest outing from Displacer Curse of the Black Vinyl. A seven track album (I’d consider this an ep however) with three originals and four remixes that is placed somewhere between ambient techno, trip hop and idm with a very urban feel to it all. I could end the review here by just saying that it's very good. Picking out any particular track here is difficult since the baseline is very high. The three originals Freefall, I’ll Be Bach and Unbreakable present a dark and poetic Displacer. I honestly can't remember when was the last time I listened to a rapper but I’ll Be Bach (Overdub Mix by Displacer) presents Teslee Snipes on vocals and additionally Keef Baker on bass and it works very well.

The remixes respectively by Hologram_, DJ Swamp, Jonah K and Jack Dangers are all very different from each other and take the Displacer sound into different territories from trip hop to drum’n’bass infected illbient. However the collective experience of the album stands out as very coherent which is rare for the inclusion of remixes into a tracklist where a lot just function as filler ruining the consistency of the experience.

Let me add that I value the playing length of Curse of the Black Vinyl. The tight curation and the relatively short playing time fits the concept perfectly and leaves me wanting more.

Great parts of this release would fit seamlessly into any of Tim Simenon's Bomb the Bass albums after Into the Dragon and quite a few of these tracks will end up on my ever growing playlist for listening on the train or in the car. Highly recommended.

John R. MIRLAND
10/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn