tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

19/01/2019 : DIVE - Live Maschinenfest 2017

DIVE

Live Maschinenfest 2017

MusicCassette
EBMElectroIndustrial

[80/100]   
19/01/2019, Dimi BRANDS

EN

Next year Dark Entries will have its 25th anniversary. Looking back at those two and half decades we just can't ignore the figure of Dirk Ivens who seems inextricably linked to our magazine.

His solo project is not only almost 30 years old, we dedicated a whole chapter to him in the prestigious "Black Book" (aka De Dag Dat Het Zonlicht Niet Meer Scheen) and we also managed together with BodyBeats to have The Klinik perfomed on the stage of BIM Festival. And whether we talk about The Klinik, Absolute Body Control, Sonar or Dive, everyone in our editorial team is in fond of one or the other Dirk's project.

In memory of the Maschinenfest that held its last edition this year, Raubbau already released a few cassettes of some recorded performances there. After Sutcliffe Jügend, Orphx, The [Law-Rah] Collective, Contagious Orgasm and Feine Trinkers Bei Pinkels Daheim, Dirk Ivens may now add his contribution to this already great line-up with his solo project Dive.

In 2017, after a long absence, Dive released a new album, the great Underneath. This was the perfect timing to invite Ivens again to perform at Maschinenfest.

Not less than 7 out of the 10 songs from Underneath are included in the live recording, along with classics such as ‘Bloodmoney’, ‘Broken Meat’, ‘Dreamhunter’, ‘I Want You’, ‘Lies In Your Eyes’ and ‘Machinegun Baby’.

No matter how minimal the setting on stage may be: besides Ivens armed with a megaphone and minidisc, all the material he can use from his backcatalogue is fully efficient.

As with all other Dive releases, here's the same motto: play it loud!

Dimi BRANDS
19/01/2019


NL

Volgend jaar mag Dark Entries 25 kaarsjes uitblazen. Terugkijkend op die twee en een half decennia kunnen we niet om de figuur van Dirk Ivens heen die onlosmakelijk met ons magazine verbonden lijkt.

Niet alleen is zijn soloproject ook bijna 30 jaar oud en spendeerden we maar liefst een heel hoofdstuk in het prestigieuze “Black Book” (aka De Dag Dat Het Zonlicht Niet Meer Scheen) aan hem, tevens lukte het ons om samen met BodyBeats The Klinik op de planken van het BIM Festival te krijgen. En of het nu gaat om The Klinik, Absolute Body Control, Sonar of Dive, iedereen op onze redactie lust wel een of meerder projecten van Dirk.

Ter nagedachtenis van Maschinenfest dat dit jaar zijn laatste editie hield, bracht Raubbau al enkele cassettes uit met aldaar vastgelegde optredens. Na eerder Sutcliffe Jügend, Orphx, The [Law-Rah] Collective, Contagious Orgasm en Feine Trinkers Bei Pinkels Daheim mag Dirk Ivens met zijn soloproject Dive dit reeds fijn ogende rijtje aanvullen.

In 2017 verscheen na lange tijd nog eens een Dive-album, het prima Underneath. De perfecte gelegenheid dus om Ivens nog eens uit te nodigen op Maschinenfest.

Maar liefst 7 van de 10 songs van Underneath passeren de revue op deze live-opname, aangevuld met klassiekers ‘Bloodmoney’, ‘Broken Meat’, ‘Dreamhunter’, ‘I Want You’, ‘Lies In Your Eyes’ en ‘Machinegun Baby’.

Hoe minimaal de setting op het podium ook moge wezen (buiten Ivens gewapend met megafoon en minidisc valt er niets te bespeuren), de backcatalogue waaruit hij kan putten zit boordevol efficiënt materiaal.

Zoals voor elke Dive-release geldt ook hier het devies: afspelen op maximum volume!

Dimi BRANDS
19/01/2019


 

Next reviews
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST • B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN • EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Other reviews from DIVE
DIVE • Underneath

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
THE KLINIK • Eat Your Heart Out
GIN DEVO • Errata
NTRSN • Hardlines

 

Same genre: EBM
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L

Music reviews

12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real
31
03
PARADE GROUND
Life [Live In Frankfurt]

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!
10
04
THRILLSVILLE Releases Dark Electronic Single, 'Second Sleep'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday
15
04
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
15
04
JO QUAIL
The Falconer
14
04
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Tell Them