tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

19/01/2019 : DIVE - Live Maschinenfest 2017

DIVE

Live Maschinenfest 2017

MusicCassette
EBMElectroIndustrial

[80/100]   
19/01/2019, Dimi BRANDS

EN

Next year Dark Entries will have its 25th anniversary. Looking back at those two and half decades we just can't ignore the figure of Dirk Ivens who seems inextricably linked to our magazine.

His solo project is not only almost 30 years old, we dedicated a whole chapter to him in the prestigious "Black Book" (aka De Dag Dat Het Zonlicht Niet Meer Scheen) and we also managed together with BodyBeats to have The Klinik perfomed on the stage of BIM Festival. And whether we talk about The Klinik, Absolute Body Control, Sonar or Dive, everyone in our editorial team is in fond of one or the other Dirk's project.

In memory of the Maschinenfest that held its last edition this year, Raubbau already released a few cassettes of some recorded performances there. After Sutcliffe Jügend, Orphx, The [Law-Rah] Collective, Contagious Orgasm and Feine Trinkers Bei Pinkels Daheim, Dirk Ivens may now add his contribution to this already great line-up with his solo project Dive.

In 2017, after a long absence, Dive released a new album, the great Underneath. This was the perfect timing to invite Ivens again to perform at Maschinenfest.

Not less than 7 out of the 10 songs from Underneath are included in the live recording, along with classics such as ‘Bloodmoney’, ‘Broken Meat’, ‘Dreamhunter’, ‘I Want You’, ‘Lies In Your Eyes’ and ‘Machinegun Baby’.

No matter how minimal the setting on stage may be: besides Ivens armed with a megaphone and minidisc, all the material he can use from his backcatalogue is fully efficient.

As with all other Dive releases, here's the same motto: play it loud!

Dimi BRANDS
19/01/2019


NL

Volgend jaar mag Dark Entries 25 kaarsjes uitblazen. Terugkijkend op die twee en een half decennia kunnen we niet om de figuur van Dirk Ivens heen die onlosmakelijk met ons magazine verbonden lijkt.

Niet alleen is zijn soloproject ook bijna 30 jaar oud en spendeerden we maar liefst een heel hoofdstuk in het prestigieuze “Black Book” (aka De Dag Dat Het Zonlicht Niet Meer Scheen) aan hem, tevens lukte het ons om samen met BodyBeats The Klinik op de planken van het BIM Festival te krijgen. En of het nu gaat om The Klinik, Absolute Body Control, Sonar of Dive, iedereen op onze redactie lust wel een of meerder projecten van Dirk.

Ter nagedachtenis van Maschinenfest dat dit jaar zijn laatste editie hield, bracht Raubbau al enkele cassettes uit met aldaar vastgelegde optredens. Na eerder Sutcliffe Jügend, Orphx, The [Law-Rah] Collective, Contagious Orgasm en Feine Trinkers Bei Pinkels Daheim mag Dirk Ivens met zijn soloproject Dive dit reeds fijn ogende rijtje aanvullen.

In 2017 verscheen na lange tijd nog eens een Dive-album, het prima Underneath. De perfecte gelegenheid dus om Ivens nog eens uit te nodigen op Maschinenfest.

Maar liefst 7 van de 10 songs van Underneath passeren de revue op deze live-opname, aangevuld met klassiekers ‘Bloodmoney’, ‘Broken Meat’, ‘Dreamhunter’, ‘I Want You’, ‘Lies In Your Eyes’ en ‘Machinegun Baby’.

Hoe minimaal de setting op het podium ook moge wezen (buiten Ivens gewapend met megafoon en minidisc valt er niets te bespeuren), de backcatalogue waaruit hij kan putten zit boordevol efficiënt materiaal.

Zoals voor elke Dive-release geldt ook hier het devies: afspelen op maximum volume!

Dimi BRANDS
19/01/2019


 

Next reviews
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST • B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN • EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Other reviews from DIVE
DIVE • Where do we go from here
DIVE • Underneath

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius

 

Same genre: EBM
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
AD:KEY • Resonanz
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction

Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)