tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

19/01/2019 : DIVE - Live Maschinenfest 2017

DIVE

Live Maschinenfest 2017

MusicCassette
EBMElectroIndustrial

[80/100]   
19/01/2019, Dimi BRANDS

EN

Next year Dark Entries will have its 25th anniversary. Looking back at those two and half decades we just can't ignore the figure of Dirk Ivens who seems inextricably linked to our magazine.

His solo project is not only almost 30 years old, we dedicated a whole chapter to him in the prestigious "Black Book" (aka De Dag Dat Het Zonlicht Niet Meer Scheen) and we also managed together with BodyBeats to have The Klinik perfomed on the stage of BIM Festival. And whether we talk about The Klinik, Absolute Body Control, Sonar or Dive, everyone in our editorial team is in fond of one or the other Dirk's project.

In memory of the Maschinenfest that held its last edition this year, Raubbau already released a few cassettes of some recorded performances there. After Sutcliffe Jügend, Orphx, The [Law-Rah] Collective, Contagious Orgasm and Feine Trinkers Bei Pinkels Daheim, Dirk Ivens may now add his contribution to this already great line-up with his solo project Dive.

In 2017, after a long absence, Dive released a new album, the great Underneath. This was the perfect timing to invite Ivens again to perform at Maschinenfest.

Not less than 7 out of the 10 songs from Underneath are included in the live recording, along with classics such as ‘Bloodmoney’, ‘Broken Meat’, ‘Dreamhunter’, ‘I Want You’, ‘Lies In Your Eyes’ and ‘Machinegun Baby’.

No matter how minimal the setting on stage may be: besides Ivens armed with a megaphone and minidisc, all the material he can use from his backcatalogue is fully efficient.

As with all other Dive releases, here's the same motto: play it loud!

Dimi BRANDS
19/01/2019


NL

Volgend jaar mag Dark Entries 25 kaarsjes uitblazen. Terugkijkend op die twee en een half decennia kunnen we niet om de figuur van Dirk Ivens heen die onlosmakelijk met ons magazine verbonden lijkt.

Niet alleen is zijn soloproject ook bijna 30 jaar oud en spendeerden we maar liefst een heel hoofdstuk in het prestigieuze “Black Book” (aka De Dag Dat Het Zonlicht Niet Meer Scheen) aan hem, tevens lukte het ons om samen met BodyBeats The Klinik op de planken van het BIM Festival te krijgen. En of het nu gaat om The Klinik, Absolute Body Control, Sonar of Dive, iedereen op onze redactie lust wel een of meerder projecten van Dirk.

Ter nagedachtenis van Maschinenfest dat dit jaar zijn laatste editie hield, bracht Raubbau al enkele cassettes uit met aldaar vastgelegde optredens. Na eerder Sutcliffe Jügend, Orphx, The [Law-Rah] Collective, Contagious Orgasm en Feine Trinkers Bei Pinkels Daheim mag Dirk Ivens met zijn soloproject Dive dit reeds fijn ogende rijtje aanvullen.

In 2017 verscheen na lange tijd nog eens een Dive-album, het prima Underneath. De perfecte gelegenheid dus om Ivens nog eens uit te nodigen op Maschinenfest.

Maar liefst 7 van de 10 songs van Underneath passeren de revue op deze live-opname, aangevuld met klassiekers ‘Bloodmoney’, ‘Broken Meat’, ‘Dreamhunter’, ‘I Want You’, ‘Lies In Your Eyes’ en ‘Machinegun Baby’.

Hoe minimaal de setting op het podium ook moge wezen (buiten Ivens gewapend met megafoon en minidisc valt er niets te bespeuren), de backcatalogue waaruit hij kan putten zit boordevol efficiënt materiaal.

Zoals voor elke Dive-release geldt ook hier het devies: afspelen op maximum volume!

Dimi BRANDS
19/01/2019


 

Next reviews
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST • B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN • EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Other reviews from DIVE
DIVE • Underneath

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
THE KLINIK • Eat Your Heart Out
GIN DEVO • Errata
NTRSN • Hardlines

 

Same genre: EBM
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap