tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

17/09/2015 : DIVE, VOLKOVA, KARL HEFNER & HUGH LAGERFELD - Daft Records Night @ Kavka, Antwerp, 11/09/2015

DIVE, VOLKOVA, KARL HEFNER & HUGH LAGERFELD

Daft Records Night @ Kavka, Antwerp, 11/09/2015

Concert
17/09/2015, Benny CALUWE

Karl Hefner & Hugh Lagerfeld opened the evening. It's the new project of Günter Haegeman, known from Observe Reality. Together with his partner in crime (Dries Devreeze) he delivered nicely built up electronics, combining retro and contemporary sounds. Maybe to much 90's dance elements to be my cup of tea, but I could appreciate it though. And so did the crowd. Hefner & Lagerfeld were accompagnied by two female dancers. Just like the band members they were masked. With some videos on top, they took care of the visual aspect. Quite enjoyable.

Second band to mount the stage was the Argentinian dark wave band Volkova, the project of Cesar Canali and Paula Lazzarino. They started the set with The Call and Trauma And Dreams. Those two mesmerizing tracks were followed by some up beat tracks and the front of the crowd even started to dance. After a while Cesar plugged in a guitar and took over the vocals. Paula took place behind the keyboards. Respect for Volkova that they dared to play some less accesible tracks, but by doing this they somehow lost their momentum. Luckily Cesar took place behind the synths again, giving Paula the opportunity to shine some more with her excellent live vocals. Towards the end of the set Volkova played Criminal, a song especially written for the Deep compilation. An interesting and mostly strong set.

Head of the bill was Dive. Armed with only a mini disc, a strobelight and tons of confidence Dirk Ivens immediately dropped a bomb! Blood money set the crowd on fire right from the start. The power of passion, with its powerfull percussion, how applicable. The crowd reacted passionate as well. After the haunting Broken meat, Dirk surprised us with Nothing's real, a song of his former project Blok 57 (with Mario Varewyck, ex-Vomito Negro). Other surprises followed: a hammering version of Joy Division's Isolation and a harsh remake of The Klinik's Moving Hands! The first rows went nuts on classics such as Final Report, There is no hope and Snakedressed. Simply awesome!

I saw Dirk Ivens perform a multiple times solo as Dive and with his other projects The Klinik, Absolute Body Control and Sonar. It was never dissapointing! On 23rd October he performs with Absolute Body Control in Retie, together with EX-RZ and Simi Nah. On 23rd November ABC he plays at De Casino in St.-Niklaas with EBM pioneers DAF.

Setlist DIVE:
Blood Money
The Power Of Passion (The Klinik)
Broken Meat
Nothing's Real (Blok 57)
Isolation (Joy Division)
Final Report
Machinegun Baby
Waiting And Burning
Burn Baby Burn (Blok 57)
Pain & Pleasure (The Klinik)
Moving Hands (The Klinik)
Sufferhead
There Is No Hope
Rocket USA (Suicide)
Snakedressed
Blindness

Benny CALUWE
17/09/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?