tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

17/09/2015 : DIVE, VOLKOVA, KARL HEFNER & HUGH LAGERFELD - Daft Records Night @ Kavka, Antwerp, 11/09/2015

DIVE, VOLKOVA, KARL HEFNER & HUGH LAGERFELD

Daft Records Night @ Kavka, Antwerp, 11/09/2015

Concert
17/09/2015, Benny CALUWE

Karl Hefner & Hugh Lagerfeld opened the evening. It's the new project of Günter Haegeman, known from Observe Reality. Together with his partner in crime (Dries Devreeze) he delivered nicely built up electronics, combining retro and contemporary sounds. Maybe to much 90's dance elements to be my cup of tea, but I could appreciate it though. And so did the crowd. Hefner & Lagerfeld were accompagnied by two female dancers. Just like the band members they were masked. With some videos on top, they took care of the visual aspect. Quite enjoyable.

Second band to mount the stage was the Argentinian dark wave band Volkova, the project of Cesar Canali and Paula Lazzarino. They started the set with The Call and Trauma And Dreams. Those two mesmerizing tracks were followed by some up beat tracks and the front of the crowd even started to dance. After a while Cesar plugged in a guitar and took over the vocals. Paula took place behind the keyboards. Respect for Volkova that they dared to play some less accesible tracks, but by doing this they somehow lost their momentum. Luckily Cesar took place behind the synths again, giving Paula the opportunity to shine some more with her excellent live vocals. Towards the end of the set Volkova played Criminal, a song especially written for the Deep compilation. An interesting and mostly strong set.

Head of the bill was Dive. Armed with only a mini disc, a strobelight and tons of confidence Dirk Ivens immediately dropped a bomb! Blood money set the crowd on fire right from the start. The power of passion, with its powerfull percussion, how applicable. The crowd reacted passionate as well. After the haunting Broken meat, Dirk surprised us with Nothing's real, a song of his former project Blok 57 (with Mario Varewyck, ex-Vomito Negro). Other surprises followed: a hammering version of Joy Division's Isolation and a harsh remake of The Klinik's Moving Hands! The first rows went nuts on classics such as Final Report, There is no hope and Snakedressed. Simply awesome!

I saw Dirk Ivens perform a multiple times solo as Dive and with his other projects The Klinik, Absolute Body Control and Sonar. It was never dissapointing! On 23rd October he performs with Absolute Body Control in Retie, together with EX-RZ and Simi Nah. On 23rd November ABC he plays at De Casino in St.-Niklaas with EBM pioneers DAF.

Setlist DIVE:
Blood Money
The Power Of Passion (The Klinik)
Broken Meat
Nothing's Real (Blok 57)
Isolation (Joy Division)
Final Report
Machinegun Baby
Waiting And Burning
Burn Baby Burn (Blok 57)
Pain & Pleasure (The Klinik)
Moving Hands (The Klinik)
Sufferhead
There Is No Hope
Rocket USA (Suicide)
Snakedressed
Blindness

Benny CALUWE
17/09/2015


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad