tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/06/2011 : DIVINE MUZAK - Maison Skinny

DIVINE MUZAK

Maison Skinny

MusicCD
ExperimentalMinimalNew wavePop

[71/100]   

Punch Records
14/06/2011, Didier BECU

A tiny Italian label that recently caught our attention is Punch Records. One of the artists you can find there are Divine Muzak, fronted by Julie and Dan who found each other at some a goth reunion in Bucharest. 

The legend says that Julie walked towards Dan, asking him to form a band but with one condition: she never would take something like a vocal test.

This scenario might comes straight out of the Amélie Poulain-movie but a year later the two delivered "Dialogue" that deals about each other’s fantasy of rape.

Again on their newest cd that's been described as "hospital pop", they didn't avoid the controversy as not only Julie poses her totally naked on the cover, their lyrics are all about sex.

Musicwise "Maison Skinny" is a strange melting pot of poppy avant-garde stuff in where accordions (yeah, even Beirut-like atmospheres) that are linked to electropop but mind you, most of the times it stays pop to the core!

It's even a record that will certainly appeal to all the minimal synth fans, as tracks like "Vienna" are popgems that should work fine on some Wierd-playlist.

Perhaps it's a bit sad that they escape the pop route a bit too often (as that's surely the best direction they can go into) but still : if you wander around some little recordshop, grab your record dealer (Smurf from Wool-E for instance) beg for headphones and who knows you might fall in love. Just don't stare too much at the cover!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Didier BECU
14/06/2011


 

Next reviews
VERDIANA RAW • Demo
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP
KINDEST LINES • Covered in dust
DAYBED • NEWCLEAR WAVES | VIOLENCE CONJUGALE | ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011 | The kingdom of analogue synths
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool
CRUISE [CTRL] • Red or blue? (Remixes)
RELIGIOUS TO DAMN • Glass Prayer
ARBEID ADELT! • live@AB2011
CHRIS WATSON & MARCUS DAVIDSON • Cross-Pollination
CAITHNESS • Apostasy & the sorrowful child

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song