tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/12/2014 : DJ MARCELLE - Meets Most Soulmates At Faust studiolab DJ

DJ MARCELLE

Meets Most Soulmates At Faust studiolab DJ

MusicCD
Krautrock

[70/100]   

Klangbad
13/12/2014, Paul PLEDGER

After John Peel, it's always refreshing to learn of other older-generation DJs keeping the spirit of adventure alive and kicking. Whether it's DJ Derek, Gideon Coe, Mary Anne-Hobbs or mates of mine spinning rare and not-so-rare soul and pop records in a Brighton/London/Exeter pub, stringing unlikely music together for the pleasure of others is far more admirable than some flash Harry or Harriet glitzing it up in a chain-store nightclub.

Continuing this tradition is Amsterdam's DJ Marcelle, a down-to-earth lady who digs crates deeper than an archeologist. As well as repping her Another Fine Mess productions on radio and live on stage, Marcelle has issued a handful of double-albums on Faust's Klangbad label - this is the fourth. Most mix-albums end up in the bin after a few years - rest assured that these volumes define the word 'timeless' at the drop of a crossfader.

On Meets Most Soulmates At Faust Studio DJ Lab, Marcelle has gathered up over fifty wilfully obscure but enthralling chunks of funk, reggae, glitch, African - in fact, you name it and the lady fuses several tunes together on occasion, just to keep you on your confused dancing toes. Most of the music is derived from Northern Europe majors and indie-labels, some dating back to the '60s and a few from as far-flung as Brazil or, in the case of one track, a UK flexi-disc of former Israeli prime-minster Golda Meir delivering a speech at The Conference On Human Needs in Israel. Now that's niche! Side four delivers five collaborative works recorded ad-hoc or in the studio, all of which range from the atonal to the mesmeric.

Designed for the adventurous music-lover!

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
13/12/2014


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain