tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : DORIC - Sleep Of Reason

DORIC

Sleep Of Reason

MusicVinyl
Minimal

[86/100]   

Peripheral Minimal
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you love contemporary minimal music, then you are certainly familiar with the Greek artist Stathis Leontiadis. With his bands Human Puppets, Exetix and Plexiglas this musician became one of the stars of the genre. Now he is back with Doric. With this solo project he already released a single and an album on Fabrika and a 10" on Domestica. The new release is once again a 10", this time on Peripheral Minimal.

Doric uses a special concept. The A-side is the so-called Asleep side and is about loneliness: music that sounds paranoid. Sleep Of Reason is almost unbearable, it’s madness driven by minimal electronics. Everything is very danceable, but this is the dance of madness. The minimal sound comes straight from the 80s. Over My Dreams sounds a bit like the early Parade Ground. Simply great! Head Against the Wall (a title that needs little explanation) is slow and compelling.

The three tracks on the B-side are the Awaken side for which Stathis worked together with Pascal (Foucault, Noisetoy, Ludmilla) and Valisia Odell (Phoenix Catscratch, Strawberry Pills, Father Breath), two musicians who are no strangers in the Greek underground.

Exposing Vanity and Life In Reverse do not sound cheerful, but you hear a different dimensionn of Doric. The lyrics are about the malaise of the society we live in. Not that you will understand Stathis' words, but music is a language in itself.

Do not hesitate, just buy this!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Als je van hedendaagse minimal houdt, heb je zeker al van de Griek Stathis Leontiadis gehoord. Met zijn bands Human Puppets, Exetix en Plexiglas mag deze muzikant zich tot één van de sterren van het genre kronen. Nu is hij er opnieuw met Doric, een soloproject waarmee hij al eerder een single en album op Fabrika en een 10” op Domestica uitbracht. De nieuwe release is opnieuw een 10” en deze keer op Peripheral Minimal.

Doric koos voor een speciaal concept. De A-kant is de Asleep-side en gaat over eenzaamheid: muziek die paranoïde klinkt. Sleep Of Reason is bijna ondraaglijk, waanzin die wordt gedreven door minimale elektronica. Alles is uiterst dansbaar, maar het is de dans van de dolheid. Het minimal geluid komt regelrecht uit de jaren 80. Over My Dreams klinkt wat als de begindagen van Parade Ground. Fantastisch dus! Head Against The Wall (een titel die maar weinig uitleg nodig heeft) is traag en meeslepend.

De drie tracks op de B-kant vormen de Awaken-side. Stathis werkte op deze songs samen met Pascal (Foucault, Noisetoy, Ludmilla) en Valisia Odell (Phoenix Catscratch, Strawberry Pills, Father Breath), twee muzikanten die in de Griekse underground geen onbekenden zijn.

Exposing Vanity of Life In Reverse klinken wel niet bepaald vrolijk, toch hoor je hier een andere dimensie. De teksten gaan over de malaise van de maatschappij waarin we leven. Niet dat je veel van Stathis’ woorden kan begrijpen, maar muziek is een taal op zich.

Niet twijfelen, aanschaffen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void