tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : DORIC - Sleep Of Reason

DORIC

Sleep Of Reason

MusicVinyl
Minimal

[86/100]   

Peripheral Minimal
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you love contemporary minimal music, then you are certainly familiar with the Greek artist Stathis Leontiadis. With his bands Human Puppets, Exetix and Plexiglas this musician became one of the stars of the genre. Now he is back with Doric. With this solo project he already released a single and an album on Fabrika and a 10" on Domestica. The new release is once again a 10", this time on Peripheral Minimal.

Doric uses a special concept. The A-side is the so-called Asleep side and is about loneliness: music that sounds paranoid. Sleep Of Reason is almost unbearable, it’s madness driven by minimal electronics. Everything is very danceable, but this is the dance of madness. The minimal sound comes straight from the 80s. Over My Dreams sounds a bit like the early Parade Ground. Simply great! Head Against the Wall (a title that needs little explanation) is slow and compelling.

The three tracks on the B-side are the Awaken side for which Stathis worked together with Pascal (Foucault, Noisetoy, Ludmilla) and Valisia Odell (Phoenix Catscratch, Strawberry Pills, Father Breath), two musicians who are no strangers in the Greek underground.

Exposing Vanity and Life In Reverse do not sound cheerful, but you hear a different dimensionn of Doric. The lyrics are about the malaise of the society we live in. Not that you will understand Stathis' words, but music is a language in itself.

Do not hesitate, just buy this!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Als je van hedendaagse minimal houdt, heb je zeker al van de Griek Stathis Leontiadis gehoord. Met zijn bands Human Puppets, Exetix en Plexiglas mag deze muzikant zich tot één van de sterren van het genre kronen. Nu is hij er opnieuw met Doric, een soloproject waarmee hij al eerder een single en album op Fabrika en een 10” op Domestica uitbracht. De nieuwe release is opnieuw een 10” en deze keer op Peripheral Minimal.

Doric koos voor een speciaal concept. De A-kant is de Asleep-side en gaat over eenzaamheid: muziek die paranoïde klinkt. Sleep Of Reason is bijna ondraaglijk, waanzin die wordt gedreven door minimale elektronica. Alles is uiterst dansbaar, maar het is de dans van de dolheid. Het minimal geluid komt regelrecht uit de jaren 80. Over My Dreams klinkt wat als de begindagen van Parade Ground. Fantastisch dus! Head Against The Wall (een titel die maar weinig uitleg nodig heeft) is traag en meeslepend.

De drie tracks op de B-kant vormen de Awaken-side. Stathis werkte op deze songs samen met Pascal (Foucault, Noisetoy, Ludmilla) en Valisia Odell (Phoenix Catscratch, Strawberry Pills, Father Breath), twee muzikanten die in de Griekse underground geen onbekenden zijn.

Exposing Vanity of Life In Reverse klinken wel niet bepaald vrolijk, toch hoor je hier een andere dimensie. De teksten gaan over de malaise van de maatschappij waarin we leven. Niet dat je veel van Stathis’ woorden kan begrijpen, maar muziek is een taal op zich.

Niet twijfelen, aanschaffen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway