tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : DORIC - Sleep Of Reason

DORIC

Sleep Of Reason

MusicVinyl
Minimal

[86/100]   

Peripheral Minimal
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you love contemporary minimal music, then you are certainly familiar with the Greek artist Stathis Leontiadis. With his bands Human Puppets, Exetix and Plexiglas this musician became one of the stars of the genre. Now he is back with Doric. With this solo project he already released a single and an album on Fabrika and a 10" on Domestica. The new release is once again a 10", this time on Peripheral Minimal.

Doric uses a special concept. The A-side is the so-called Asleep side and is about loneliness: music that sounds paranoid. Sleep Of Reason is almost unbearable, it’s madness driven by minimal electronics. Everything is very danceable, but this is the dance of madness. The minimal sound comes straight from the 80s. Over My Dreams sounds a bit like the early Parade Ground. Simply great! Head Against the Wall (a title that needs little explanation) is slow and compelling.

The three tracks on the B-side are the Awaken side for which Stathis worked together with Pascal (Foucault, Noisetoy, Ludmilla) and Valisia Odell (Phoenix Catscratch, Strawberry Pills, Father Breath), two musicians who are no strangers in the Greek underground.

Exposing Vanity and Life In Reverse do not sound cheerful, but you hear a different dimensionn of Doric. The lyrics are about the malaise of the society we live in. Not that you will understand Stathis' words, but music is a language in itself.

Do not hesitate, just buy this!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Als je van hedendaagse minimal houdt, heb je zeker al van de Griek Stathis Leontiadis gehoord. Met zijn bands Human Puppets, Exetix en Plexiglas mag deze muzikant zich tot één van de sterren van het genre kronen. Nu is hij er opnieuw met Doric, een soloproject waarmee hij al eerder een single en album op Fabrika en een 10” op Domestica uitbracht. De nieuwe release is opnieuw een 10” en deze keer op Peripheral Minimal.

Doric koos voor een speciaal concept. De A-kant is de Asleep-side en gaat over eenzaamheid: muziek die paranoïde klinkt. Sleep Of Reason is bijna ondraaglijk, waanzin die wordt gedreven door minimale elektronica. Alles is uiterst dansbaar, maar het is de dans van de dolheid. Het minimal geluid komt regelrecht uit de jaren 80. Over My Dreams klinkt wat als de begindagen van Parade Ground. Fantastisch dus! Head Against The Wall (een titel die maar weinig uitleg nodig heeft) is traag en meeslepend.

De drie tracks op de B-kant vormen de Awaken-side. Stathis werkte op deze songs samen met Pascal (Foucault, Noisetoy, Ludmilla) en Valisia Odell (Phoenix Catscratch, Strawberry Pills, Father Breath), twee muzikanten die in de Griekse underground geen onbekenden zijn.

Exposing Vanity of Life In Reverse klinken wel niet bepaald vrolijk, toch hoor je hier een andere dimensie. De teksten gaan over de malaise van de maatschappij waarin we leven. Niet dat je veel van Stathis’ woorden kan begrijpen, maar muziek is een taal op zich.

Niet twijfelen, aanschaffen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing