tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/12/2016 : DORIC - Sleep Of Reason

DORIC

Sleep Of Reason

MusicVinyl
Minimal

[86/100]   

Peripheral Minimal
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you love contemporary minimal music, then you are certainly familiar with the Greek artist Stathis Leontiadis. With his bands Human Puppets, Exetix and Plexiglas this musician became one of the stars of the genre. Now he is back with Doric. With this solo project he already released a single and an album on Fabrika and a 10" on Domestica. The new release is once again a 10", this time on Peripheral Minimal.

Doric uses a special concept. The A-side is the so-called Asleep side and is about loneliness: music that sounds paranoid. Sleep Of Reason is almost unbearable, it’s madness driven by minimal electronics. Everything is very danceable, but this is the dance of madness. The minimal sound comes straight from the 80s. Over My Dreams sounds a bit like the early Parade Ground. Simply great! Head Against the Wall (a title that needs little explanation) is slow and compelling.

The three tracks on the B-side are the Awaken side for which Stathis worked together with Pascal (Foucault, Noisetoy, Ludmilla) and Valisia Odell (Phoenix Catscratch, Strawberry Pills, Father Breath), two musicians who are no strangers in the Greek underground.

Exposing Vanity and Life In Reverse do not sound cheerful, but you hear a different dimensionn of Doric. The lyrics are about the malaise of the society we live in. Not that you will understand Stathis' words, but music is a language in itself.

Do not hesitate, just buy this!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Als je van hedendaagse minimal houdt, heb je zeker al van de Griek Stathis Leontiadis gehoord. Met zijn bands Human Puppets, Exetix en Plexiglas mag deze muzikant zich tot één van de sterren van het genre kronen. Nu is hij er opnieuw met Doric, een soloproject waarmee hij al eerder een single en album op Fabrika en een 10” op Domestica uitbracht. De nieuwe release is opnieuw een 10” en deze keer op Peripheral Minimal.

Doric koos voor een speciaal concept. De A-kant is de Asleep-side en gaat over eenzaamheid: muziek die paranoïde klinkt. Sleep Of Reason is bijna ondraaglijk, waanzin die wordt gedreven door minimale elektronica. Alles is uiterst dansbaar, maar het is de dans van de dolheid. Het minimal geluid komt regelrecht uit de jaren 80. Over My Dreams klinkt wat als de begindagen van Parade Ground. Fantastisch dus! Head Against The Wall (een titel die maar weinig uitleg nodig heeft) is traag en meeslepend.

De drie tracks op de B-kant vormen de Awaken-side. Stathis werkte op deze songs samen met Pascal (Foucault, Noisetoy, Ludmilla) en Valisia Odell (Phoenix Catscratch, Strawberry Pills, Father Breath), twee muzikanten die in de Griekse underground geen onbekenden zijn.

Exposing Vanity of Life In Reverse klinken wel niet bepaald vrolijk, toch hoor je hier een andere dimensie. De teksten gaan over de malaise van de maatschappij waarin we leven. Niet dat je veel van Stathis’ woorden kan begrijpen, maar muziek is een taal op zich.

Niet twijfelen, aanschaffen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless