tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOUBLE VETERANS - Space Age Voyeurism

DOUBLE VETERANS

Space Age Voyeurism

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[79/100]   

Noisesome Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Double Veterans is a Belgian band of Lee Swinnen, the son of a famous Belgian rock star (Guy of The Scabs), but it would be unfair to judge the band on that sole fact. During years this trio from Hasselt worked hard by playing lots of gigs and making garage rock with roots in the sixties, that also can be described as indie with style.

The debut The Brotherhood Of Scary Hair And Homemade Religion was released by Fons Records, and now the threesome has a new album which includes twelve songs.

The opener and also single) Cocktail probably is the most radio friendly song here: power rock as perfect ear wax. But that’s only a beginning, as from the second track (Graveyard) it is clear that Lee, Niels and Thomas are keen on loud fuzz guitars. On Medicine Man, you even hear some psychedelics, and then you automatically end up thinking of 13th Floor Elevators.

Other influences (at least that is what we think) are Tav Falco (the fantastic Nicotine Girl) and MC5 in I, You. Slick Cut even makes us think that The Cramps are living in Hasselt nowadays.

Space Age Voyeurism is a dirty rock, for once you’re allowed to lick your sticky fingers.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Je kan flauw doen en Double Veterans introduceren als de band van Lee Swinnen (zoon van), maar wie geregeld de Belgische concertzalen afschuimt weet dat dit trio uit Hasselt gezwoegd heeft om z'n eigen stempel op de Belgische (wat ons betreft internationale) muziekscène te drukken. Double Veterans staat garant voor snedige garagerock met roots in de sixties, maar die dankzij de eigentijdse melodieën evengoed als indie met stijl kan doorgaan.

Na The Brotherhood Of Scary Hair And Homemade Religion op Fons Records zijn de drie lawaaimakers er opnieuw met een plaat waarop twaalf nummers pronken. Er is maar één sleutelzin op deze nieuweling te horen: it’s only rock ’n roll, but we like it!

De opener, en tevens single, Cocktail is zonder twijfel de meest radiovriendelijke song op deze plaat vol gitaargeweld. Powerrock die uitstekend dienst doet als oorsmeer, maar in Graveyard wordt het gauw duidelijk dat Lee, Niels en Thomas verlekkerd zijn op rommelige fuzzgitaren. In Medicine Man wordt er zelfs nog wat psychedelica toegevoegd waardoor je automatisch, of je het nu wilt of niet, bij 13th Floor Elevators uitkomt.

Andere voorbeelden (ten minste dat vinden wij toch) zijn Tav Falco (het fantastische Nicotine Girl) en MC5. Luister naar I, You. Bij Slick Cut denken we zelfs gedurende drie minuten dat The Cramps in Hasselt wonen.

Space Age Voyeurism is een vuile, vieze rockplaat. Voor een keer mag je aan je vingers likken.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
LILI GRACE • Lili Grace
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
WOLVENNEST • Wolvennest Featuring Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand
10CC • Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)
LION SHEPHERD • Hiraeth
RECORDERS • Coast To Coast
LUCA SIGURTA • Warm Glow
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
DEUX FILLES • Space & Time
LACRIMOSA + CANTERRA • Roeselare, Kerelsplein (27/02/16)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
MY BABY • Shamanaid

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now