tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOUBLE VETERANS - Space Age Voyeurism

DOUBLE VETERANS

Space Age Voyeurism

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[79/100]   

Noisesome Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Double Veterans is a Belgian band of Lee Swinnen, the son of a famous Belgian rock star (Guy of The Scabs), but it would be unfair to judge the band on that sole fact. During years this trio from Hasselt worked hard by playing lots of gigs and making garage rock with roots in the sixties, that also can be described as indie with style.

The debut The Brotherhood Of Scary Hair And Homemade Religion was released by Fons Records, and now the threesome has a new album which includes twelve songs.

The opener and also single) Cocktail probably is the most radio friendly song here: power rock as perfect ear wax. But that’s only a beginning, as from the second track (Graveyard) it is clear that Lee, Niels and Thomas are keen on loud fuzz guitars. On Medicine Man, you even hear some psychedelics, and then you automatically end up thinking of 13th Floor Elevators.

Other influences (at least that is what we think) are Tav Falco (the fantastic Nicotine Girl) and MC5 in I, You. Slick Cut even makes us think that The Cramps are living in Hasselt nowadays.

Space Age Voyeurism is a dirty rock, for once you’re allowed to lick your sticky fingers.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Je kan flauw doen en Double Veterans introduceren als de band van Lee Swinnen (zoon van), maar wie geregeld de Belgische concertzalen afschuimt weet dat dit trio uit Hasselt gezwoegd heeft om z'n eigen stempel op de Belgische (wat ons betreft internationale) muziekscène te drukken. Double Veterans staat garant voor snedige garagerock met roots in de sixties, maar die dankzij de eigentijdse melodieën evengoed als indie met stijl kan doorgaan.

Na The Brotherhood Of Scary Hair And Homemade Religion op Fons Records zijn de drie lawaaimakers er opnieuw met een plaat waarop twaalf nummers pronken. Er is maar één sleutelzin op deze nieuweling te horen: it’s only rock ’n roll, but we like it!

De opener, en tevens single, Cocktail is zonder twijfel de meest radiovriendelijke song op deze plaat vol gitaargeweld. Powerrock die uitstekend dienst doet als oorsmeer, maar in Graveyard wordt het gauw duidelijk dat Lee, Niels en Thomas verlekkerd zijn op rommelige fuzzgitaren. In Medicine Man wordt er zelfs nog wat psychedelica toegevoegd waardoor je automatisch, of je het nu wilt of niet, bij 13th Floor Elevators uitkomt.

Andere voorbeelden (ten minste dat vinden wij toch) zijn Tav Falco (het fantastische Nicotine Girl) en MC5. Luister naar I, You. Bij Slick Cut denken we zelfs gedurende drie minuten dat The Cramps in Hasselt wonen.

Space Age Voyeurism is een vuile, vieze rockplaat. Voor een keer mag je aan je vingers likken.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
LILI GRACE • Lili Grace
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
WOLVENNEST • Wolvennest Featuring Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand
10CC • Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)
LION SHEPHERD • Hiraeth
RECORDERS • Coast To Coast
LUCA SIGURTA • Warm Glow
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
DEUX FILLES • Space & Time
LACRIMOSA + CANTERRA • Roeselare, Kerelsplein (27/02/16)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
MY BABY • Shamanaid

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown