tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOUBLE VETERANS - Space Age Voyeurism

DOUBLE VETERANS

Space Age Voyeurism

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[79/100]   

Noisesome Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Double Veterans is a Belgian band of Lee Swinnen, the son of a famous Belgian rock star (Guy of The Scabs), but it would be unfair to judge the band on that sole fact. During years this trio from Hasselt worked hard by playing lots of gigs and making garage rock with roots in the sixties, that also can be described as indie with style.

The debut The Brotherhood Of Scary Hair And Homemade Religion was released by Fons Records, and now the threesome has a new album which includes twelve songs.

The opener and also single) Cocktail probably is the most radio friendly song here: power rock as perfect ear wax. But that’s only a beginning, as from the second track (Graveyard) it is clear that Lee, Niels and Thomas are keen on loud fuzz guitars. On Medicine Man, you even hear some psychedelics, and then you automatically end up thinking of 13th Floor Elevators.

Other influences (at least that is what we think) are Tav Falco (the fantastic Nicotine Girl) and MC5 in I, You. Slick Cut even makes us think that The Cramps are living in Hasselt nowadays.

Space Age Voyeurism is a dirty rock, for once you’re allowed to lick your sticky fingers.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Je kan flauw doen en Double Veterans introduceren als de band van Lee Swinnen (zoon van), maar wie geregeld de Belgische concertzalen afschuimt weet dat dit trio uit Hasselt gezwoegd heeft om z'n eigen stempel op de Belgische (wat ons betreft internationale) muziekscène te drukken. Double Veterans staat garant voor snedige garagerock met roots in de sixties, maar die dankzij de eigentijdse melodieën evengoed als indie met stijl kan doorgaan.

Na The Brotherhood Of Scary Hair And Homemade Religion op Fons Records zijn de drie lawaaimakers er opnieuw met een plaat waarop twaalf nummers pronken. Er is maar één sleutelzin op deze nieuweling te horen: it’s only rock ’n roll, but we like it!

De opener, en tevens single, Cocktail is zonder twijfel de meest radiovriendelijke song op deze plaat vol gitaargeweld. Powerrock die uitstekend dienst doet als oorsmeer, maar in Graveyard wordt het gauw duidelijk dat Lee, Niels en Thomas verlekkerd zijn op rommelige fuzzgitaren. In Medicine Man wordt er zelfs nog wat psychedelica toegevoegd waardoor je automatisch, of je het nu wilt of niet, bij 13th Floor Elevators uitkomt.

Andere voorbeelden (ten minste dat vinden wij toch) zijn Tav Falco (het fantastische Nicotine Girl) en MC5. Luister naar I, You. Bij Slick Cut denken we zelfs gedurende drie minuten dat The Cramps in Hasselt wonen.

Space Age Voyeurism is een vuile, vieze rockplaat. Voor een keer mag je aan je vingers likken.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
LILI GRACE • Lili Grace
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
WOLVENNEST • Wolvennest Featuring Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand
10CC • Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)
LION SHEPHERD • Hiraeth
RECORDERS • Coast To Coast
LUCA SIGURTA • Warm Glow
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
DEUX FILLES • Space & Time
LACRIMOSA + CANTERRA • Roeselare, Kerelsplein (27/02/16)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
MY BABY • Shamanaid

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten