tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOUBLE VETERANS - Space Age Voyeurism

DOUBLE VETERANS

Space Age Voyeurism

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[79/100]   

Noisesome Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Double Veterans is a Belgian band of Lee Swinnen, the son of a famous Belgian rock star (Guy of The Scabs), but it would be unfair to judge the band on that sole fact. During years this trio from Hasselt worked hard by playing lots of gigs and making garage rock with roots in the sixties, that also can be described as indie with style.

The debut The Brotherhood Of Scary Hair And Homemade Religion was released by Fons Records, and now the threesome has a new album which includes twelve songs.

The opener and also single) Cocktail probably is the most radio friendly song here: power rock as perfect ear wax. But that’s only a beginning, as from the second track (Graveyard) it is clear that Lee, Niels and Thomas are keen on loud fuzz guitars. On Medicine Man, you even hear some psychedelics, and then you automatically end up thinking of 13th Floor Elevators.

Other influences (at least that is what we think) are Tav Falco (the fantastic Nicotine Girl) and MC5 in I, You. Slick Cut even makes us think that The Cramps are living in Hasselt nowadays.

Space Age Voyeurism is a dirty rock, for once you’re allowed to lick your sticky fingers.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Je kan flauw doen en Double Veterans introduceren als de band van Lee Swinnen (zoon van), maar wie geregeld de Belgische concertzalen afschuimt weet dat dit trio uit Hasselt gezwoegd heeft om z'n eigen stempel op de Belgische (wat ons betreft internationale) muziekscène te drukken. Double Veterans staat garant voor snedige garagerock met roots in de sixties, maar die dankzij de eigentijdse melodieën evengoed als indie met stijl kan doorgaan.

Na The Brotherhood Of Scary Hair And Homemade Religion op Fons Records zijn de drie lawaaimakers er opnieuw met een plaat waarop twaalf nummers pronken. Er is maar één sleutelzin op deze nieuweling te horen: it’s only rock ’n roll, but we like it!

De opener, en tevens single, Cocktail is zonder twijfel de meest radiovriendelijke song op deze plaat vol gitaargeweld. Powerrock die uitstekend dienst doet als oorsmeer, maar in Graveyard wordt het gauw duidelijk dat Lee, Niels en Thomas verlekkerd zijn op rommelige fuzzgitaren. In Medicine Man wordt er zelfs nog wat psychedelica toegevoegd waardoor je automatisch, of je het nu wilt of niet, bij 13th Floor Elevators uitkomt.

Andere voorbeelden (ten minste dat vinden wij toch) zijn Tav Falco (het fantastische Nicotine Girl) en MC5. Luister naar I, You. Bij Slick Cut denken we zelfs gedurende drie minuten dat The Cramps in Hasselt wonen.

Space Age Voyeurism is een vuile, vieze rockplaat. Voor een keer mag je aan je vingers likken.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
LILI GRACE • Lili Grace
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
WOLVENNEST • Wolvennest Featuring Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand
10CC • Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)
LION SHEPHERD • Hiraeth
RECORDERS • Coast To Coast
LUCA SIGURTA • Warm Glow
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
DEUX FILLES • Space & Time
LACRIMOSA + CANTERRA • Roeselare, Kerelsplein (27/02/16)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
MY BABY • Shamanaid

 

Same genre: INDIE
DEZ MONA • LOOSE ENDS
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
01
On this day, 40 years ago, Fad Gadget performed at the Amsterdam Meervaart Theatre.
28
01
Electronic Duo, Akustikkoppler Tap Into The Past And Future With New Album
27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 32 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi - Naked Piano Mix 2020
28
01
POISONED HASTIA
Reptile
27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void