tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DOUBLE VETERANS - Space Age Voyeurism

DOUBLE VETERANS

Space Age Voyeurism

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[79/100]   

Noisesome Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Double Veterans is a Belgian band of Lee Swinnen, the son of a famous Belgian rock star (Guy of The Scabs), but it would be unfair to judge the band on that sole fact. During years this trio from Hasselt worked hard by playing lots of gigs and making garage rock with roots in the sixties, that also can be described as indie with style.

The debut The Brotherhood Of Scary Hair And Homemade Religion was released by Fons Records, and now the threesome has a new album which includes twelve songs.

The opener and also single) Cocktail probably is the most radio friendly song here: power rock as perfect ear wax. But that’s only a beginning, as from the second track (Graveyard) it is clear that Lee, Niels and Thomas are keen on loud fuzz guitars. On Medicine Man, you even hear some psychedelics, and then you automatically end up thinking of 13th Floor Elevators.

Other influences (at least that is what we think) are Tav Falco (the fantastic Nicotine Girl) and MC5 in I, You. Slick Cut even makes us think that The Cramps are living in Hasselt nowadays.

Space Age Voyeurism is a dirty rock, for once you’re allowed to lick your sticky fingers.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Je kan flauw doen en Double Veterans introduceren als de band van Lee Swinnen (zoon van), maar wie geregeld de Belgische concertzalen afschuimt weet dat dit trio uit Hasselt gezwoegd heeft om z'n eigen stempel op de Belgische (wat ons betreft internationale) muziekscène te drukken. Double Veterans staat garant voor snedige garagerock met roots in de sixties, maar die dankzij de eigentijdse melodieën evengoed als indie met stijl kan doorgaan.

Na The Brotherhood Of Scary Hair And Homemade Religion op Fons Records zijn de drie lawaaimakers er opnieuw met een plaat waarop twaalf nummers pronken. Er is maar één sleutelzin op deze nieuweling te horen: it’s only rock ’n roll, but we like it!

De opener, en tevens single, Cocktail is zonder twijfel de meest radiovriendelijke song op deze plaat vol gitaargeweld. Powerrock die uitstekend dienst doet als oorsmeer, maar in Graveyard wordt het gauw duidelijk dat Lee, Niels en Thomas verlekkerd zijn op rommelige fuzzgitaren. In Medicine Man wordt er zelfs nog wat psychedelica toegevoegd waardoor je automatisch, of je het nu wilt of niet, bij 13th Floor Elevators uitkomt.

Andere voorbeelden (ten minste dat vinden wij toch) zijn Tav Falco (het fantastische Nicotine Girl) en MC5. Luister naar I, You. Bij Slick Cut denken we zelfs gedurende drie minuten dat The Cramps in Hasselt wonen.

Space Age Voyeurism is een vuile, vieze rockplaat. Voor een keer mag je aan je vingers likken.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
LILI GRACE • Lili Grace
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
WOLVENNEST • Wolvennest Featuring Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand
10CC • Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)
LION SHEPHERD • Hiraeth
RECORDERS • Coast To Coast
LUCA SIGURTA • Warm Glow
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
DEUX FILLES • Space & Time
LACRIMOSA + CANTERRA • Roeselare, Kerelsplein (27/02/16)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
MY BABY • Shamanaid

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
0KONTROL
Traitors
18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)