tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP)

DOWNERS

Noose (EP)

MusicCD
GrungeRockShoegaze

[80/100]   

Local Colour Records
05/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The English band Downers was formed early 2015 with members of Me Vs Hero, MOU and Six Ten Repeater. The EP Noose is their second release in a short time and includes three compositions between punk, shoegaze and rock. Compared to the previous EP, the sound is tighter, with influences from 90's grunge. Partly as a result of their varied input, much is expected from Downers, and so we take the time to listen extensively to Noose.

Gaze starts with heavy guitars and sharp drumming, over which singer Bobby Pook (formerly Me Vs Hero) spreads his dreamy and melodious vocals: an attractive nostalgic trip on childhood memories that grabs you by the throat, floating on distorted and repetitive sounds, at times suddenly interrupted to enhance the effect. A beautiful and melodic rock song as a wink to Smashing Pumpkins.

Erased begins with quiet vocals and a subtle atmospheric guitar sound, but soon after the guitars build a wall of grunge sounds, making the track a lot bolder and more violent than its predecessor. The transition between the peaceful and the violent passages happens seemingly without problems and has a direct bearing on the text, because it is about a dream in which the main character evolves from visible to invisible. I Will not be erased!, Pook sings in his struggle against the inevitable. A very special track, structurally sturdy and surprisingly nicely played.

Grown Out is by far the strongest and loudest track on the EP, with an intensity reminiscent of Nirvana, with dreamy vocals and a shoegaze-like feel, later hardening, with screaming vocals that tend to metal: a solid rock song.

Only three songs on this EP, but still an impressive release, which fuses punk, shoegaze, grunge and rock to raw, energetic and at the same time touching compositions. Watch out for Drowners!

Track listing:
1. Graze
2. Erased
3. Grown Out

https://www.facebook.com/downersruleok
http://www.localcolourrecords.bigcartel.com/

William LIÉNARD
05/09/2015


NL

De Engelse band Downers werd begin 2015 opgericht met leden van Me Vs hero, MOU en Six Ten Repeater. De ep Noose is hun tweede release op korte tijd en bevat drie composities tussen punk, shoegaze en rock. In vergelijk met de eerdere ep is het geluid steviger, met invloeden uit 90s’ grunge. Mede als gevolg van hun gevarieerde input, wordt er veel verwacht van Downers en dus namen we de tijd om uitgebreid naar Noose te luisteren.

Gaze begint met stevige gitaren en fors drumwerk waarover zanger Bobby Pook (ex-Me Vs hero) z’n dromerige en welluidende vocalen legt: een aantrekkelijke nostalgische trip over jeugdherinneringen die naar de keel grijpt, drijvend op distorted en repetitief geluid, bij momenten plots onderbroken om het effect te versterken. Een prachtige en melodieuze rocksong als een knipoogje naar Smashing Pumpkins.

Erased begint met rustige vocalen en fijnzinnig atmosferische gitaargeluid, maar meteen trekken de gitaren een muur van grungegeluid op waardoor de track een stuk stouter en heftiger klinkt dan z’n voorganger. De overgang tussen de rustige en de heftige passages gebeurt schijnbaar probleemloos en houdt direct verband met de tekst, want daarin is sprake van een droom waarin de hoofpersoon van zichtbaar naar onzichtbaar evolueert. I Won’t be erased!, zingt Pook in z’n strijd tegen het onafwendbare. Een heel aparte track, maar stevig qua structuur en verrassend mooi gespeeld.

Grown Out is veruit de heftigste en luidste track op de ep, met een intensiteit die herinneringen oproept aan Nirvana, met dromerige vocalen en een shoegazeachtige feel, later verhardend, met schreeuwerige vocalen die eerder naar metal neigen: een stevige rocksong.

Maar drie songs en toch een indrukwekkende release waarin punk, shoegaze, grunge en rock samengesmolten worden tot rauwe, energieke en tegelijk ontroerende composities. Kijk uit voor drowners!

William LIÉNARD
05/09/2015


05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP) 05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP) 05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP)

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day