tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP)

DOWNERS

Noose (EP)

MusicCD
GrungeRockShoegaze

[80/100]   

Local Colour Records
05/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The English band Downers was formed early 2015 with members of Me Vs Hero, MOU and Six Ten Repeater. The EP Noose is their second release in a short time and includes three compositions between punk, shoegaze and rock. Compared to the previous EP, the sound is tighter, with influences from 90's grunge. Partly as a result of their varied input, much is expected from Downers, and so we take the time to listen extensively to Noose.

Gaze starts with heavy guitars and sharp drumming, over which singer Bobby Pook (formerly Me Vs Hero) spreads his dreamy and melodious vocals: an attractive nostalgic trip on childhood memories that grabs you by the throat, floating on distorted and repetitive sounds, at times suddenly interrupted to enhance the effect. A beautiful and melodic rock song as a wink to Smashing Pumpkins.

Erased begins with quiet vocals and a subtle atmospheric guitar sound, but soon after the guitars build a wall of grunge sounds, making the track a lot bolder and more violent than its predecessor. The transition between the peaceful and the violent passages happens seemingly without problems and has a direct bearing on the text, because it is about a dream in which the main character evolves from visible to invisible. I Will not be erased!, Pook sings in his struggle against the inevitable. A very special track, structurally sturdy and surprisingly nicely played.

Grown Out is by far the strongest and loudest track on the EP, with an intensity reminiscent of Nirvana, with dreamy vocals and a shoegaze-like feel, later hardening, with screaming vocals that tend to metal: a solid rock song.

Only three songs on this EP, but still an impressive release, which fuses punk, shoegaze, grunge and rock to raw, energetic and at the same time touching compositions. Watch out for Drowners!

Track listing:
1. Graze
2. Erased
3. Grown Out

https://www.facebook.com/downersruleok
http://www.localcolourrecords.bigcartel.com/

William LIÉNARD
05/09/2015


NL

De Engelse band Downers werd begin 2015 opgericht met leden van Me Vs hero, MOU en Six Ten Repeater. De ep Noose is hun tweede release op korte tijd en bevat drie composities tussen punk, shoegaze en rock. In vergelijk met de eerdere ep is het geluid steviger, met invloeden uit 90s’ grunge. Mede als gevolg van hun gevarieerde input, wordt er veel verwacht van Downers en dus namen we de tijd om uitgebreid naar Noose te luisteren.

Gaze begint met stevige gitaren en fors drumwerk waarover zanger Bobby Pook (ex-Me Vs hero) z’n dromerige en welluidende vocalen legt: een aantrekkelijke nostalgische trip over jeugdherinneringen die naar de keel grijpt, drijvend op distorted en repetitief geluid, bij momenten plots onderbroken om het effect te versterken. Een prachtige en melodieuze rocksong als een knipoogje naar Smashing Pumpkins.

Erased begint met rustige vocalen en fijnzinnig atmosferische gitaargeluid, maar meteen trekken de gitaren een muur van grungegeluid op waardoor de track een stuk stouter en heftiger klinkt dan z’n voorganger. De overgang tussen de rustige en de heftige passages gebeurt schijnbaar probleemloos en houdt direct verband met de tekst, want daarin is sprake van een droom waarin de hoofpersoon van zichtbaar naar onzichtbaar evolueert. I Won’t be erased!, zingt Pook in z’n strijd tegen het onafwendbare. Een heel aparte track, maar stevig qua structuur en verrassend mooi gespeeld.

Grown Out is veruit de heftigste en luidste track op de ep, met een intensiteit die herinneringen oproept aan Nirvana, met dromerige vocalen en een shoegazeachtige feel, later verhardend, met schreeuwerige vocalen die eerder naar metal neigen: een stevige rocksong.

Maar drie songs en toch een indrukwekkende release waarin punk, shoegaze, grunge en rock samengesmolten worden tot rauwe, energieke en tegelijk ontroerende composities. Kijk uit voor drowners!

William LIÉNARD
05/09/2015


05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP) 05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP) 05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP)

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap