tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP)

DOWNERS

Noose (EP)

MusicCD
GrungeRockShoegaze

[80/100]   

Local Colour Records
05/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The English band Downers was formed early 2015 with members of Me Vs Hero, MOU and Six Ten Repeater. The EP Noose is their second release in a short time and includes three compositions between punk, shoegaze and rock. Compared to the previous EP, the sound is tighter, with influences from 90's grunge. Partly as a result of their varied input, much is expected from Downers, and so we take the time to listen extensively to Noose.

Gaze starts with heavy guitars and sharp drumming, over which singer Bobby Pook (formerly Me Vs Hero) spreads his dreamy and melodious vocals: an attractive nostalgic trip on childhood memories that grabs you by the throat, floating on distorted and repetitive sounds, at times suddenly interrupted to enhance the effect. A beautiful and melodic rock song as a wink to Smashing Pumpkins.

Erased begins with quiet vocals and a subtle atmospheric guitar sound, but soon after the guitars build a wall of grunge sounds, making the track a lot bolder and more violent than its predecessor. The transition between the peaceful and the violent passages happens seemingly without problems and has a direct bearing on the text, because it is about a dream in which the main character evolves from visible to invisible. I Will not be erased!, Pook sings in his struggle against the inevitable. A very special track, structurally sturdy and surprisingly nicely played.

Grown Out is by far the strongest and loudest track on the EP, with an intensity reminiscent of Nirvana, with dreamy vocals and a shoegaze-like feel, later hardening, with screaming vocals that tend to metal: a solid rock song.

Only three songs on this EP, but still an impressive release, which fuses punk, shoegaze, grunge and rock to raw, energetic and at the same time touching compositions. Watch out for Drowners!

Track listing:
1. Graze
2. Erased
3. Grown Out

https://www.facebook.com/downersruleok
http://www.localcolourrecords.bigcartel.com/

William LIÉNARD
05/09/2015


NL

De Engelse band Downers werd begin 2015 opgericht met leden van Me Vs hero, MOU en Six Ten Repeater. De ep Noose is hun tweede release op korte tijd en bevat drie composities tussen punk, shoegaze en rock. In vergelijk met de eerdere ep is het geluid steviger, met invloeden uit 90s’ grunge. Mede als gevolg van hun gevarieerde input, wordt er veel verwacht van Downers en dus namen we de tijd om uitgebreid naar Noose te luisteren.

Gaze begint met stevige gitaren en fors drumwerk waarover zanger Bobby Pook (ex-Me Vs hero) z’n dromerige en welluidende vocalen legt: een aantrekkelijke nostalgische trip over jeugdherinneringen die naar de keel grijpt, drijvend op distorted en repetitief geluid, bij momenten plots onderbroken om het effect te versterken. Een prachtige en melodieuze rocksong als een knipoogje naar Smashing Pumpkins.

Erased begint met rustige vocalen en fijnzinnig atmosferische gitaargeluid, maar meteen trekken de gitaren een muur van grungegeluid op waardoor de track een stuk stouter en heftiger klinkt dan z’n voorganger. De overgang tussen de rustige en de heftige passages gebeurt schijnbaar probleemloos en houdt direct verband met de tekst, want daarin is sprake van een droom waarin de hoofpersoon van zichtbaar naar onzichtbaar evolueert. I Won’t be erased!, zingt Pook in z’n strijd tegen het onafwendbare. Een heel aparte track, maar stevig qua structuur en verrassend mooi gespeeld.

Grown Out is veruit de heftigste en luidste track op de ep, met een intensiteit die herinneringen oproept aan Nirvana, met dromerige vocalen en een shoegazeachtige feel, later verhardend, met schreeuwerige vocalen die eerder naar metal neigen: een stevige rocksong.

Maar drie songs en toch een indrukwekkende release waarin punk, shoegaze, grunge en rock samengesmolten worden tot rauwe, energieke en tegelijk ontroerende composities. Kijk uit voor drowners!

William LIÉNARD
05/09/2015


05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP) 05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP) 05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP)

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus