tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP)

DOWNERS

Noose (EP)

MusicCD
GrungeRockShoegaze

[80/100]   

Local Colour Records
05/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The English band Downers was formed early 2015 with members of Me Vs Hero, MOU and Six Ten Repeater. The EP Noose is their second release in a short time and includes three compositions between punk, shoegaze and rock. Compared to the previous EP, the sound is tighter, with influences from 90's grunge. Partly as a result of their varied input, much is expected from Downers, and so we take the time to listen extensively to Noose.

Gaze starts with heavy guitars and sharp drumming, over which singer Bobby Pook (formerly Me Vs Hero) spreads his dreamy and melodious vocals: an attractive nostalgic trip on childhood memories that grabs you by the throat, floating on distorted and repetitive sounds, at times suddenly interrupted to enhance the effect. A beautiful and melodic rock song as a wink to Smashing Pumpkins.

Erased begins with quiet vocals and a subtle atmospheric guitar sound, but soon after the guitars build a wall of grunge sounds, making the track a lot bolder and more violent than its predecessor. The transition between the peaceful and the violent passages happens seemingly without problems and has a direct bearing on the text, because it is about a dream in which the main character evolves from visible to invisible. I Will not be erased!, Pook sings in his struggle against the inevitable. A very special track, structurally sturdy and surprisingly nicely played.

Grown Out is by far the strongest and loudest track on the EP, with an intensity reminiscent of Nirvana, with dreamy vocals and a shoegaze-like feel, later hardening, with screaming vocals that tend to metal: a solid rock song.

Only three songs on this EP, but still an impressive release, which fuses punk, shoegaze, grunge and rock to raw, energetic and at the same time touching compositions. Watch out for Drowners!

Track listing:
1. Graze
2. Erased
3. Grown Out

https://www.facebook.com/downersruleok
http://www.localcolourrecords.bigcartel.com/

William LIÉNARD
05/09/2015


NL

De Engelse band Downers werd begin 2015 opgericht met leden van Me Vs hero, MOU en Six Ten Repeater. De ep Noose is hun tweede release op korte tijd en bevat drie composities tussen punk, shoegaze en rock. In vergelijk met de eerdere ep is het geluid steviger, met invloeden uit 90s’ grunge. Mede als gevolg van hun gevarieerde input, wordt er veel verwacht van Downers en dus namen we de tijd om uitgebreid naar Noose te luisteren.

Gaze begint met stevige gitaren en fors drumwerk waarover zanger Bobby Pook (ex-Me Vs hero) z’n dromerige en welluidende vocalen legt: een aantrekkelijke nostalgische trip over jeugdherinneringen die naar de keel grijpt, drijvend op distorted en repetitief geluid, bij momenten plots onderbroken om het effect te versterken. Een prachtige en melodieuze rocksong als een knipoogje naar Smashing Pumpkins.

Erased begint met rustige vocalen en fijnzinnig atmosferische gitaargeluid, maar meteen trekken de gitaren een muur van grungegeluid op waardoor de track een stuk stouter en heftiger klinkt dan z’n voorganger. De overgang tussen de rustige en de heftige passages gebeurt schijnbaar probleemloos en houdt direct verband met de tekst, want daarin is sprake van een droom waarin de hoofpersoon van zichtbaar naar onzichtbaar evolueert. I Won’t be erased!, zingt Pook in z’n strijd tegen het onafwendbare. Een heel aparte track, maar stevig qua structuur en verrassend mooi gespeeld.

Grown Out is veruit de heftigste en luidste track op de ep, met een intensiteit die herinneringen oproept aan Nirvana, met dromerige vocalen en een shoegazeachtige feel, later verhardend, met schreeuwerige vocalen die eerder naar metal neigen: een stevige rocksong.

Maar drie songs en toch een indrukwekkende release waarin punk, shoegaze, grunge en rock samengesmolten worden tot rauwe, energieke en tegelijk ontroerende composities. Kijk uit voor drowners!

William LIÉNARD
05/09/2015


05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP) 05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP) 05/09/2015 : DOWNERS - Noose (EP)

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man