tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : DOWNHILL X - Sittard, Poppodium Volt (12/04/2016)

DOWNHILL X

Sittard, Poppodium Volt (12/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Danny QUETIN

EN

Holland has its dark events. Summer Darkness Festival is gone, but Downhill is active for some years. A smaller concept. No pretention, just some nice bands on the poster. In the past: Ash Code, The Eternal Afflict, The Invincible Spirit and Lebanon Hanover, to name a few bands.

On the 9th of April 2016, Downhill celebrated its 10th edition with a nice attendance in a handsome location and a lovely program. Monica Jeffries was there to promote her forthcoming album Into Temptation. Her subtle appearance, flanked by two masked men and danceable synthpop, indicates that she is more than just a support act for The Crüxshadows, Project Pitchfork and Front Line Assembly. We know Waiting For Godot, In Circles, Drowning in Love and the indispensable Window Of Hope from previous releases, but the newbies form Into Temptation also provided a dance atmosphere, thanks to songs like No More, Nineteen Eighty-Four and the title track. The Surrender No Resistance cover caused a flurry of recognition. Monica Jeffries comes from a musical family, she writes and produces all the songs herself, and that makes her a great artist.

It is no secret that Agent Side Grinder’s Alkimia is a delicious electronic post-punk/wave album. With a battery of synths, tape loops, bass and vocals, it goes in all directions, especially honesty. The concert started with Into The Wild and shook up Sittard. Many tracks were taken from the albums Alkimia and Hardware, and the Swedes convinced the audience with Giants Fall and For The Young. The Look Within was delicious and a first real highlight. The Introduction of the band members could only be followed by This Is Us. Agent Side Grinder is a live sensation. The encore with punktronica was a super moment.

It was surprising that after the concert of the Agent Side Grinder many people left the venue. Fear of confronting Grausame Töchter? Fear of the primal scream of provocation? Fear of the personality of Aranea Peel? Fear of the charter of masturbation? No idea.

A band that is not afraid to the playback principle, is not exactly what we came for, but in this case we make an exception, because what Grausame Töchter has to offer, is not a concert but an experience. Electro punk/industrial without any taboo on tracks from the albums Alles Für Dich and Glaube Liebe Hoffnung: Mensch Und Tier, Wie Eine Spinne and the scream anthem Ich Darfe Das. The glorification of the female genitals is demonstrated in Ich Liebe Meine Vagina, including the infamous stage pee. Eroticism as art. Pushing moral boundaries as an excessive fetishism, punctuated with a theme of SM and death. The fourth album Vagina Dentata appears will be released in May. From what we have seen and heard, we conclude that Grausame Töchter’s world is still a circus, stripped of any censorship or textiles. God couldn’t see that it was good this time, because of the inverted cross.

The tenth edition of Downhill was successful. Excellent organization, a great venue and friendly people. Looking forward to Edition XI.

Danny QUETIN
09/12/2016


NL

Klik hier voor de Nederlandse versie op Dark Entries.

Danny QUETIN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design