tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : DOWNHILL X - Sittard, Poppodium Volt (12/04/2016)

DOWNHILL X

Sittard, Poppodium Volt (12/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Danny QUETIN

EN

Holland has its dark events. Summer Darkness Festival is gone, but Downhill is active for some years. A smaller concept. No pretention, just some nice bands on the poster. In the past: Ash Code, The Eternal Afflict, The Invincible Spirit and Lebanon Hanover, to name a few bands.

On the 9th of April 2016, Downhill celebrated its 10th edition with a nice attendance in a handsome location and a lovely program. Monica Jeffries was there to promote her forthcoming album Into Temptation. Her subtle appearance, flanked by two masked men and danceable synthpop, indicates that she is more than just a support act for The Crüxshadows, Project Pitchfork and Front Line Assembly. We know Waiting For Godot, In Circles, Drowning in Love and the indispensable Window Of Hope from previous releases, but the newbies form Into Temptation also provided a dance atmosphere, thanks to songs like No More, Nineteen Eighty-Four and the title track. The Surrender No Resistance cover caused a flurry of recognition. Monica Jeffries comes from a musical family, she writes and produces all the songs herself, and that makes her a great artist.

It is no secret that Agent Side Grinder’s Alkimia is a delicious electronic post-punk/wave album. With a battery of synths, tape loops, bass and vocals, it goes in all directions, especially honesty. The concert started with Into The Wild and shook up Sittard. Many tracks were taken from the albums Alkimia and Hardware, and the Swedes convinced the audience with Giants Fall and For The Young. The Look Within was delicious and a first real highlight. The Introduction of the band members could only be followed by This Is Us. Agent Side Grinder is a live sensation. The encore with punktronica was a super moment.

It was surprising that after the concert of the Agent Side Grinder many people left the venue. Fear of confronting Grausame Töchter? Fear of the primal scream of provocation? Fear of the personality of Aranea Peel? Fear of the charter of masturbation? No idea.

A band that is not afraid to the playback principle, is not exactly what we came for, but in this case we make an exception, because what Grausame Töchter has to offer, is not a concert but an experience. Electro punk/industrial without any taboo on tracks from the albums Alles Für Dich and Glaube Liebe Hoffnung: Mensch Und Tier, Wie Eine Spinne and the scream anthem Ich Darfe Das. The glorification of the female genitals is demonstrated in Ich Liebe Meine Vagina, including the infamous stage pee. Eroticism as art. Pushing moral boundaries as an excessive fetishism, punctuated with a theme of SM and death. The fourth album Vagina Dentata appears will be released in May. From what we have seen and heard, we conclude that Grausame Töchter’s world is still a circus, stripped of any censorship or textiles. God couldn’t see that it was good this time, because of the inverted cross.

The tenth edition of Downhill was successful. Excellent organization, a great venue and friendly people. Looking forward to Edition XI.

Danny QUETIN
09/12/2016


NL

Klik hier voor de Nederlandse versie op Dark Entries.

Danny QUETIN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
10
Struggles And Dreams With Darkwave Band THE BLUE HOUR's New LP, 'Lore'
24
10
Industrial Metal Band RAZE THE ALTAR Brings Sacrifice And Perseverance To New Single
24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
MY CRUEL GORO
Lost E
24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow