tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : DOWNHILL X - Sittard, Poppodium Volt (12/04/2016)

DOWNHILL X

Sittard, Poppodium Volt (12/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Danny QUETIN

EN

Holland has its dark events. Summer Darkness Festival is gone, but Downhill is active for some years. A smaller concept. No pretention, just some nice bands on the poster. In the past: Ash Code, The Eternal Afflict, The Invincible Spirit and Lebanon Hanover, to name a few bands.

On the 9th of April 2016, Downhill celebrated its 10th edition with a nice attendance in a handsome location and a lovely program. Monica Jeffries was there to promote her forthcoming album Into Temptation. Her subtle appearance, flanked by two masked men and danceable synthpop, indicates that she is more than just a support act for The Crüxshadows, Project Pitchfork and Front Line Assembly. We know Waiting For Godot, In Circles, Drowning in Love and the indispensable Window Of Hope from previous releases, but the newbies form Into Temptation also provided a dance atmosphere, thanks to songs like No More, Nineteen Eighty-Four and the title track. The Surrender No Resistance cover caused a flurry of recognition. Monica Jeffries comes from a musical family, she writes and produces all the songs herself, and that makes her a great artist.

It is no secret that Agent Side Grinder’s Alkimia is a delicious electronic post-punk/wave album. With a battery of synths, tape loops, bass and vocals, it goes in all directions, especially honesty. The concert started with Into The Wild and shook up Sittard. Many tracks were taken from the albums Alkimia and Hardware, and the Swedes convinced the audience with Giants Fall and For The Young. The Look Within was delicious and a first real highlight. The Introduction of the band members could only be followed by This Is Us. Agent Side Grinder is a live sensation. The encore with punktronica was a super moment.

It was surprising that after the concert of the Agent Side Grinder many people left the venue. Fear of confronting Grausame Töchter? Fear of the primal scream of provocation? Fear of the personality of Aranea Peel? Fear of the charter of masturbation? No idea.

A band that is not afraid to the playback principle, is not exactly what we came for, but in this case we make an exception, because what Grausame Töchter has to offer, is not a concert but an experience. Electro punk/industrial without any taboo on tracks from the albums Alles Für Dich and Glaube Liebe Hoffnung: Mensch Und Tier, Wie Eine Spinne and the scream anthem Ich Darfe Das. The glorification of the female genitals is demonstrated in Ich Liebe Meine Vagina, including the infamous stage pee. Eroticism as art. Pushing moral boundaries as an excessive fetishism, punctuated with a theme of SM and death. The fourth album Vagina Dentata appears will be released in May. From what we have seen and heard, we conclude that Grausame Töchter’s world is still a circus, stripped of any censorship or textiles. God couldn’t see that it was good this time, because of the inverted cross.

The tenth edition of Downhill was successful. Excellent organization, a great venue and friendly people. Looking forward to Edition XI.

Danny QUETIN
09/12/2016


NL

Klik hier voor de Nederlandse versie op Dark Entries.

Danny QUETIN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You