tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : DOWNHILL X - Sittard, Poppodium Volt (12/04/2016)

DOWNHILL X

Sittard, Poppodium Volt (12/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Danny QUETIN

EN

Holland has its dark events. Summer Darkness Festival is gone, but Downhill is active for some years. A smaller concept. No pretention, just some nice bands on the poster. In the past: Ash Code, The Eternal Afflict, The Invincible Spirit and Lebanon Hanover, to name a few bands.

On the 9th of April 2016, Downhill celebrated its 10th edition with a nice attendance in a handsome location and a lovely program. Monica Jeffries was there to promote her forthcoming album Into Temptation. Her subtle appearance, flanked by two masked men and danceable synthpop, indicates that she is more than just a support act for The Crüxshadows, Project Pitchfork and Front Line Assembly. We know Waiting For Godot, In Circles, Drowning in Love and the indispensable Window Of Hope from previous releases, but the newbies form Into Temptation also provided a dance atmosphere, thanks to songs like No More, Nineteen Eighty-Four and the title track. The Surrender No Resistance cover caused a flurry of recognition. Monica Jeffries comes from a musical family, she writes and produces all the songs herself, and that makes her a great artist.

It is no secret that Agent Side Grinder’s Alkimia is a delicious electronic post-punk/wave album. With a battery of synths, tape loops, bass and vocals, it goes in all directions, especially honesty. The concert started with Into The Wild and shook up Sittard. Many tracks were taken from the albums Alkimia and Hardware, and the Swedes convinced the audience with Giants Fall and For The Young. The Look Within was delicious and a first real highlight. The Introduction of the band members could only be followed by This Is Us. Agent Side Grinder is a live sensation. The encore with punktronica was a super moment.

It was surprising that after the concert of the Agent Side Grinder many people left the venue. Fear of confronting Grausame Töchter? Fear of the primal scream of provocation? Fear of the personality of Aranea Peel? Fear of the charter of masturbation? No idea.

A band that is not afraid to the playback principle, is not exactly what we came for, but in this case we make an exception, because what Grausame Töchter has to offer, is not a concert but an experience. Electro punk/industrial without any taboo on tracks from the albums Alles Für Dich and Glaube Liebe Hoffnung: Mensch Und Tier, Wie Eine Spinne and the scream anthem Ich Darfe Das. The glorification of the female genitals is demonstrated in Ich Liebe Meine Vagina, including the infamous stage pee. Eroticism as art. Pushing moral boundaries as an excessive fetishism, punctuated with a theme of SM and death. The fourth album Vagina Dentata appears will be released in May. From what we have seen and heard, we conclude that Grausame Töchter’s world is still a circus, stripped of any censorship or textiles. God couldn’t see that it was good this time, because of the inverted cross.

The tenth edition of Downhill was successful. Excellent organization, a great venue and friendly people. Looking forward to Edition XI.

Danny QUETIN
09/12/2016


NL

Klik hier voor de Nederlandse versie op Dark Entries.

Danny QUETIN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On