tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : DOWNHILL X - Sittard, Poppodium Volt (12/04/2016)

DOWNHILL X

Sittard, Poppodium Volt (12/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Danny QUETIN

EN

Holland has its dark events. Summer Darkness Festival is gone, but Downhill is active for some years. A smaller concept. No pretention, just some nice bands on the poster. In the past: Ash Code, The Eternal Afflict, The Invincible Spirit and Lebanon Hanover, to name a few bands.

On the 9th of April 2016, Downhill celebrated its 10th edition with a nice attendance in a handsome location and a lovely program. Monica Jeffries was there to promote her forthcoming album Into Temptation. Her subtle appearance, flanked by two masked men and danceable synthpop, indicates that she is more than just a support act for The Crüxshadows, Project Pitchfork and Front Line Assembly. We know Waiting For Godot, In Circles, Drowning in Love and the indispensable Window Of Hope from previous releases, but the newbies form Into Temptation also provided a dance atmosphere, thanks to songs like No More, Nineteen Eighty-Four and the title track. The Surrender No Resistance cover caused a flurry of recognition. Monica Jeffries comes from a musical family, she writes and produces all the songs herself, and that makes her a great artist.

It is no secret that Agent Side Grinder’s Alkimia is a delicious electronic post-punk/wave album. With a battery of synths, tape loops, bass and vocals, it goes in all directions, especially honesty. The concert started with Into The Wild and shook up Sittard. Many tracks were taken from the albums Alkimia and Hardware, and the Swedes convinced the audience with Giants Fall and For The Young. The Look Within was delicious and a first real highlight. The Introduction of the band members could only be followed by This Is Us. Agent Side Grinder is a live sensation. The encore with punktronica was a super moment.

It was surprising that after the concert of the Agent Side Grinder many people left the venue. Fear of confronting Grausame Töchter? Fear of the primal scream of provocation? Fear of the personality of Aranea Peel? Fear of the charter of masturbation? No idea.

A band that is not afraid to the playback principle, is not exactly what we came for, but in this case we make an exception, because what Grausame Töchter has to offer, is not a concert but an experience. Electro punk/industrial without any taboo on tracks from the albums Alles Für Dich and Glaube Liebe Hoffnung: Mensch Und Tier, Wie Eine Spinne and the scream anthem Ich Darfe Das. The glorification of the female genitals is demonstrated in Ich Liebe Meine Vagina, including the infamous stage pee. Eroticism as art. Pushing moral boundaries as an excessive fetishism, punctuated with a theme of SM and death. The fourth album Vagina Dentata appears will be released in May. From what we have seen and heard, we conclude that Grausame Töchter’s world is still a circus, stripped of any censorship or textiles. God couldn’t see that it was good this time, because of the inverted cross.

The tenth edition of Downhill was successful. Excellent organization, a great venue and friendly people. Looking forward to Edition XI.

Danny QUETIN
09/12/2016


NL

Klik hier voor de Nederlandse versie op Dark Entries.

Danny QUETIN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat