tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/01/2012 : DOWNPILOT - New Great Lakes

DOWNPILOT

New Great Lakes

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalSinger Songwriter

[75/100]   
21/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

Downpilot is mainly Paul Hiraga from Seattle, getting a helping hand from a few more musicians. They released three albums (Leaving Not Arriving, Like You Believe It, They Kind of Shine) and this new one has arrived past autumn. All out on Tapete Records, a german based label. The world is going crazy if a Seattle band has to find their label in Germany, but maybe Seattle labels are still looking for the next Nirvana...

All the songs on this album vary around that 3-4 minute mark and it's singer-songwriter with a touch of folk. They secluded themselves on Vashon Island in a woodland studio and set to writing and recording, far from the distractions of the city. Given the first four songtitles (Edge Of The Flood, New Great Lakes, Gone Castaway, NY Storms), I imagine water and nature being very powerful forces, so could we expect a few raging songs?

After a few listens this doesn't fit the bill exactly, it's mostly music to go fishing in a placid pond, without a breeze to make ripples in the water, it's that calm and soothing. I love Hiraga's voice timbre and that's what makes this album worthwhile, he just sounds so honest and genuine. There's no dark or quirky side as with Murder for example, nor is there a reality check as with Jack Johnson or Ben Harper. Hiraga just sings about life and how he get's on with it.

But that's ok, this is a warm and cosy fleece of an album, perfect for a romantic evening without a care in the world.

Downpilot

Tapete Records

Chris KONINGS
21/01/2012


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel