tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/01/2012 : DOWNPILOT - New Great Lakes

DOWNPILOT

New Great Lakes

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalSinger Songwriter

[75/100]   
21/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

Downpilot is mainly Paul Hiraga from Seattle, getting a helping hand from a few more musicians. They released three albums (Leaving Not Arriving, Like You Believe It, They Kind of Shine) and this new one has arrived past autumn. All out on Tapete Records, a german based label. The world is going crazy if a Seattle band has to find their label in Germany, but maybe Seattle labels are still looking for the next Nirvana...

All the songs on this album vary around that 3-4 minute mark and it's singer-songwriter with a touch of folk. They secluded themselves on Vashon Island in a woodland studio and set to writing and recording, far from the distractions of the city. Given the first four songtitles (Edge Of The Flood, New Great Lakes, Gone Castaway, NY Storms), I imagine water and nature being very powerful forces, so could we expect a few raging songs?

After a few listens this doesn't fit the bill exactly, it's mostly music to go fishing in a placid pond, without a breeze to make ripples in the water, it's that calm and soothing. I love Hiraga's voice timbre and that's what makes this album worthwhile, he just sounds so honest and genuine. There's no dark or quirky side as with Murder for example, nor is there a reality check as with Jack Johnson or Ben Harper. Hiraga just sings about life and how he get's on with it.

But that's ok, this is a warm and cosy fleece of an album, perfect for a romantic evening without a care in the world.

Downpilot

Tapete Records

Chris KONINGS
21/01/2012


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline