tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/01/2012 : DOWNPILOT - New Great Lakes

DOWNPILOT

New Great Lakes

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalSinger Songwriter

[75/100]   
21/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

Downpilot is mainly Paul Hiraga from Seattle, getting a helping hand from a few more musicians. They released three albums (Leaving Not Arriving, Like You Believe It, They Kind of Shine) and this new one has arrived past autumn. All out on Tapete Records, a german based label. The world is going crazy if a Seattle band has to find their label in Germany, but maybe Seattle labels are still looking for the next Nirvana...

All the songs on this album vary around that 3-4 minute mark and it's singer-songwriter with a touch of folk. They secluded themselves on Vashon Island in a woodland studio and set to writing and recording, far from the distractions of the city. Given the first four songtitles (Edge Of The Flood, New Great Lakes, Gone Castaway, NY Storms), I imagine water and nature being very powerful forces, so could we expect a few raging songs?

After a few listens this doesn't fit the bill exactly, it's mostly music to go fishing in a placid pond, without a breeze to make ripples in the water, it's that calm and soothing. I love Hiraga's voice timbre and that's what makes this album worthwhile, he just sounds so honest and genuine. There's no dark or quirky side as with Murder for example, nor is there a reality check as with Jack Johnson or Ben Harper. Hiraga just sings about life and how he get's on with it.

But that's ok, this is a warm and cosy fleece of an album, perfect for a romantic evening without a care in the world.

Downpilot

Tapete Records

Chris KONINGS
21/01/2012


Music reviews

05
12
SUNDAECRUSH
A Real Sensation
04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
12
44 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
12
ANNA CALVI
Ghost Rider
04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life