tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/01/2012 : DOWNPILOT - New Great Lakes

DOWNPILOT

New Great Lakes

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalSinger Songwriter

[75/100]   
21/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

Downpilot is mainly Paul Hiraga from Seattle, getting a helping hand from a few more musicians. They released three albums (Leaving Not Arriving, Like You Believe It, They Kind of Shine) and this new one has arrived past autumn. All out on Tapete Records, a german based label. The world is going crazy if a Seattle band has to find their label in Germany, but maybe Seattle labels are still looking for the next Nirvana...

All the songs on this album vary around that 3-4 minute mark and it's singer-songwriter with a touch of folk. They secluded themselves on Vashon Island in a woodland studio and set to writing and recording, far from the distractions of the city. Given the first four songtitles (Edge Of The Flood, New Great Lakes, Gone Castaway, NY Storms), I imagine water and nature being very powerful forces, so could we expect a few raging songs?

After a few listens this doesn't fit the bill exactly, it's mostly music to go fishing in a placid pond, without a breeze to make ripples in the water, it's that calm and soothing. I love Hiraga's voice timbre and that's what makes this album worthwhile, he just sounds so honest and genuine. There's no dark or quirky side as with Murder for example, nor is there a reality check as with Jack Johnson or Ben Harper. Hiraga just sings about life and how he get's on with it.

But that's ok, this is a warm and cosy fleece of an album, perfect for a romantic evening without a care in the world.

Downpilot

Tapete Records

Chris KONINGS
21/01/2012


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky