tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/01/2012 : DOWNPILOT - New Great Lakes

DOWNPILOT

New Great Lakes

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalSinger Songwriter

[75/100]   
21/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

Downpilot is mainly Paul Hiraga from Seattle, getting a helping hand from a few more musicians. They released three albums (Leaving Not Arriving, Like You Believe It, They Kind of Shine) and this new one has arrived past autumn. All out on Tapete Records, a german based label. The world is going crazy if a Seattle band has to find their label in Germany, but maybe Seattle labels are still looking for the next Nirvana...

All the songs on this album vary around that 3-4 minute mark and it's singer-songwriter with a touch of folk. They secluded themselves on Vashon Island in a woodland studio and set to writing and recording, far from the distractions of the city. Given the first four songtitles (Edge Of The Flood, New Great Lakes, Gone Castaway, NY Storms), I imagine water and nature being very powerful forces, so could we expect a few raging songs?

After a few listens this doesn't fit the bill exactly, it's mostly music to go fishing in a placid pond, without a breeze to make ripples in the water, it's that calm and soothing. I love Hiraga's voice timbre and that's what makes this album worthwhile, he just sounds so honest and genuine. There's no dark or quirky side as with Murder for example, nor is there a reality check as with Jack Johnson or Ben Harper. Hiraga just sings about life and how he get's on with it.

But that's ok, this is a warm and cosy fleece of an album, perfect for a romantic evening without a care in the world.

Downpilot

Tapete Records

Chris KONINGS
21/01/2012


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You