tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : DOWNSTAIRS LEFT - Nothing but memories

DOWNSTAIRS LEFT

Nothing but memories

MusicCD
Dark Wave

[66/100]   

Echozone
20/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Sometimes we receive releases which aren't exactly brand new and of course the question remains, if such a release deserves a review or not? Everybody has their opinion of course, but as long as it's good stuff, we at Peek A Boo are more than happy to review bands fighting for attention and desperate to have their music heard.

This four piece band was formed in 2007 and it's quite clear that their style would be something that can be described as electronic darkwave. Those who hate Diary Of Dreams will start laughing the moment they hear the first vocals from singer Hayle, as there's no denying that Adrian Hates was the big influence here.

In the meantime, this band have already released their debut "Waiting for the golden age" but for once, we pretend that this is 2009.

On this mini-album there's four tracks from which, the opener "The rose", made us think that this is a band that can write songs and on "Salvation" we even hear some medieval influences.

A band that fails completely, if originality is the standard, but beautiful though and as for now: where's 2011?

Didier BECU
20/06/2011


NL

Het gebeurd wel eens vaker dat we hier op de redactie releases toegestopt krijgen waarvan de versheiddatum al lang verstreken is. Op de vraag of een dergelijke release nu moet besproken worden of niet, zal iedereen wel een eigen antwoord hebben.

Maar bij Peek A Boo zeggen we "ja" als het goede muziek betreft en nog meer als de groep in kwestie nog volop bezig is met zijn veldslag om wat gehoor te vergaren.

Deze groep werd in 2007 opgericht en de stijl van deze heren zou je best kunnen bestempelen als zijnde elektronische darkwave.

Zij die een hekel hebben aan Diary Of Dreams zullen zich een breuk lachen eens zanger Hayle zijn mond opendoet want laat ons eerlijk en wel wezen, we hebben hier met een hondstrouwe kopie van Adrian Hates te maken.

Ondertussen heeft deze groep al hun debuut "Waiting for the golden age" uitgebracht maar tegen wil en dank moeten wij denken dat het vandaag 2009 is.

Op deze EP vind je vier nummers waarvan vooral "The rose" ons weet te charmeren en bij "Salvation" horen we zelfs een vleugje medieval.

Als originaliteit de standaard is dan mag deze groep zich buigen over een nakend herexamen maar toch blijft het mooi. En nu de klok terugzetten op het jaartal 2011!

Didier BECU
20/06/2011


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)