tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

24/05/2011 : DOXA SINISTRA - Via del latte

DOXA SINISTRA

Via del latte

MusicVinyl
ElectroExperimentalMinimal

[82/100]   

Enfant Terrible
24/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

You can say what you want but the Dutch Enfant Terrible label couldn’t have found a better name for themselves, as they specialise in new (and sometimes old) underground sounds from the basements which sound a bit different from the rest.

Such labels frequently like to dive into the rich archive of tape labels from the past and in Enfant Terrible’s case, they had already dedicated their second release to Dutch label Trumpett.

On that release you find Doxa Sinistra who are, along with The Actor and Ende Shneafliet the best known acts on this label.

Some time later they also released their second tape "Conveyer Belt" that was originally released in 1985 and now it’s time for a proper vinyl-reissue of their first "Via Del Latte" –tape which dates from three years earlier, thereby closing the door from the eighties as they want to explore more contemporary artists in the future.

"Via del latte" is a work of strange electronics in which most of the songs are under two minutes and songs titled "Soviet invasion" or "Ruhrgebiet" sure do have an 80’s feel to them.

These electronic sounds were composed by Jan Popma and Ruud Kluivers. You could compare their stuff with Belgium’s experimental band BeNe GeSSeRiT, as just like them, you get the feeling that with their analogue computer-sounds you are entering a set from "A clockwork orange".

At first you might think these two are using their electronic equipment as some toys (and in a way they do) but the more you listen, the more you got addicted.

A delightful trip into the past and of course this LP which is only available on vinyl is more than recommended.

Didier BECU
24/05/2011


NL

Zelden had een label zo'n toepasselijke naam als die van het Nederlandse Enfant Terrible want zoals de naam doet vermoeden duiken zij vaak in de diepe kelders van de huidige (maar soms ook vroegere) underground om te stuiten op allerlei muzikale vondsten die net iets anders dan de rest klinken..

Zoals dat vaak gaat bij zulke labels, hebben zij ook een oog voor minimale electronicaklanken waarbij men maar al te graag teruggrijpt naar de zogezegde tapelabels.
Zo'n label die de goedkeuring kreeg van Enfant Terrible was het eveneens Nederlandse Trumpett-label.
Trouwens, de tweede release op Enfant Terrible was zelfs helemaal gewijd aan dit label.

Daar stond ook de groep Doxa Sinistra op, die naast The Actor en Ende Shneafliet de bekendste op dit tapelabel waren.

Een tijdje later werd hun tweede tape, "Conveyer Belt" uit 1985 op vinyl uitgebracht en nu is het dus tijd om eersteling "Via Del Latte" van een heruitgave te voorzien.

Meteen sluit men met deze oorspronkelijke tape uit 1982 bij Enfant Terrible het eightieshoofdstuk af want het label wil zich in de toekomst meer gaan toeleggen op hedendaagse artiesten.

"Via del latte" is zeer merkwaardige electronica waarbij de meeste nummers net niet de twee minuten grenzen overschrijden waarbij men met titels als "Soviet invasion" of "Ruhrgebiet" zonder twijfel het kille gevoel van de eighties oproept.

Deze electronica die gemaakt werd door Jan Popma en Ruud Kluivers kan best vergeleken worden met die van onze Belgische BeNe GeSSeRiTwaarbij analoge electronicaklanken je het gevoel geven of je de set binnenstapt van "A clockwork orange".

De talloze bieps lijken misschien op het eerste zicht geknoei van twee mensen die zich te pletter storten op hun electronische speelgoed maar hoe meer je ernaar luistert hoe meer het verslavingseffect in gang treedt.

Een meer dan aangename trip naar het verleden en uiteraard is deze release die enkel op vinyl bestaat een aanrader.

Didier BECU
24/05/2011


 

Next reviews
ROTTERDAM • Cambodia
TRAFFIC A.M. • A Beautiful Sight
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
FORMA • Forma
FOR AGAINST • Black Soap EP
NECRO FACILITY • Wintermute

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
CONRAD SCHNITZLER • KOLLECKTION 5
NEUGEBORENE MUZIK • Neugeborene Muzik
DISTEL • Puur

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain