tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

10/03/2018 : DRAB MAJESTY - Drab Majesty London show review

DRAB MAJESTY

Drab Majesty London show review

Concert
10/03/2018, Marija BULJETA

On 12th February, Moth Club hosted one of the most intriguing young acts I could have possibly wished to see, Drab Majesty. I arrived in time to see the supporting act Dune Messiah. I knew nothing about the band, apart from the fact they came from Denmark. However, I was very pleasantly surprised by the trio. The band is undoubtedly indebted to the neo-folk music expression and has been inspired by the genre. Although I wasn’t familiar with the songs, I enjoyed them nonetheless. I checked them out today and I found their debut album The Iron Oak very much to my liking. Judging by it and their excellent live performance, I predict a bright future for them.

Drab Majesty took over the stage 10 minutes before 10. They opened with “Dot In The Sky”, which instantly got everyone moving. The stage was pretty dim and Deb used the smoke machine frequently. The lightning on the stage was not ideal for taking pictures but enjoyable and appealing to the audience, as well as in line with their performance. Although their show was not physical and didn’t require stage gimmicks, they had their recognizable style and stage appearance, which was toned down a bit for this occasion. The wigs, white leather jackets, huge black sunglasses and white face paint still made them look rather intriguing and attractive. “39 By Design” followed. Although it’s a dark wave slow dancer, everyone was moving and singing along. The crowd was hypnotised right from the start. They switched to “Kissing The Ground”, the up tempo post punkish number which stands out as one of The Demonstration album hits. We could also hear The Careless material. The next song was a beautiful dark ballad “Unknown To The I”, one of my favourites from the release. They returned to The Demonstration with “Cold Souls”, which received the greatest feedback from the audience. No wonder, the song is very high on my Drab Majesty top list as well. I wondered if they could preserve the magical ethereal atmosphere of the song but the guys pulled it off incredibly well. Deb announced the “old one” next. It was “Y.K.E.D.A.” which you can find on the first Drab Majesty’s EP Unarian Dances or on the Completely Careless compilation. The track always makes me feel nostalgic for the 80s synth sound. However, it’s amazing to hear such music sounding fresh and modern on stage in 2018. They returned then to last year’s release with “Too Soon To Tell”. And although it was too soon for us to leave, they played just one more number. It was “Not Just A Name”.

It was surely more than a show, it was an experience! Drab Majesty’s music is an emotional voyage, an overwhelming power of feelings Deb puts into his work. The venue was sold out as expected and the merch stand was rather busy. I wish them pleasant rest of the tour and I hope to see them back soon.

Marija BULJETA
10/03/2018


10/03/2018 : DRAB MAJESTY - Drab Majesty London show review 10/03/2018 : DRAB MAJESTY - Drab Majesty London show review 10/03/2018 : DRAB MAJESTY - Drab Majesty London show review 10/03/2018 : DRAB MAJESTY - Drab Majesty London show review 10/03/2018 : DRAB MAJESTY - Drab Majesty London show review 10/03/2018 : DRAB MAJESTY - Drab Majesty London show review

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty