tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

16/02/2014 : DREAM THEATER - live at Wembley, UK, 14/02/2014

DREAM THEATER

live at Wembley, UK, 14/02/2014

Concert
Heavy MetalMetal

[85/100]   
16/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

My first concert in Wembley...

It’s a nice venue and sadly not sold out. Before the gig I run into Steven Wilson and Jordan Ruddess... at their hotel (apparently). I was hoping that Steven Wilson would do a cameo, but he was there for another reason. I must say I'm a bigger fan of bands like Anathema, Blind Guardian or even Steven Wilson, but I'm open to other bands, always curious...

Dream Theater has 2 things to celebrate a 20th and a 15th birthday of 2 great records. Recently they launched a new record and just before their live DVD... enough reasons to go and see them.

Opening with nice visuals/camera footage (funny parts of self-made movies and drowned comic strips of themselves) and 'The Enemy Inside' it was meant to be a nice night!

Heavily fuelled, energetic riffs, (drum & guitar) solos and a very loud volume. Every skill and talent of these musicians is showcased to the extreme. I must say that I admire Jordan Ruddess way of working on his synth and module! It's nice to see that he can move free with it and make a turn of 360 degrees with it, get it higher or lower and adjust it as much as he wants to get every angle. His guitar synth play is also something to remember. The drummer has a hard job, trying to overplay their previous drummer (as I know that this guy was basically the hardest working ant of the band).Songs from their latest, self-titled album ('Illumination Theory', 'Enigma Machine', and 'Along for the Ride') was greatly mixed with their previous work ('The Mirror' and 'The Shattered Fortress'), and almost long forgotten pearls from the very beginning of their career...

One thing that was a bit strange was the 15 minute break in between, but they showed us nice and very funny footage in the meantime, even laughing with themselves! It was a very funny moment for everybody and made us melt! Another strange thing is that they started at 19.30, whilst in Belgium bands normally only start at 21.00. Their set was close to 3 hours, so that counts! I'm just wandering what the singer was doing behind the curtains while his bandmates where playing another solo, it intrigued me highly. I loved the softer and more ballad orientated side of the band while the fans loved it more hard and heavy, so I think that everybody got what they wanted.

I'm not overwhelmed, but I must say that the true fans where clearly having the night of their life, showing it to the extreme! For them it was clear that Dream Theater played at their best!

Playlist

Act I

  1. False Awakening Suite
  2. The Enemy Inside
  3. The Shattered Fortress
  4. On the Backs of Angels
  5. The Looking Glass
  6. Trial of Tears
  7. Enigma Machine

(With drum solo by Mike Mangini)

  1. Along for the Ride
  2. Breaking All Illusions

Act II

  1. The Mirror
  2. Lie
  3. Lifting Shadows Off a Dream
  4. Scarred
  5. Space-Dye Vest
  6. Illumination Theory

Encore:

  1. Overture 1928
  2. Strange Déjà Vu
  3. The Dance of Eternity
  4. Finally Free
  5. Illumination Theory
  6. (Outro)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
16/02/2014


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline