tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

16/02/2014 : DREAM THEATER - live at Wembley, UK, 14/02/2014

DREAM THEATER

live at Wembley, UK, 14/02/2014

Concert
Heavy MetalMetal

[85/100]   
16/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

My first concert in Wembley...

It’s a nice venue and sadly not sold out. Before the gig I run into Steven Wilson and Jordan Ruddess... at their hotel (apparently). I was hoping that Steven Wilson would do a cameo, but he was there for another reason. I must say I'm a bigger fan of bands like Anathema, Blind Guardian or even Steven Wilson, but I'm open to other bands, always curious...

Dream Theater has 2 things to celebrate a 20th and a 15th birthday of 2 great records. Recently they launched a new record and just before their live DVD... enough reasons to go and see them.

Opening with nice visuals/camera footage (funny parts of self-made movies and drowned comic strips of themselves) and 'The Enemy Inside' it was meant to be a nice night!

Heavily fuelled, energetic riffs, (drum & guitar) solos and a very loud volume. Every skill and talent of these musicians is showcased to the extreme. I must say that I admire Jordan Ruddess way of working on his synth and module! It's nice to see that he can move free with it and make a turn of 360 degrees with it, get it higher or lower and adjust it as much as he wants to get every angle. His guitar synth play is also something to remember. The drummer has a hard job, trying to overplay their previous drummer (as I know that this guy was basically the hardest working ant of the band).Songs from their latest, self-titled album ('Illumination Theory', 'Enigma Machine', and 'Along for the Ride') was greatly mixed with their previous work ('The Mirror' and 'The Shattered Fortress'), and almost long forgotten pearls from the very beginning of their career...

One thing that was a bit strange was the 15 minute break in between, but they showed us nice and very funny footage in the meantime, even laughing with themselves! It was a very funny moment for everybody and made us melt! Another strange thing is that they started at 19.30, whilst in Belgium bands normally only start at 21.00. Their set was close to 3 hours, so that counts! I'm just wandering what the singer was doing behind the curtains while his bandmates where playing another solo, it intrigued me highly. I loved the softer and more ballad orientated side of the band while the fans loved it more hard and heavy, so I think that everybody got what they wanted.

I'm not overwhelmed, but I must say that the true fans where clearly having the night of their life, showing it to the extreme! For them it was clear that Dream Theater played at their best!

Playlist

Act I

  1. False Awakening Suite
  2. The Enemy Inside
  3. The Shattered Fortress
  4. On the Backs of Angels
  5. The Looking Glass
  6. Trial of Tears
  7. Enigma Machine

(With drum solo by Mike Mangini)

  1. Along for the Ride
  2. Breaking All Illusions

Act II

  1. The Mirror
  2. Lie
  3. Lifting Shadows Off a Dream
  4. Scarred
  5. Space-Dye Vest
  6. Illumination Theory

Encore:

  1. Overture 1928
  2. Strange Déjà Vu
  3. The Dance of Eternity
  4. Finally Free
  5. Illumination Theory
  6. (Outro)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
16/02/2014


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes