tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

16/02/2014 : DREAM THEATER - live at Wembley, UK, 14/02/2014

DREAM THEATER

live at Wembley, UK, 14/02/2014

Concert
Heavy MetalMetal

[85/100]   
16/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

My first concert in Wembley...

It’s a nice venue and sadly not sold out. Before the gig I run into Steven Wilson and Jordan Ruddess... at their hotel (apparently). I was hoping that Steven Wilson would do a cameo, but he was there for another reason. I must say I'm a bigger fan of bands like Anathema, Blind Guardian or even Steven Wilson, but I'm open to other bands, always curious...

Dream Theater has 2 things to celebrate a 20th and a 15th birthday of 2 great records. Recently they launched a new record and just before their live DVD... enough reasons to go and see them.

Opening with nice visuals/camera footage (funny parts of self-made movies and drowned comic strips of themselves) and 'The Enemy Inside' it was meant to be a nice night!

Heavily fuelled, energetic riffs, (drum & guitar) solos and a very loud volume. Every skill and talent of these musicians is showcased to the extreme. I must say that I admire Jordan Ruddess way of working on his synth and module! It's nice to see that he can move free with it and make a turn of 360 degrees with it, get it higher or lower and adjust it as much as he wants to get every angle. His guitar synth play is also something to remember. The drummer has a hard job, trying to overplay their previous drummer (as I know that this guy was basically the hardest working ant of the band).Songs from their latest, self-titled album ('Illumination Theory', 'Enigma Machine', and 'Along for the Ride') was greatly mixed with their previous work ('The Mirror' and 'The Shattered Fortress'), and almost long forgotten pearls from the very beginning of their career...

One thing that was a bit strange was the 15 minute break in between, but they showed us nice and very funny footage in the meantime, even laughing with themselves! It was a very funny moment for everybody and made us melt! Another strange thing is that they started at 19.30, whilst in Belgium bands normally only start at 21.00. Their set was close to 3 hours, so that counts! I'm just wandering what the singer was doing behind the curtains while his bandmates where playing another solo, it intrigued me highly. I loved the softer and more ballad orientated side of the band while the fans loved it more hard and heavy, so I think that everybody got what they wanted.

I'm not overwhelmed, but I must say that the true fans where clearly having the night of their life, showing it to the extreme! For them it was clear that Dream Theater played at their best!

Playlist

Act I

  1. False Awakening Suite
  2. The Enemy Inside
  3. The Shattered Fortress
  4. On the Backs of Angels
  5. The Looking Glass
  6. Trial of Tears
  7. Enigma Machine

(With drum solo by Mike Mangini)

  1. Along for the Ride
  2. Breaking All Illusions

Act II

  1. The Mirror
  2. Lie
  3. Lifting Shadows Off a Dream
  4. Scarred
  5. Space-Dye Vest
  6. Illumination Theory

Encore:

  1. Overture 1928
  2. Strange Déjà Vu
  3. The Dance of Eternity
  4. Finally Free
  5. Illumination Theory
  6. (Outro)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
16/02/2014


Music reviews

18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold