tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

16/02/2014 : DREAM THEATER - live at Wembley, UK, 14/02/2014

DREAM THEATER

live at Wembley, UK, 14/02/2014

Concert
Heavy MetalMetal

[85/100]   
16/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

My first concert in Wembley...

It’s a nice venue and sadly not sold out. Before the gig I run into Steven Wilson and Jordan Ruddess... at their hotel (apparently). I was hoping that Steven Wilson would do a cameo, but he was there for another reason. I must say I'm a bigger fan of bands like Anathema, Blind Guardian or even Steven Wilson, but I'm open to other bands, always curious...

Dream Theater has 2 things to celebrate a 20th and a 15th birthday of 2 great records. Recently they launched a new record and just before their live DVD... enough reasons to go and see them.

Opening with nice visuals/camera footage (funny parts of self-made movies and drowned comic strips of themselves) and 'The Enemy Inside' it was meant to be a nice night!

Heavily fuelled, energetic riffs, (drum & guitar) solos and a very loud volume. Every skill and talent of these musicians is showcased to the extreme. I must say that I admire Jordan Ruddess way of working on his synth and module! It's nice to see that he can move free with it and make a turn of 360 degrees with it, get it higher or lower and adjust it as much as he wants to get every angle. His guitar synth play is also something to remember. The drummer has a hard job, trying to overplay their previous drummer (as I know that this guy was basically the hardest working ant of the band).Songs from their latest, self-titled album ('Illumination Theory', 'Enigma Machine', and 'Along for the Ride') was greatly mixed with their previous work ('The Mirror' and 'The Shattered Fortress'), and almost long forgotten pearls from the very beginning of their career...

One thing that was a bit strange was the 15 minute break in between, but they showed us nice and very funny footage in the meantime, even laughing with themselves! It was a very funny moment for everybody and made us melt! Another strange thing is that they started at 19.30, whilst in Belgium bands normally only start at 21.00. Their set was close to 3 hours, so that counts! I'm just wandering what the singer was doing behind the curtains while his bandmates where playing another solo, it intrigued me highly. I loved the softer and more ballad orientated side of the band while the fans loved it more hard and heavy, so I think that everybody got what they wanted.

I'm not overwhelmed, but I must say that the true fans where clearly having the night of their life, showing it to the extreme! For them it was clear that Dream Theater played at their best!

Playlist

Act I

  1. False Awakening Suite
  2. The Enemy Inside
  3. The Shattered Fortress
  4. On the Backs of Angels
  5. The Looking Glass
  6. Trial of Tears
  7. Enigma Machine

(With drum solo by Mike Mangini)

  1. Along for the Ride
  2. Breaking All Illusions

Act II

  1. The Mirror
  2. Lie
  3. Lifting Shadows Off a Dream
  4. Scarred
  5. Space-Dye Vest
  6. Illumination Theory

Encore:

  1. Overture 1928
  2. Strange Déjà Vu
  3. The Dance of Eternity
  4. Finally Free
  5. Illumination Theory
  6. (Outro)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
16/02/2014


Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall