tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

27/11/2014 : EAVES - As Old As the Grave

EAVES

As Old As the Grave

Music7 inch
AcousticFolk / Ethnic / TribalPop

[100/100]   
27/11/2014, Koen DE BRABANDER

It must've been since the day I heard Agnes Obel's 'Riverside' for the first time, that the words 'instant classic' travelled through my brain. That day was a long, long time ago. Until now.

When I was presented with EAVES' freshly released debut-EP 'As Old As the Grave', for seconds the world literally stood still. This goes deep, I thought. And not in a cheap, would-be-dark way, no. Authentic, from top to bottom. With, as The Times stated: 'lyrics like daggers'.

The 'As Old As the Grave'-EP holds three songs. The title track sounds very catchy and is produced by Cam Blackwood, who we know of that other fantastic new band London Grammar. Splendid song, very nice harmonic vocals and a drummer that rocks the skin off your bones. 'Father yer drunk', sings young Eaves. The lad is still in his early twenties, but it is kind of obvious that he lived a rough life until now. Born and raised in Leeds (UK), he describes how he watched people lose their dreams to the bottle. Well, Eaves, it seems you've escaped that path...

'Timber', with Eaves on vocals and piano, isn't your middle of the road summer song either... The listener feels the desperation to rise above the average day to day, year after year dead-dreams-heart-numb-life. "Work the timber 'till my arms feel numb...", he sings. Escaped the fate... again.

Closing with 'Alone In My Mind', here's the real diamond of the EP. Eaves on vocals and acoustic guitar this time. This song is magic. I could swear I was listening to a lost Nick Drake-song. Recorded very up-close, as if a long lost friend is visiting unexpectedly on a cold autumn night, with a story on his heart. All you can do is listen. But you are happy, and honored he picked you, to tell his story to.

This guy is still young, but you couldn't tell if you didn't know. He sounds wise. He has a story to tell. And above all: he writes splendid songs. A full album is being recorded as we speak for release spring 2015. Let's hope his producer will be careful with his so called magic. Because real magic, doesn't need extra tricks. Beyond beautiful

Eaves plays live on February 7th, 2015 @ AB Ballroom

Koen DE BRABANDER
27/11/2014


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel