tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

27/11/2014 : EAVES - As Old As the Grave

EAVES

As Old As the Grave

Music7 inch
AcousticFolk / Ethnic / TribalPop

[100/100]   
27/11/2014, Koen DE BRABANDER

It must've been since the day I heard Agnes Obel's 'Riverside' for the first time, that the words 'instant classic' travelled through my brain. That day was a long, long time ago. Until now.

When I was presented with EAVES' freshly released debut-EP 'As Old As the Grave', for seconds the world literally stood still. This goes deep, I thought. And not in a cheap, would-be-dark way, no. Authentic, from top to bottom. With, as The Times stated: 'lyrics like daggers'.

The 'As Old As the Grave'-EP holds three songs. The title track sounds very catchy and is produced by Cam Blackwood, who we know of that other fantastic new band London Grammar. Splendid song, very nice harmonic vocals and a drummer that rocks the skin off your bones. 'Father yer drunk', sings young Eaves. The lad is still in his early twenties, but it is kind of obvious that he lived a rough life until now. Born and raised in Leeds (UK), he describes how he watched people lose their dreams to the bottle. Well, Eaves, it seems you've escaped that path...

'Timber', with Eaves on vocals and piano, isn't your middle of the road summer song either... The listener feels the desperation to rise above the average day to day, year after year dead-dreams-heart-numb-life. "Work the timber 'till my arms feel numb...", he sings. Escaped the fate... again.

Closing with 'Alone In My Mind', here's the real diamond of the EP. Eaves on vocals and acoustic guitar this time. This song is magic. I could swear I was listening to a lost Nick Drake-song. Recorded very up-close, as if a long lost friend is visiting unexpectedly on a cold autumn night, with a story on his heart. All you can do is listen. But you are happy, and honored he picked you, to tell his story to.

This guy is still young, but you couldn't tell if you didn't know. He sounds wise. He has a story to tell. And above all: he writes splendid songs. A full album is being recorded as we speak for release spring 2015. Let's hope his producer will be careful with his so called magic. Because real magic, doesn't need extra tricks. Beyond beautiful

Eaves plays live on February 7th, 2015 @ AB Ballroom

Koen DE BRABANDER
27/11/2014


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face